Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

664 students|Broward
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mcnab Elementary School 1

Posted January 25, 2016
- a community member
I would give ZERO stars if that was an option. If you do not work and have the time to be a "homeroom mom" or volunteer, you will be rewarded with placement into the classes with the most desirable teachers. If not, you will get one of the old croonies that have been there for ages and simply do not care for your child. This school now accepts "REASSIGNMENTS" because so many area families have moved away to better schools.

Mcnab Elementary School 1

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
The current administration and PTA have driven the morale, parent participation, and test scores way down over the past 3 years. Parents are extremely concerned about not knowing how much money is collected through fundraisers and not knowing where it went. Lack of control has damaged the trust of the vast majority of parents and the community. With two children attending this school over the past few years, it's heartbreaking to witness this deterioration!!!


Mcnab Elementary School 5

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
I like a lot the new Principal. He is every day outside on the car loop helping and monitoring the kids. I turn to him few times and he respond so fast, professional with care. Even just approach him outside he will pay attention if you need him for something. He is open to all of us. The school go down in rating, because may be us reflect of previous principal. Plus the school boundary changed... New families moving to the area us well. Important is how much they care and did they have time to work and help kids at home. I see a lot of factors that are out of school possibilities. My son graduating 5 grade there in gifted class. All this years had great teachers. I don't have any complain about the school staff too. The school is large, clean, have good library and computers equipment for kids. For public school I can't ask more. Now my girl will start Kindergarden there this August. I didn't even think about other option. She is familiar with the school by going to her brothers events and very excited to become McNAB student.

Mcnab Elementary School 2

Posted February 20, 2015
- a parent
In the past few years since getting a new principal (Mr Schwartz) this school has tanked. The FL state grades were constantly an A, now they are dropping fast. We pulled our son out because it was getting worse each year. I like many other parents had bad experiences with the principal and the vice principal and the ESE coordinator. His teachers were OK mostly. We still have many friends with kids going to McNab, it's not gotten better since we pulled last year. Our son is now in a different school (still public) and it is like night and day. Better office staff, more caring environment and a great principal. It makes a huge difference!

Mcnab Elementary School 5

Posted November 15, 2013
- a community member
Left this school about 4 years ago it was the best school I've ever been to


Mcnab Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has learned a lot from this school. All the teachers are involved and i have had NO problems. Very big on teaching the kids about bullying at such a young age as well. A+++ school!

Mcnab Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
We have just started but I hear this is the best in te area. Very excited!!!!

Mcnab Elementary School 1

Posted May 28, 2013
- a community member
The School is not good and has a low budget for the students so i do not recomned this school to anyone


Mcnab Elementary School 5

Posted November 26, 2012
- a parent
We transferred our daughter from a private school based on the reviews and tour of the school and interaction with faculty. This is our first year here and quite honestly, McNab is light years ahead of the private school we were needlessly paying. Everything is top notch here. The teachers are very dedicated and go above and beyond, PTA and parents overall are very involved in the school and welfare of the children, and the new principal seems very dynamic and energetic in wanting to take the school to the next level. We had to invest a considerable amount of time, energy, and resources in finding the right school. McNab is a hidden gem and absolutely worth moving to within its boundaries to attend. The winning combination of dedicated teachers, innovative leadership, and a strong PTA all make for a wholesome learning environment for the children.

Mcnab Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2012
- a parent
McNab has very high standards for academic achievement with a very large parent involvement led by the largest PTA board in Broward County that has done an amazing job of funding and supplying all of the most modern technology and other essential tools to teach the children! This is done with very little burden on the parents.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mcnab Elementary School
1350 Southeast 9th Avenue, Pompano Beach, FL  33060
(754) 322-7050
Last modified Mcnab Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mcnab Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. Top