Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-5
Public district
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Students enrolled: 1,313
 

3 stars
Based on 45 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


49 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ponte Vedra Palm Valley- Rawlings Elementary School 1

Posted March 02, 2015
- a parent
The school needs major improvement. My kids are in both PVPV as well as in Rawlings building and let me tell you that for this school being in Ponte Vedra, it needs a lot of changes. For starters the teachers. Not all teachers are hands on and caring. The students are rude, uneducated and a lot of mistreating other students go on here. The principle seems to only care about statistics and exams. The school campus needs a make over. For all the money this school raises and is donated to by many rich sponsors it needs to be cleaner, newer playgrounds, new fences, new roads as the current ones are full of cracks, and new and more technology in every class. Like their saying Read, Read, Read needs to be changed to Fix, Fix, Fix. The students deserve better.
3 people found this helpful

Ponte Vedra Palm Valley- Rawlings Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2015
- a parent
We have 3 children enrolled here. One @ PVPV and two @ Rawlings. Have found staff, teachers, administrators all to be excellent. The extra resources are a bonus. Additional subjects, too, like art, music, etc. seem to have very qualified teachers, as well. My kids love it and they are all doing well. The focus from the teachers seems to be preparing the kids to be successful, especially as they prepare them for middle school. The only thing I notice is that other parents don't seem to put in the time and effort to ensure that their kiddos do their homework. Kind of surprising that the parents aren't as hands-on as I would expect.
1 person found this helpful


Ponte Vedra Palm Valley- Rawlings Elementary School 4

Posted November 21, 2014
- a parent
We were thinking of moving but it would require us to change to PVPV/Rawlings. I know many parents who have children there and are happy. I did not like the other parent comment stating: "the other PVB school, Ocean Palms, is doing a good job, but not great". That could not be further from the truth. OPE is a fabulous school, outstanding staff, highly educated principal and teachers, involved and supportive parents, in a kind, compassionate, loving, generous, fun and academic environment. They focus on the whole child and the community and always do service projects to help others. I love the school so much, that we won't move until all my children are finished there. We came from a private school and Ocean Palms, is the best thing that has happened to this community and our family. We are proud to call it our school. Happy kids make for successful adults. When you love school, you love leaning, and you can't lose. Please refrain from comments about "the other PVB school" and be thankful we all live in a community with such high standards on education and two rated 10 great elementary schools. Lucky kids!
1 person found this helpful

Ponte Vedra Palm Valley- Rawlings Elementary School 1

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
The school is so Deceiving..Fake Fake Fake is all I can say! This school is full of problems and Drama. Full of uneducated children who's parents just buy them off with materials and so they go to school thinking they are entitled to treat all other children bad and this school does nothing about discipline. The parents (mothers) are all snobs and think that they are the best and queens of this school. Administration does not do its job well at all. This school is pathetic! They are all an act, and full of drama. It is a shame how this school located in beautiful Ponte Vedra is a total waste. There are many, many parents in this school who share my opinion.
3 people found this helpful

Ponte Vedra Palm Valley- Rawlings Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
PVPV is a school not a play center or CC. These children enrolled here for the most part have plenty of time to play and be tended to while out of school. PVPV has a focus on learning and preparation for middle school. The students coming out of PVPV are better prepared than most in the entire state. That is the job of the teachers and staff and they do it well. Many of the parents are not used to be told something different than what they think is right, perhaps because most are high achieving in their professions. Ponte Vedra mothers are never wrong and have a lot of influence in the community to make a point when they feel to do so. Teachers are in a bullseye if they are not doing as told by these mother. That makes it a challenge to teach. Regardless Ms. Furness are, Ms. Fairness as i would say, keeps everything in order and the results are proof. The other PV school Ocean Palms does a good job but not a great job.


Ponte Vedra Palm Valley- Rawlings Elementary School 1

Posted January 22, 2014
- a parent
A handful of bullies in this school. Administration does absolutely nothing about this!! It is unbelievable how this school has tolerance for these children who get away with this on a daily basis.
2 people found this helpful

Ponte Vedra Palm Valley- Rawlings Elementary School 1

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
Terrible elementary school. Had to transfer my child to another school. Feel bad for the students that go there.
1 person found this helpful

Ponte Vedra Palm Valley- Rawlings Elementary School 5

Posted November 04, 2013
- a parent
We can all have expectations that turn into disappointments. However, I have found that when voicing concerns issues are addressed and rectified. My children were nurtured and equipped with a love of reading that will stay with them throughout their years.


Ponte Vedra Palm Valley- Rawlings Elementary School 1

Posted October 15, 2013
- a parent
Unsatisfactory School. This school is fake in everyway. Most teachers and administrations are all about their looks and money. Poor attention to students and the real issues that go on in this school. I totally agree with the real reviews below unlike the ones that were written by the teachers helpers and administration.
1 person found this helpful

Ponte Vedra Palm Valley- Rawlings Elementary School 1

Posted October 12, 2013
- a parent
Poor Discipline in this school. Needs a make over with New Administration and Principle. Doesn't have Priorities in check! This school is all about FCAT scores and the rest down the drain.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ponte Vedra Palm Valley- Rawlings Elementary School
630 Florida A1A, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL  32082
(904) 547-8570
Last modified Ponte Vedra Palm Valley- Rawlings Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ponte Vedra Palm Valley- Rawlings Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. Top