Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mcnab Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 682 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 15, 2005

I have had a child in McNab for 7 years and my kids and I love the school. Everyone of the teachers and staff are wonderful, and I have never had any problems. I am just sorry that I only have one more year of this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2005

My son went to Mcnab Elementary for his whole elementary education except for one year. I thought it was the best public elem. school in the area. I felt my son was safe there and got a great education and social experience with people from all different racial and socioeconomic backgrounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2004

Overall we are happy with the quality of teachers and the education our children have received while attending McNab Eleementary. The teachers have been fantastic and have made up for where the school is lacking in being balanced in their curriculum. We hope that with the new building and new leadership will come a new beginning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2004

The first thing that struck me when my first daughter started there (after attending private school for 3 years), was how respectful the students were when we were on campus. Made a huge impression on me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2004

Great school, not only are the teachers excellent but now that the school has been remodeled the sickness rate in my household cut in half.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2004

I am thrilled with McNab Elementary! The new building has wonderful, clean, spacious classrooms and up-to-date equipment. The computer and art rooms are well equipped to provide top-notch learning environments. Security is not an issue with the installation of all new cameras through-out the campus. My kindergarten daughter loves her teacher and has learned more than I expected at this grade level. Looking back to the beginning of the school year, I am glad she began in the old building rather than the new because it reaffirmed to me that the school is top notch because of leadership and teachers - not the facility. The aids are excellent and know every child by name and who they should be dropped off / picked up by. The department needing additional work is the music program. I am saddened that our wonderful Principal is retiring and Assistant Principal is changing career tracks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2004

Throughout my daughter's first year at McNab Elementary the school staff have been very responsible and calling me back right away with updates regarding questions and requests that I may have. Her Kindergarten teacher is a wonderful person helping my daughter love her school and school work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2004

I have been very impressed with the safety at this school. I witnessed a potentially bad situation involving a non-custodial parent and it was handled professionally, proficiently, and without alarming or causing a disruption to the student body. Also, I'm impressed by the teachers' team approach to solving problems and coming up with strategies (as a team) to enrich the educational experience. Overall, the parents are very involved and form a support network for students, teachers, and each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

The new school is finally built, partially. Of course the cleanliness is a nice change. Soap finally in the bathrooms! As for safety, they try..but because of all the confusion with the new school, I'm afraid they may loose a child. They need a better plan at pick up time. Overall I am glad the old school is gone. Now the just need to get that new playground made already without the sand!!!! Lets get them to use recycled tire pieces!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2003

This is a wonderful neighborhood school. A terrific principal and awesome teachers!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

126 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 58%
Hispanic 24%
Black 12%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 17%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%53%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1350 Southeast 9th Avenue
Pompano Beach, FL 33060
Phone: (754) 322-7050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Coleman School
Pompano Beach, FL



Westminster Academy
Fort Lauderdale, FL


Cypress Elementary School
Pompano Beach, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT