Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cresthaven Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 595 students

We have been a "Koala-ty" School since 1958. "A" for nine consecutive years.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2014

Cresthaven is incredibly attentive to each student and I am always impressed by how well the teachers and staff know the children. The teachers are very experienced and they have the knowledge, tools and caring necessary to support children with learning and attention issues. My child generally doesn't sit still but she does for Mrs.Grow! I recommend Cresthaven highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

I love Cresthaven Elementary! My daughter had trouble adjusting to kindergarten and her teacher and the administrators have really worked with her and with us to be sure that she stays on track, gets the guidance she needs and learns. With all her trouble she still loves school and her teacher and I feel that the administration truly cares about her well being. I see how this school has been an "A" school for 10 years. That doesn't happen by chance, especially as a Title I school. It takes love and dedication and I would recommend Cresthaven to anyone hands down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

I love cresthaven elementary school open house day was soooo great..my son in kindergarten already like his teacher..hope a very good year for our kids.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

I am a teacher at this school and let me tell you how much I love it! I came from one of the lowest schools in the county last year, a Charter School, and it is clearly evident how this school stays an "A" school and at the top of Broward County year after year. There are some amazing teachers here and the administration runs a tight ship so no one falls through the cracks. It goes beyond that though; the office staff is unbelievably great and goes above and beyond. My classroom janitor puts my students' plants in my room as a courtesy every day. I love working here. Last year I came home upset a lot because I felt guilty about what my school was not doing for the students. This year I come home with the satisfaction of seeing my children progress because I have all the support in the world here by every single member of this fantastic cohesive school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 15, 2013

#A school, great teachers and staff.... Cresthaven Elementary is my family school, we love it here! it's out of boundary, but I appeal every new student entry (this is our school). I have six kids and all of them have attended this school, We would not have it any other way. Creathaven is Great!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2013

As a teacher at Cresthaven, I can tell you first hand that our administration, faculty, staff, and students are top notch. Cresthaven has been an "A" rated school for 9 consecutive years, an achievement we are all very proud of. For the 2011-2012 school year Cresthaven scored in the 95th percentile for student achievement in Broward County. The teachers all work together cohesively to ensure a seamless education. It has been my pleasure working with the parents, students, teachers, and staff at Cresthaven. I plan on staying at this "hidden gem" of Pompano Beach as long as they will have me. You will not be disappointed should you choose Cresthaven for your child's educational future.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 5, 2011

Cresthaven is a great school.. I now have two kids attending, my son had Mr. Clark when he entered kindergarden and he was a wonderful teacher. Ms. Epstein as well. So feel so lucky to that my daughter now has them both this year! The office staff also do a great job!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2011

I have a daughter that will be going into 5th grade this year & a daughter that starts kindergarten this year at Cresthaven. I think that this is a wonderful school....I have had my issues with some people there but you tend to get over it. My kids love this school and love going to school. I am sad to see who is not there (teachers/staff) anymore but I love to meet the new people coming in. This is a really good school to have your kids going to. I can't wait to see what the kids will be doing in their classes this year. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2010

My daughter attended this school for Kindergarten and had Mr. Clark. I was so pleased with his involvement, he is a wonderful teacher! The PTA is great and all the staff that I had the pleasure to meet were wonderful as well. We moved out of the Cresthaven boundaries, so she will not be attending this year, but wanted to recommend this to anyone looking into this Elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2010

i was a 5th grader at cresthaven elem. this school is so bad i dont recommend sending your kids here the princible is bad. the kids get into fights its such a bad school i couldent wait to get out of there.


Posted March 3, 2010

Overall i am pleased with academics, My 2 boys always want to go to school. Its a good school for the neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2010

My daughter came to Cresthaven from Georgia. In Georgia I did not feel like they were not challenging her. My daughter was well ahead the other children in her class because she came into kindergarten knowing how to read. I thought that when I moved to Florida she would be challenged but she wasn't, she is able to finish her homework in a second because she had learned the material in preschool already (ex. letter, numbers, colors, etc.). I totally understand that that is regular kindergarten curriculum but I think that they should have given her a modified curriculum so that she could continue to progress. Months after me requesting that she be tested to see if she is gifted they finally gave her the test and she is gifted. But she is still not being challenged. So she is changing schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Cresthaven Elementary has the best PTA!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Cresthaven has been an A+ school for the past 6 years. The teachers and staff are exceptional and their only focus is the students well being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2009

Great School! I've transfered my twins in February 2007 from Eagles Nest Charter and that was the best move toward my kids education so far. The previous school did not teach them basic skills and asst. principal was rude. In Cresthaven Elementary teachers immediately recognized the problems my kids had, addressed them appropriately and one and half year later my twins are thriving and are above average. Overall the school scores very well on FCATs, five consecutive years it received A. Staff is caring and safety is well provided. I highly recommend Crestaven Elementary to all parents. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2008

The school is a very clean school. The staff seems to care about what happens to the student. My son now loves going to this school, having transferred from Georgia. He loves Science with Mr. Hall, who has even given his cell phone number to me if anything is needed after school hours. The administration is fine also. Great School overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

My child has been going to Cresthaven since kindergarden and is now in first grade. She is doing very well in school and likes it there. I asked to hve her put into a certain teacher's class for second grade and the principal will not take my request. He says ' we don't take requests, it goes by thier reading level.' I think that if a parent requests a teacher before the end of the school year that the child should get that teacher before any other child from the outside gets in. I like cresthaven but I just don't like how most of the staff works there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

My son came from another school and went into Mrs. Moore's class. He came in scoring very low on his SAT's the year before. When he took the FCAT, he scored a level 4 in reading and math! Now he loves school! Mrs. Moore really cares about her students. Someone else said that teacher feedback was lacking. I disagree. I had the teacher's cell number. I was really impressed with Cresthaven. It seems like Cresthaven is a wonderful school. My son even got to do some really interesting projects and learned some neat things. The school really places an importance on safety. I definitly would tell someone to go here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

Each child deserves an equal education as well as equal opportunities and feedback/teacher involvement. That is sorely lacking here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2006

The teachers here are extremely caring and want the best for their students. I would like to see more parent involvement. I know the state puts a whole lot of pressure on the teachers through the FCAT and I wish there was no such thing! I am very happy and pleased with the care and teachings my children have gotten from this school and feel they are very lucky to have teachers that really care about their students learning and their overall well being! Thank you Cresthaven - continue to keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 42% 23%
Hispanic 35% 29%
White 17% 42%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%53%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Creole
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • A School rating (2012)
  • 95th%ile student achievement (2012)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Golden School Award (2012)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Clubs
  • Television/Radio News

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Creole
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 1:50 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:50 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Joshua Kisten
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (754) 322-6040

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Creole
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Television/Radio News
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Cresthaven is an AMAZING school. Our diverse population and passionate teachers make learning fun and exciting for students every day!!!
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Preschool
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Crystal Lake Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

801 NE 25th St
Pompano Beach, FL 33064
Phone: (754) 322-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Palmview Elementary School
Pompano Beach, FL


Somerset Pines Academy
Pompano Beach, FL


Lighthouse Christian School
Pompano Beach, FL


Norcrest Elementary School
Pompano Beach, FL


Precious Kidz Too
Pompano Beach, FL


Tedder Elementary School
Pompano Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT