Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Pompano Beach, FL
Students enrolled: 1,369
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Crystal Lake Community Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a teacher
Administration teaches students that different people have different rules to follow; rules only apply for some people. The Principal changed her son's grades in multiple classes throughout his term at the school.

Crystal Lake Community Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 17, 2015
- a teacher
96% of teachers are awesome, but are never recognized. The principal labels the literacy coaches (who never have classrooms) as the only 'highly-qualified teachers' in the school.


Crystal Lake Community Middle School 1

Posted August 17, 2015
- a teacher
Magnet program is comparable to any ordinary public school's regular curriculum. Discipline is lax. Administration doesn't support teachers. Teachers were encouraged to 'show documentaries' rather than teach

Crystal Lake Community Middle School 1

Posted August 13, 2015
- a teacher
There were five student started fires in the 2014-15 school year. The fire alarm went off for two of them, and only one was acknowledged to be a fire. What kind of school pulls the plug on the /fire alarm/?

Crystal Lake Community Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 13, 2015
- a teacher
Student discipline is a joke. Students bully each other and when the teacher writes them up or sends them to detention, administration ignores the write-ups and students skip detention.


Crystal Lake Community Middle School 1

Posted March 03, 2015
- a parent
I put my child in this school on recommendation of his fifth grade teacher. It was the worst mistake i have ever made. The principal and magnet coordinator changed the summer before school started. I really don't think i have ever encountered more incompetent and useless administrators. They were defensive, did not return phone calls, ignored messages, did not want to meet in person and had absolutely zero sympathy about bullying and the general chaos at this school. Ignore the good reviews some people post... they have never seen a well run school. Don't just walk away from this school...run. Seriously.

Crystal Lake Community Middle School 5

Posted February 01, 2015
- a parent
I feel the need to write a review because of all the negative reviews. My child has excelled in the magnet program. Dr. Peterson is a godsend to this school she has zero tolerance for bad behavior and foresters a positive learning environment.

Crystal Lake Community Middle School 5

Posted December 09, 2014
- a parent
Magnet program is great ! My daughter is learning so much w/ her Math teacher . Doing French , and she is loving this school . Great magnet programs .


Crystal Lake Community Middle School 1

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
I am not getting detailed but I removed my child from this school. My younger child will not be enrolled when it is her time for middle school.

Crystal Lake Community Middle School 4

Posted June 23, 2014
- a teacher
6th grade is going digital in 2014-2015. We are looking forward to new laptops in class.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Crystal Lake Community Middle School
3551 Northeast 3rd Avenue, Pompano Beach, FL  33064
(754) 322-3100
Last modified Crystal Lake Community Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Crystal Lake Community Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top