Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

664 students|Broward
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 65 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mcnab Elementary School 1

Posted March 31, 2016
- a teacher
Racism Abounds at McNab Elementary School. The school is comprised of a apx. 60% WHITE students while HISPANICS make up less than 25% of the student population and AFRICAN AMERICAN students number in the range of 12%. There are classrooms in this school which administration refers to as the "MIGRANT CLASS" where a unusually high percentage of the students are Hispanic. There are also classes in the school with a disproportionate number of African American students vs. the percentage of student population.

Mcnab Elementary School 1

Posted March 25, 2016
- a parent
Haven't seen any improvements at the school considering that it received $1.6 million from a bond referendum and the PTA raised over $100,000 last year! The roof is constantly leaking and the air conditioning system is unreliable which causes a constant issue with mold in the classrooms. One would have to ask, "Where is all of the money going?"


Mcnab Elementary School 1

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
Low, Low technology school! Where is all the money going? Children have to share computers, many with broken keys and headsets. No supervision at recess, sure there are teachers physically present, but are mostly on their cell phones or gossiping with each other and NOT watching your children. Children have come home with black eyes and bruises!

Mcnab Elementary School 1

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
If you have a smart child, please go elsewhere! Your child will be ignored with little or no stimulation. They will be denied any computer usage while others play catch up because "THEY DON'T NEED IT"!

Mcnab Elementary School 1

Posted January 25, 2016
- a community member
I would give ZERO stars if that was an option. If you do not work and have the time to be a "homeroom mom" or volunteer, you will be rewarded with placement into the classes with the most desirable teachers. If not, you will get one of the old croonies that have been there for ages and simply do not care for your child. This school now accepts "REASSIGNMENTS" because so many area families have moved away to better schools.


Mcnab Elementary School 1

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
The current administration and PTA have driven the morale, parent participation, and test scores way down over the past 3 years. Parents are extremely concerned about not knowing how much money is collected through fundraisers and not knowing where it went. Lack of control has damaged the trust of the vast majority of parents and the community. With two children attending this school over the past few years, it's heartbreaking to witness this deterioration!!!

Mcnab Elementary School 5

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
I like a lot the new Principal. He is every day outside on the car loop helping and monitoring the kids. I turn to him few times and he respond so fast, professional with care. Even just approach him outside he will pay attention if you need him for something. He is open to all of us. The school go down in rating, because may be us reflect of previous principal. Plus the school boundary changed... New families moving to the area us well. Important is how much they care and did they have time to work and help kids at home. I see a lot of factors that are out of school possibilities. My son graduating 5 grade there in gifted class. All this years had great teachers. I don't have any complain about the school staff too. The school is large, clean, have good library and computers equipment for kids. For public school I can't ask more. Now my girl will start Kindergarden there this August. I didn't even think about other option. She is familiar with the school by going to her brothers events and very excited to become McNAB student.

Mcnab Elementary School 2

Posted February 20, 2015
- a parent
In the past few years since getting a new principal (Mr Schwartz) this school has tanked. The FL state grades were constantly an A, now they are dropping fast. We pulled our son out because it was getting worse each year. I like many other parents had bad experiences with the principal and the vice principal and the ESE coordinator. His teachers were OK mostly. We still have many friends with kids going to McNab, it's not gotten better since we pulled last year. Our son is now in a different school (still public) and it is like night and day. Better office staff, more caring environment and a great principal. It makes a huge difference!


Mcnab Elementary School 5

Posted November 15, 2013
- a community member
Left this school about 4 years ago it was the best school I've ever been to

Mcnab Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has learned a lot from this school. All the teachers are involved and i have had NO problems. Very big on teaching the kids about bullying at such a young age as well. A+++ school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mcnab Elementary School
1350 Southeast 9th Avenue, Pompano Beach, FL  33060
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 65 reviews. (754) 322-7050
Last modified Mcnab Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top