Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Candil Jacaranda School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 07, 2016
- a community member
Mr. Jesse he is a great teacher and a great school Principal. My daughter and her classmate love him.

Candil Jacaranda School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a community member
They follow the Montesory philosophy which teaches kids to respect nature and other peers and each student follows their pace,


Candil Jacaranda School 5

Posted April 07, 2016
- a community member
A review from my previous posting, last time I gave the school 1 Star due to management changes. They have a new principal now who is a great guy, loves to play and teach the kids, keeps the kids advanced compared to other schools. It is a great school again, I would definitely recommend the school.

Candil Jacaranda School 1

Posted June 06, 2014
- a parent
It's not Candil Jacaranda, was recently purchased and is now Von Wedel Montessori. The new admin doesn't care about the school at all, focusing their time and energy on the other franchises in Miami. Within a few months of the new owners taking over, the best teachers as well as the director left. We went a full 7 months of the school year with no on-site director to manage the day-to-day operations.What kind of administration would allow that?Teachers were obviously stressed, irritated and over-worked, and it showed in the way they ran their classrooms.This school year was essentially me flushing over $9K down the drain.There was 0 communication from admin unless it was a bill. THAT they made sure to contact you about right away They decided at the last minute to enforce a $50 assessment with the last month's tuition to cover graduation program at Plantation High, instead of just holding it at the school for free. And when I say last minute I mean day before final payment was due. To put the cherry on top, they fired the few good remaining teachers on their last planning day, leaving them with no care options for their children and very few options for finding new employment.

Candil Jacaranda School 5

Posted October 28, 2011
- a parent
I entered my 2 year old in Candil Jacaranda and I absolutely love this school. I have previously moved my son from 3 different learning centers that I was not completely happy with. I can say that I am geninuely happy with this school. I love the teachers, the staff, the program and the layout of the school. Location is convenient and safe area. I believe you get your money's worth at this school. I am moving to New York and hope I can find something equivalent to Candil Jacaranda.


Candil Jacaranda School 5

Posted October 06, 2011
- a parent
I have enrolled my child in the VPK program at Candil Jacaranda School. In the short time my child has been at this school he has learned so much. The staff is very friendly and the schools offering goes beyond the VPK. The extra activities such as Music, PE Spanish and Art are a great addition to the full day program. Originally I was only interested in the VPK program, but given the impressive offerings and they way they handle the children, convinced me to enroll him in the all day program. I am so pleased to have my child at this school. I know he will learn so much and have a solid start when he enters into their Kindergarten.

Candil Jacaranda School 5

Posted August 09, 2010
- a parent
I am very pleased to have found Candil Jacaranda School. My children are not a number and all the staff members know me and my children, as if we were among family. My youngest has blossomed in the toddler room, singing the song "There are seven days to a week". I would recommend this school.

Candil Jacaranda School 5

Posted August 09, 2010
- a parent
I have had my children at Candil Jacaranda School since Pre-K. My oldest is going into the 5th grade and my youngest is going into the 1st grade. The teachers and administration have always been there for me for any concerns or questions that I have had regarding my children. I would highly recommend this school and give it a 5 start rating. My children are doing very well both academically and socially. Thank you CJS!!!


Candil Jacaranda School 1

Posted March 07, 2010
- a parent
I had always been very impressed with this school and its management. Recently, it has come to my attention that certain teachers have not been conducting themselves in a manner benefitting the students and absolutely no reprecussions have occurred. This is very upsetting and unacceptable.

Candil Jacaranda School 5

Posted October 20, 2008
- a parent
I am so pleased to have found this wonderful school. I now have a First and Third Grader at the school. The school has such a nice traditional feel. The classrooms are small. The curriculum is demanding but the teachers seem to be able to teach in a way that the kids enjoy learning. The school conducts it 'specials' (Spanish, Computers, PE, Art and Music) often throughout the week as opposed to the rotations of the public schools. The school does so many programs both in and out of the classroom... everything from age appropriate science fair projects (yes, the kindergarten class had a really cool one!) to holiday shows to ice cream socials. The Principal is always thinking about new projects to benefit the students and the families. As an added bonus, it is the most culturally diverse school I have ever seen. Fantastic School!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Candil Jacaranda School
8250 Peters Road, Plantation, FL  33324
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (954) 473-4400
Last modified Candil Jacaranda School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Top