Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Somerset Pines Academy

Charter | K-8 | 435 students

Our school is best known for our individual attention to our families
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 11, 2013

I am so happy here at Somerset. The teachers really care and the principal, Dr Kaye is outstanding. There is zero tolerance for bullies and the students MUST abide by this policy as well as a strict code of conduct, or else they receive a referral. Three referrals and you are not invited back to the school. That's a very good thing! This is a Broward county public school, but its also a charter school which means any one can addend, but there is a lottery. and they require parent involvement, which I think is great. It is a small school and goes to grade 8, and a high school is in the future. Best school around by far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

I just love the school! Parent involvement is a must and you have so many resources at your finger tips.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

my kids love the school and I also love it my kids education needs are being met my wife and are very pleased !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

I love this school , pompano somerset, the best one. Ms Manzano is very sweet with my little girl. Everyone here is so nice. I have a very nice experience. Here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2012

THIS IS OUR FIRST YEAR AT SOMERSET PINES AND WE ARE VERY PLEASED WITH THE STAFF AND PRINCIPAL! MY DAUGHTER IS EXCELLING ACADEMICALLY THANKS TO HER TEACHER'S PASSION FOR TEACHING AND GREAT SKILLS. THE PRINCIPAL IS VERY APPROACHABLE AND PROFESSIONAL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2012

Terrible administration at this particular location. Principal is a fake. Curriculum is definitely lacking. Corporate should intervene.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

My step-grandson, Tristan, will be attending Somerset/Pompano this year as a first grader. I attended the open house last night and was very impressed with the principal and Ms. Norland, my grandson's first grade teacher. My grandson attended Pompano Beach Elementary School last year and had a very good year. He was voted "most enthusiastic" pupil in his class. However, it was a little scary for him at first as it is a big school and was a big change from his pre-school environment. I think switching to Somerset, with its smaller classes and excellent staff, will prove to be an excellent decision.


Posted August 16, 2012

We moved down from up north and had a bad experience at the first school we put our children in. When Somerset opened up we figured it could not be any worse and we would not have to pay to get a second rate education for our children. I am so pleased with our decision to put them in somerset. All of the teachers are incredible. The teachers have gone above and beyond to make sure they have worked up to their ability. The principal knows every childs name and who they are. I could not have asked for a better school or staff. Thank you for inspiring mychildren to want to learn again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

My kids are attending Somerset Pines since last year, and I have to say that this year have been better than last one, so keep it up Bulldogs!!!! What I love the most is that it is a small school and this makes it special in all ways. Excellent!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

I couldn't be happier with this school...so far so good!!!!! It has the family environment that every kids need, and the security every parent ask for. Thank you to all the teachers, parents and staff at Somerset Pines Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

I love this school!!! My son attends Kindergarten at Somerset Pines and I have to say, I have not seen a more organized and family oriented environment. My sons teacher is always emailing and letting me know of all and anything that is going on in class, which I think is amazing. She is very hands on and focused on the children, as is the principle and rest of staff. I praise God for having a great school for my son to attend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2011

y daughter just started 2nd grade at this school this year...and she got straight A's....She attended Deerfield beach last year and was failing her first grade teacher told me that she wass adhd and needed to be on meds..but I refused to put my daughter on meds. I Hired a tutor to help her and than decided to withdrwal her from Deerfield Beach and I am very happy and Pleased with Somerset Pines Academy. My Daughter is getting A's in all subjects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

Somerset Pines Academy has made it through it's first year. For the most part the school did well. There are still some areas that need to be addressed, such as food quality & service, the after school program content (homework help & supervision), student behavior (bullying) and consequences and staff follow through for issues that are discussed and decided on. My daughter and I were very happy with the quality, energy and caring of her teacher. I have enrolled her again for the new year and will again be an active participant in the PTSO at the school. I am hopeful that the issues that were not fully worked through in our first year will be dealt with completely in the second year of school. I know that there are many parents that are more than happy to help in anyway they can it they are asked. There is a parental contract of 30 volunteer hours that must be met for student enrollment at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

46 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2009-2010.
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 42%
Black 30% 23%
Hispanic 24% 29%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 85%53%61%
Master's degree 15%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Creole
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Photography
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: hip hop/modern
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Creole
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Donna Kaye
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (954) 786-5981

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Direct instruction
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Creole
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Dance club: hip hop/modern
  • Drama club
  • National Honor Society
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

901 NE 33rd St
Pompano Beach, FL 33060
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 786-5980

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Norcrest Elementary School
Pompano Beach, FL



Hope Lutheran School
Pompano Beach, FL


Tedder Elementary School
Pompano Beach, FL


Palmview Elementary School
Pompano Beach, FL


Bright Horizons
Pompano Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT