Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,335 students|Broward
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Crystal Lake Community Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
Ms.Begley Ms.Ballou Mr.Weiss Mr.Draper Dr.Koch Ms.Matias Thanks guys, you make the best out of a bad situation, I couldn't deal with this school.

Crystal Lake Community Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
General population teachers are not fit to teach, magnet teachers are great. Not fair to magnet teachers


Crystal Lake Community Middle School 2

Posted September 04, 2015
- a community member
Luckily I graduated before the new principal started changing things. The teachers are ok but most of them have left or are leaving. I didn't have any issues with bullying but I did see a lot of other kids getting bullied. There are usually fights between the students. Most of the students are disrespectful to the teachers. I don't recommend sending your child here its a very bad school. The academy is gone so don't even bother taking the time to go see the school.

Crystal Lake Community Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a teacher
Administration teaches students that different people have different rules to follow; rules only apply for some people. The Principal changed her son's grades in multiple classes throughout his term at the school.

Crystal Lake Community Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 17, 2015
- a teacher
96% of teachers are awesome, but are never recognized. The principal labels the literacy coaches (who never have classrooms) as the only 'highly-qualified teachers' in the school.


Crystal Lake Community Middle School 1

Posted August 17, 2015
- a teacher
Magnet program is comparable to any ordinary public school's regular curriculum. Discipline is lax. Administration doesn't support teachers. Teachers were encouraged to 'show documentaries' rather than teach

Crystal Lake Community Middle School 1

Posted August 13, 2015
- a teacher
There were five student started fires in the 2014-15 school year. The fire alarm went off for two of them, and only one was acknowledged to be a fire. What kind of school pulls the plug on the /fire alarm/?

Crystal Lake Community Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 13, 2015
- a teacher
Student discipline is a joke. Students bully each other and when the teacher writes them up or sends them to detention, administration ignores the write-ups and students skip detention.


Crystal Lake Community Middle School 1

Posted March 03, 2015
- a parent
I put my child in this school on recommendation of his fifth grade teacher. It was the worst mistake i have ever made. The principal and magnet coordinator changed the summer before school started. I really don't think i have ever encountered more incompetent and useless administrators. They were defensive, did not return phone calls, ignored messages, did not want to meet in person and had absolutely zero sympathy about bullying and the general chaos at this school. Ignore the good reviews some people post... they have never seen a well run school. Don't just walk away from this school...run. Seriously.

Crystal Lake Community Middle School 5

Posted February 01, 2015
- a parent
I feel the need to write a review because of all the negative reviews. My child has excelled in the magnet program. Dr. Peterson is a godsend to this school she has zero tolerance for bad behavior and foresters a positive learning environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Crystal Lake Community Middle School
3551 Northeast 3rd Avenue, Pompano Beach, FL  33064
(754) 322-3100
Last modified Crystal Lake Community Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Crystal Lake Community Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. Top