Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mcnab Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 682 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2014

Left this school about 4 years ago it was the best school I've ever been to


Posted September 16, 2013

My daughter has learned a lot from this school. All the teachers are involved and i have had NO problems. Very big on teaching the kids about bullying at such a young age as well. A+++ school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

We have just started but I hear this is the best in te area. Very excited!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

The School is not good and has a low budget for the students so i do not recomned this school to anyone


Posted November 26, 2012

We transferred our daughter from a private school based on the reviews and tour of the school and interaction with faculty. This is our first year here and quite honestly, McNab is light years ahead of the private school we were needlessly paying. Everything is top notch here. The teachers are very dedicated and go above and beyond, PTA and parents overall are very involved in the school and welfare of the children, and the new principal seems very dynamic and energetic in wanting to take the school to the next level. We had to invest a considerable amount of time, energy, and resources in finding the right school. McNab is a hidden gem and absolutely worth moving to within its boundaries to attend. The winning combination of dedicated teachers, innovative leadership, and a strong PTA all make for a wholesome learning environment for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

McNab has very high standards for academic achievement with a very large parent involvement led by the largest PTA board in Broward County that has done an amazing job of funding and supplying all of the most modern technology and other essential tools to teach the children! This is done with very little burden on the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2010

This is my son's third year at McNab and I'm very disappointed in the way the administration responds to and handles the process of intervention. My child's first year was in first grade. It was then when we noticed his difficulties with reading. The school year ended without him being evaluated. They retained him instead. I sent requests in writing for him to be evaluated to the Principal at the time Mrs Straup. Still no evaluation, so I had it done privately which cost $1,000.00. The school still must evaluate him in order to place him. We are now in December, my son's THIRD year and he still hasn't been evaluated. I've been waiting for a child study since the beginning of this year. I would never recommend this school if your child is struggling in any way. If it was up to McNab, my son would get lost in the cracks. They seem to have no time for and overlook children who need a little more help than others. If it wasn't for me being so involved and teaching my son on my own, he wouldn't be doing this well. I think I'm going to take him out of McNab and put him in a school where the priorities are in order.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

I am glad my child goes to this school. The school is recently "wireless" and has computers in every classroom. The parents involved in PTA are all very nice and helpful. I feel like our children are safe and happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

This is my daughter's third year at McNab Elementary. The building is new and very clean. The school is safe, the students are respectful, the teachers are excellent, the PTA is good, parents seem to be very involved, the principal is always available, very nice and caring. I am glad my child is part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2008

We love McNab Elementary ! The best public elementary school in Pompano Beach. The teachers are wonderful, specially Mrs. DiGiore. She made a huge difference in my daugthers academic life. The principal is very nice, always willing to listen and available. The staff is good and everyone seems to work hard to make this a great school. We are very pleased. No complains at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

My child's teachers have all been outstanding. Very caring environment, great school spirit and PTA involvement - even an annual Breakfast with Santa!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

We are very happy with this school. The teachers are terrific. The principal is very friendly and accommodating to the parents. We think she was great in dealing with parents and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

We are very happy with McNab the teachers are absolutely awesome and now we have a brand new facility to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2006

It's only been 2 months since school has started and McNab Elementary has made big a tremendous difference in my kids learning. My fourth grader grades has come from D's & F's from Sanders Park to A's & B's. My kindergartener loves McNab he now has an urge to learning new things and doing things for the teacher. Teachers are magnificent, they hunger to teach the children their education, they care about their safety and their feelings. They are very concern teachers and they treat them as their own. McNab teacher-student ratio is perfect, unlike alot of the other schools. Parents are always involved and that make our children want to learn more and they make sure we participate some kind of way. McNab Elementary is the School for your Child/ren. Yahhhhh McNab
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2006

McNab Elementary is a wonderful school. We pulled our child out of a private school with 'supposedly' better academics and have not regretted that decision at all. Our son improved tremendously in all academic aspects after enrollment. The school has a low student to teacher ratio and a dedicated and vibrant staff. One area I would like to see improved is more arts education especially music however this is a minor point. I can honestly say that if all schools were run this way across the USA then we would not hear about an education crisis ever again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2006

My son loves McNab. The parent/teacher involment is incredible. The teachers get into alot of diffrent programs, earth day (planted a tree)saving the rain forest, unicef etc. The parents also get into it, Meet the Masters, Sunshine Math, Bingo Bash etc. The teachers are easy to talk to and look forward to having parents help the out, in the classroom or on field trips. It's a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

A very well organized school. Clean and the teachers care very much about each individual student. I would definatly recommend this elementary school for concerned parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2006

Poor quality of academic programs. Poor availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities. Poor level of parent involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2005

McNab is a very good school & has been for a long time, I went there 30 years ago & my daughter went there 2003, I understand the remodel is complete now as well, so it should even be better now.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 27, 2005

A wonderful school, great teachers and staff. New facility. Always high test scores, rates high on state and federal standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

126 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 58%
Hispanic 24%
Black 12%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 17%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%53%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1350 Southeast 9th Avenue
Pompano Beach, FL 33060
Phone: (754) 322-7050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Coleman School
Pompano Beach, FL



Westminster Academy
Fort Lauderdale, FL


Cypress Elementary School
Pompano Beach, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT