Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

2,042 students|Broward
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
46 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Blanche Ely High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 10, 2015
- a community member
Ms. Kathleen Weathers is the counselor and teacher of the BAN AIDS Club. She stays after school hours to participate in their club meetings, arranges for field trips to enhance their medical careers. Furthermore, she assists me in encouraging students to apply for the scholarships that are offered by Broward Health at the US colleges. stripr

Blanche Ely High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 10, 2015
- a community member
Their personal interest in obtaining the best performance from their students has been especially noteworthy.


Blanche Ely High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 10, 2015
- a community member
The way the students speak at the HIV/AIDS Club meeting after school it is rather obvious their grades attest to the fact that the homework system is working. I am able to obtain scholarships for the wannabe doctors and nurses.

Blanche Ely High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 10, 2015
- a community member
Yes, they are raising good citizens through sportsmanship and fellowship both in studies and on the athletic field.

Blanche Ely High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 10, 2015
- a community member
The mutual respect is very evident as I walk around the campus and listen to their conversations or a response to a teacher or the principal.


Blanche Ely High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 10, 2015
- a community member
I have had the opportunity to personally witness the caring attitude from the Principal and Instructors on a daily basis as I visit the campus. Their over and beyond their regular scholastic teaching is very evident as they get involved in the student well being physically and morally.

Blanche Ely High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 10, 2015
- a community member
Pastor Anthony Campbell started a youth men's club there taking young men at risk and teaching them moral values. He taught drafting to Ely students so was able to evaluate their integrity and character traits with their relationship with their fellow students.

Blanche Ely High School 5

Posted December 10, 2015
- a community member
I asked for assistance from Principal Earline Smiley when I moved into the area in 2000. Dr. Smiley not only briefed me on the various programs but included me on board meetings as a guest. Her help[ in familiarizing me with health needs led me to start a BanAIDS Club at ELY which is thriving and well respected today.


Blanche Ely High School 5

Posted May 17, 2014
- a community member
Well... Ely is too live it's the only school you can't get an education and have a senior riot, ely is the place we stay stunning the only scrubs you see are in the nursing program, but besides that you stay seeing coca in whites and J's. We stay relevant and when I hop off the chicken place be good, Omar's stay giving cheaper food than the vending. And we don't be anon posting stuff cuz this girl talking bout teachers curse at her must be soft, but anyways send yo child to the E

Blanche Ely High School 2

Posted May 04, 2014
- a student
22 more days of school left and boy am i glad. These reviews are outdated so i'll update them. This school is horrible. Horrible. The students are terrible, the teachers leave your students to learn by their selves. I'm not some student that is upset about her grades because she doesn't do homework. I take honors and ap human geography and i am in their pre-med program. This school is so focused on their nursing program, that the other programs are not cared about. The one teacher the i know worked his hardest to teach was Mr.Washington. He is the only class i learn in. The teachers do not respond to conferences from my parents. They curse at you, the lunch is terrible, and the school has no spirit. On that note, the ladies of intrigue, Adimu, kiada and gentlemen of influence are great clubs to join. The band is an incredible family. I personally was in ladies of intrigue. We did volunteer work and were school sisters.

Nearby schools

Blanche Ely High School
1201 Northwest 6th Avenue, Pompano Beach, FL  33060
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. (754) 322-0950
Last modified Blanche Ely High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top