Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pompano Beach Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1056 students

We are best known for Magnet and Academic Focus.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2014

This school is beyond terrible. I first attended in 2010 for my 6th grade year. The guidance is terrible. They do not investigate any sort of situation, they even favor some students over others and will take their opinions over others! My sister goes there now and she is in her last year and boy, am I glad for that. Too many fights & bullying and nothing being done about it.


Posted January 16, 2014

I attend Pompano Middle, you gotta be tough to go to this school. You can't be scared of people because if you are you're gonna have a hard time believe me. I'm currently a 8th Grader and I'm going to highschool, next year and this has taught me how to stand up for myself and so on. The teachers here are great and they want you to learn, but I feel they need to stop "babying" some kids. Pompano Middle offers a wide range if clubs and activities. But I'm really happy about leaving this school. 3 years is enough.


Posted November 18, 2011

I think that this school is horrible. Lousy teachers and no activities. Go to Rickards.


Posted June 21, 2010

As an eighth grader I have never felt more involved in school. I was able to be in sports and NJHS. I am lucky that P-no had four high school courses for me to take because I am totally ready for high school. The teachers are great and even Mr. Vetter who has to suspend kids was really great. I am glad I went to PBMS, gonna miss you guys! Its all about you Bengals, so make it count!


Posted June 21, 2010

I am a student, it is not as good as I thought it would be, there are A LOT of fights, and we barely get to do any broadcasting even though it is supposed to be a Communication Broadcast Arts Magnet. When I visited with my parents, they made it sound a lot better than it is.


Posted June 19, 2010

Not a safe learning environment. The school is becoming known more for the fights which occur there than for anything else. Sometimes almost daily fights; weapons on campus, etc. The first thing they need to do to turn things around is ensure the safety of the students and establish stronger leadership to get across the message that violent behavior will not be tolerated. Then they need to get better qualified teachers, many are new to teaching and/or out of field. If they do not do these things, the school will continue to go downhill. It's a mess right now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2010

I really hope they do something about the violence and go back to providing the type of Magnet instruction they did in the past. I think the Administration is in denial about the problems the school is currently experiencing. NOT a good school right now.


Posted May 13, 2010

Ok I went to this school in 2003 I was only there for 4 months,It was like prison I was bullied all the time and when I told the guidance counselor all she told me it was MY FAULT!She said I made myself a target!Then told another counselor and she had one of the kids say sorry to me I said I dont want your sorry,Then she told ME I have to be more FORGIVING!Then one day I got into a fight with a this kid I hit him back and they told ME I should not have done that!It was AWFUL the teachers dont care about the kids.PLEASE dont let your kids go to this school.I could go on and on about how bad this prison is.


Posted April 30, 2010

Pompano Beach Middle school has been a wonderful learning envoirnment for my daughter for the last two and a half years... she graduates from Middle School in a month or so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2010

All the teachers are stressed there is much violence day in and day out the magnet program is good but the violence is horrible
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2010

Pompano Beach Middle School administration, staff and teachers work consistently to provide a caring atmosphere for 1,000 middle school students. Teachers have high expectations of students and provide many opportunities for extended learning. The Gifted program, English Speakers of Other Languages and Exceptional Student Education Programs offer students individual learning that meets their needs. The Magnet offers students many career oriented programs. Mainstream students are not forgotten as average class size is under 22 students to 1 teacher. This is an 'A' school in many ways with solid traditional values in a high tech professional setting.


Posted August 7, 2009

As a student at Pompano Middle I must say that the school is a great school. I must also say that the school is an 'F' in behavior. There is just no respect for the teachers, The other students, and even the staff that works there. The school is a 'C' school in my terms. There are great sprots there! The school colors are any shade of blue and white colared shorts. The mascot is a Bengal. There is new constrution on the school and it looks great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2009

As far as middle schools go, it all boils down to the teachers and the administration. Kids will be kids, no matter what school they attend. They need guidance and support from caring teachers. Yes, these teachers care. The leadership team supports the kids and the teachers. FCAT is important because it is the litmus test by which student achievement is measured. Students work on these skills in the morning for about a half hour, and in some of their classes as it gets closer to test time. Can you imagine walking into college placement exam not prepared? Students are encouraged to read, problem solve, create, and design. Not just take tests. This school does a wonderful job preparing students for high school. It is top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

I think pompano beach middle school is a nice,clean school and time to time you can have a little fun but it most about getting in those books.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

My son is in the seventh grade magnet program. We have been very happy with the school. The administration, especially Mr. Vetter, are on top of things. The typical middle school fighting is almost non-existant. You get a lack luster teacher here and there, but the rest of them are great! Very interested in student progress and supportive. Middle school are tough years. PBMS makes it not so bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

I'm an alumni of Pompano Middle and, quite frankly, I was never so happy to leave a school. Their 'FCAT 24-7' mentality was awful, and it stressed the teachers too much. I felt so bad for all of them, they don't get paid enough to put up with all that junk. That is why I give them a 1.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2008

This school is very good a great envoirment for us kids..
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2008

i go to this school. its pretty good, nice teachers(most), many programs, such as CBA. some of the students are really rude though, so this school is not for the faint hearted.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2008

I am a parent of an 8th grade student. I am very disappointed with this school. The attitude of the teachers sometimes border on bullying the students. My daughter constantly reports fighting between students both in the lunch room and in the classrooms. I do not believe it is a safe environment. I would not recommend this school. Academically poor also -- my child has not been required to read one 'classic' novel and only had to submit one book report. Very sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2007

This is an excellent school..my children have been here for two years and has nurtured my children from one extreme to the other. It is a safe harbor for many of the neighborhood kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

343 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

345 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

321 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

358 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

259 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

336 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

332 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

324 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

392 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
74%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 57%
Hispanic 26%
White 15%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 192%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 26%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 57%53%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 13%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • State of Florida Golden School (2009)
  • State of Florida Silver School (2009)
  • State of Florida 5 Star School (2008)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:15 am
School end time
  • 3:45 pm
School Leader's name
  • MS. SONJA BRAZIEL
Fax number
  • (754) 322-4285

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Football
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
More from this school
  • Pompano Beach Middle School is located in a residential area of the city of Pompano Beach in Northeastern Broward County. This campus is one of the oldest in Broward County. The facility was reconfigured several times. In the early 1900’s it was an elementary school. In the mid-1900’s it was rebuilt as a high school, then redesigned to a junior high school in 1977. The facility was renovated to its current function as a middle school in the 1990's. Many of the students parents, grandparents, as well as staff members, attended school on this campus. This history brings a unique pride for Pompano Beach Middle school from its community. Pompano Beach Middle School is proud to employ the Florida Department of Education 2009 School Related Employee of the Year, Jannette Thompson-Irwin. In 2009, the students were recognized as District swim team champs. In 2009 the Principal, Sonja Braziel and Assistant Principal, John Vetter were recognized as District Acclaim finalists. The school received the Florida Department of Education's Golden School and Silver School awards for the last 10 years. Pompano Beach Middle School was recognized in 2003 as a National Magnet School of Distinction, in 1998 as a National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence and in 1994 as a US Department of Education Drug Free School. Pompano Beach Middle is a Title I school with a total school Magnet program having a Communications & Broadcast Arts Magnet theme. Students apply reading, writing, listening and speaking skills to produce a daily afternoon news broadcast, quarterly literary newspaper, school web site and video and print yearbooks. Teachers present lessons in an engaging atmosphere using various traditional and non-traditional modalities, and students demonstrate mastery of learning through multimedia projects.
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Pompano Beach Elementary
McNab Elementary
Cypress Elementary

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Blanche Ely High School
Pompano Beach High School
Northeast High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

310 Northeast 6th Street
Pompano Beach, FL 33060
Website: Click here
Phone: (754) 322-4200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

P.L.A.C.E.
Pompano Beach, FL




St Coleman School
Pompano Beach, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT