Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

779 students|Polk
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Palmetto Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
The out my kid in the wrong bus twice back to back. And my daughter is in class with wild kids that the teacher can't control but yell at them. This was what my 5 year old told me.

Palmetto Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
My daughter was transferred to this school due to no space in laurel. I thought it would be great but from the beginning that I stepped inside it felt outdated not to mention the theme was "Knights". The first day I wanted to meet her teacher I couldn't at laurel they allowed me to do so but ok fine then she was assigned to the bus they put her on the wrong bus this was a Friday. She caught a cold in school from the germs. Then on her second day Again put her on the wrong bus not to mention they changed her teacher and nobody tells you anything, after Friday I made sure my child has everybody I knows info in her book just Incase anything happens Ok later that day when school was over; her father and I are waiting at the bus stop with the camera phones ready (we from NYC) the bus doors open my daughter is nowhere to be found. We drive to the school and she's not there but she is on her way back to the school because Someone put her on the wrong bus and she had a tag on her book bag that indicates that it goes to a certain bus. I just don't understand why did this happen? On top of that she is alone with the bus driver who's a man. God forbid something bad happened to her. I asked why didn't she give the book with the contact numbers to the school she tells me her Teacher took her books out her bag and left it in class. We signed her out that same instinct. We won't let it be a 3rd time.


Palmetto Elementary School 1

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
My daughter was transferred to this school due to no space in laurel. I thought it would be great but from the beginning that I stepped inside it felt outdated not to mention the theme was "Knights". The first day I wanted to meet her teacher I couldn't at laurel they allowed me to do so but ok fine then she was assigned to the bus they put her on the wrong bus this was a Friday. She caught a cold in school from the germs. Then on her second day Again put her on the wrong bus not to mention they changed her teacher and nobody tells you anything, after Friday I made sure my child has everybody I knows info in her book just Incase anything happens Ok later that day when school was over; her father and I are waiting at the bus stop with the camera phones ready (we from NYC) the bus doors open my daughter is nowhere to be found. We drive to the school and she's not there but she is on her way back to the school because Someone put her on the wrong bus and she had a tag on her book bag that indicates that it goes to a certain bus. I just don't understand why did this happen? On top of that she is alone with the bus driver who's a man. God forbid something bad happened to her. I asked why didn't she give the book with the contact numbers to the school she tells me her Teacher took her books out her bag and left it in class. We signed her out that same instinct. We won't let it be a 3rd time.

Palmetto Elementary School 1

Posted September 12, 2014
- a parent
The new principal is very unprofessional. Rude to kids like he does not care about them o maybe he thinks kids are not going to say it to their parents. We miss already the former principal. Mr. Alvarez, he was very respectful to kids and parents as well. It looks like Mr. Santiago has not enough experience for this job. Very sad because this is an awesome school with great teachers and great staff. And being Mr. Santiago the principal should be the first one setting the example.

Palmetto Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2014
- a community member
Love it it is easy for me and im in 4th grade. I love palmetto elematry so much that the test are very easy and the homework I love my teacher and my new friends kids should go its a good school were can have a opportunity to get more friends and learn more .And have a education to talk to the teacher more and to get help and start a new life.


Palmetto Elementary School 1

Posted August 16, 2014
- a parent
This school offers just the basic education--and that they don't do very well. The guidance counselor is inept and the teachers fail as far as I am concerned. Sadly, my children are getting a sub standard education with no extracurricular activities or recess.

Palmetto Elementary School 4

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
A Parent palmetto is a good school. My son is been attending there for 3 years now and he loves his teachers. They are well organized. They on point with almost everything they do. I thank them for being there for my son.

Palmetto Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2012
- a parent
Palmetto has an excellent Dual Language Program. This program is challenging and well organized. The teachers maintain ongoing communication with the parents and the principal is courteous and professional. I am very pleased with the school.


Palmetto Elementary School 5

Posted April 04, 2011
- a parent
Palmetto is only a few years old, and for being a new school it's teachers are top notch. Mr. Alvaraz Principal of the school brings great deal of knowledge, and structure to the school. The school is growing and becoming stronger each year. I am proud that my daughter has the chance to make a difference in this growing school. Three years of success and three more to go. Thank you Palmetto for your excellance, for your dedication, and your hard work! Our little Knights do "Charge towards a future of excellance"! Proud Parent's The Knope Family

Palmetto Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
Palmetto is a nice school and organize, my daughter loves the sports activities on friday and the chorus, she loves the music. As well the school is safe and the principal is a strong leader...Keep up the A work!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Palmetto Elementary School
315 Palmetto Street, Poinciana, FL  34759
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (863) 427-6012
Last modified Palmetto Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top