Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Pompano Beach, FL
 

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Charles Drew Elementary School 3

Posted March 10, 2015
- a parent
Looking into a transfer. No one here return phone calls. My son is a second year attender. As much as these reviews say there is no patent involvement, neither is there from school staff. How can you get involved when you are not answered. School doesn't adhere to parent letters or dismissal procedures from parents. That is a major safety issue. My son is learning on average but I feel the school is more based on satisfying the Spanish community of the neighborhood rather than ALL the children.
1 person found this helpful

Charles Drew Elementary School 4

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
Charles Drew Elementary. This is our first year at Charles Drew and we see already (after only 6 weeks into the new school year) a difference. Our son is really excelling and this is due to his teacher and the atmosphere at the school.


Charles Drew Elementary School 5

Posted July 28, 2010
- a teacher
Charles R. Drew is an excellent school. Although the focus is primarily getting the students to pass the FCAT (which 95% of our public schools are unfortunately) the curriculum is challenging. There could be more parent support.

Charles Drew Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Charles Drew Elementary School 3

Posted September 26, 2007
- a parent
Charles Drew is a Science, technology and math magnet school. The magnet programs are excellent, robotics and SECME are two extra curricular activities my sons enjoy very much, they learn things they can't anywhere else. We have a new principal this year and so far she seems very good. Parent involvement is low. Barely a handful of parents seem to participate in meetings and activities. There are some very good teachers at Charles Drew; however, it seems that everything is focused on testing. I know that is not really the teachers fault but some teachers such as Ms. Amy Stramanak seemed to actually teach between testing instead of just teaching students how to test. They had BAT tests this week. My son's class practice tested Friday and Monday, then had actual testing Tuesday-Thursday. Homework is assigned but rarely checked or rewarded. Discipline is based on punishment and not reward.


Charles Drew Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Charles Drew Elementary School 2

Posted March 12, 2006
- a parent
Poor quality of academic programs. Not good availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities. Poor level of parent involvement
1 person found this helpful

Charles Drew Elementary School 5

Posted July 18, 2005
- a parent
I know that this school is great, as long as the parents are willing to remain active throughout the year and focus on helping the children and teachers. Communication is great as well. I love this school and all of my 4 children I plan to have them graduate from drew being a cub.
1 person found this helpful


Charles Drew Elementary School 4

Posted April 08, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Charles Drew Elementary School 4

Posted April 08, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Charles Drew Elementary School
1000 Northwest 31st Avenue, Pompano Beach, FL  33069
(754) 322-6250
Last modified Charles Drew Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Charles Drew Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top