Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Pompano Beach, FL
Students enrolled: 569
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

2 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sanders Park Elementary School 3

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
Sanders Park Elementary has become a great school for Pre-K through 5th Grade kids in my community to attend. I believe that Dr. Cone, the current Principal, has almost single-handedly turned the school around by updating safety protocols and student awareness/recognition programs. Even the PTA has stepped up their game by keeping all parents, not just the members, aware of related activities. The teachers are very proactive in communicating with the parents. They help me as much as they help my son, when I express concern about any subject or scoring I may not understand. But, best of all, Sanders Park strongly encourages the parents/guardians to become a part of their child's education experience through volunteerism, mentoring, PTA, chaperoning & school/community events. I love this school for the tenacity shown and exercised to bring their level of standards up to 'excellent' and I appreciate the effort, concern and love this school's staff & teachers have shown in maintaining & exceeding this level of excellence. Go Eagles!!!

Sanders Park Elementary School 1

Posted February 12, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Sanders Park Elementary School 1

Posted June 04, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sanders Park Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 10, 2008
- a parent
This school has made such significant accomplishments this year alone and has shown that with hard work, dedication and good teaching, all things are possible. I was very pleased to see the school take its 5th Grade students to Washington DC and host a Spelling Bee competition among neighboring elementary schools and win! Ive attended all events this year was very impressed with how Dr Cone moved the school. Today I saw the release of the FCAT scores and the school contines to move. This is attributed to the teachers and administrators. Great job!

Sanders Park Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 10, 2008
- a parent
I was so proud that my son attended Sanders Park Elementary this year. He has grown by leaps and bounds! Thanks to the teachers and administration for their support and guidance. My sons previous school did not help him at all, but when he started at Sanders Park he soared and he loved going to school!


Sanders Park Elementary School 1

Posted June 05, 2008
- a parent
What good is a letter grade if you have children that still run around with no discipline, no respect for teachers or any adults for that matter? The teachers of Sanders Park deserve MUCH MUCH more than the leadership being provided by Dr. Cone and the VP Lewis. She has been at this school too long and holds no child accountable for his/her actions. She is a playmate not a role model. The teachers at Sanders Park deserve to go to work with a sense of safety and security for the well being of their students and themselves. This is not the case at Sanders Park. I will be removing my child from this school, for a safer one. Broward County should truly look into how a popluation of severly misbehaved kids could really go from a D to and A in a year. It just doesn't add up.

Sanders Park Elementary School 2

Posted May 05, 2008
- a teacher
It is great that the students here moved the grade from 'D' to 'A', the ability has always been there, but former Principal, Robert Gibson, constantly harassed his teachers, forcing high teacher turnover. Then new Principal Fabian Cone has allowed these teachers to teach and the 'A' is the result. However he has failed to adress student behavior and safety. Students constantly misbehave, no matter who is around. They don't respect authority. Opposite his opinion staff moral is low. Assistant Principal, Jounice Lewis treats adults like children, and ignores student misbehavior. She has been Assistant Principal for 5 or 6 years and still has not learned how to correctly do her job. Dr. Cone needs to put as much focus on things outside of the school grade as he does on the FCAT grade. If this is done Sanders Park will be the greatest place to work and learn.

Sanders Park Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 03, 2008
- a parent
This school has done an awesome job in raising student achiement last year. It has a great Magnet program and students really enjoy it there.


Sanders Park Elementary School 5

Posted July 11, 2007
- a administrator
We moved from a double D to an A in less than 1 year! Awesome job faculty and staff. We made the highest learning gains in Broward County Schools this year and we were number 11th in the state with the highest gains.

Sanders Park Elementary School 5

Posted July 11, 2007
- a parent
This year the school did an incredible job with curriculum and moving the school grade from a D to an A! The principal, Dr. Cone did a GREAT JOB this year as the new principal.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sanders Park Elementary School
800 Northwest 16th Street, Pompano Beach, FL  33060
(754) 322-8400
Last modified Sanders Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sanders Park Elementary School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top