Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alice B. Landrum Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1294 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 27, 2013

Landrum Middle School is an AMAZING community school supported by caring staff and supportive parents. Elective options support a continuum of services in: language (overview in 6th grade, Spanish in 7th and 8th, and Spanish for high school credit and Chinese for high school credit in 8th grade), computer education (including CCC for high school credit in 8th), STEM courses (gaming, coding, TV production), physical education, Engaged Citizenship and Leadership, Art, Music, Drama, and Debate... The academic program is rigorous, preparing students for the full-implementation of the Common Core State Standards in 2014! The teachers and parents are "ALL IN" with commitment to the students and improving existing programs and technological infrastructure. Postive Behavior Support mechanisms ensure a proactive approach to student behavior, guiding students to make positive choices. Middle School is a beautiful period of growth and independence. LMS supports this development through building postive relationships and providing opportunities to get involved. Staff and students stand "United" for one another bc Landrum C.A.R.E.S! (Culture of Accepting and Respecting Every Student)!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 26, 2013

Good, great, terrific, the words fall short of the experience we have had at Landrum...Caring teachers, plus Connected Principal, equal Quality School experience for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2013

My eighth grader has had exemplary teachers at Landrum. We could not ask for higher standards in all areas of her education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

I am a teacher at the high school that receives Landrum students. The kids come prepared for high school academically and socially. I will soon have a son in 6 th grade and they have made a great effort to make sure that he and the other 6 th graders feel welcome.


Posted August 7, 2013

Landrum is an excellent school offering a wide selection of classes to meet the needs of students. Teachers are dedicated and hard working.


Posted August 4, 2013

Landrum is a good school. My daughter is entering her second year at this school. Middle school is a tough transition for children and I feel that Landrum staff and administration does its best to minimize the stress of this transition. Each school goes through the pains of change however I feel each member of this school is intent on making the school a parent teacher supported place of education for each student at every learning level. The support is there. My daughter struggled with math. She was placed in a before school support class which helped her improve tremendously. I agree with the previous review. As a responsible parent, it is your duty to try and resolve your issues one on one with the teacher and administration. Posting negative comments hurts our children, their confidence and pride in their school as well as our community as a whole.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

Landrum is an excellent middle school with caring staff and a comprehensive plan for the transition of middle schoolers into high school. The staff cares deeply about the students well being and character is stressed at every level. Many new electives are being offered next year, to ensure there is an interest for all students. I have had children at Landrum going on 8 years now and also substitute teach there. I also serve on Landrum's PTO. Those who have posted negatively should please try to resolve their issues with teachers or administrators before placing negative comments online. This is counter- productive and hurts our entire community. Trisha Heffner
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

Principal is horrible and will not communicate with parents other than to tell you how wrong you are. My child is in the "gifted" program, but that too has gone by the wayside. The new common core standards that are being shoved down to the children are terrible and actually lowering the learning standards. Landrum is not concerned with anything except FCAT scores. Private school is the way to go, and the Principal needs to be fired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2013

I am extremely disappointed in this school. My children are in the academically gifted program, and the teachers are dis-engaged, and have absolutely no interest in helping students if they struggle and parent-teacher communication is all but non-existent. There is no individualized teaching/learning, the creative emphasis is a failure, and the teachers are either overwhelmed or angry or dis-engaged. It is a factory. The new principal is non-existent, and I have no idea what her goals for the school are, other than FCAT objectives. How sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2012

Teacher quality is highly variable, from excellent to poor, so it's the "luck of the draw" as to how well you'll be taught. While the overall student body has a high achieving intelligent selection bias due to being in Ponte Vedra, the school does little to enhance the knowledge base, creativity or anything else beyond a typical middle school. Principal leadership is not good, from my view, and is more defensive than productive or proactive. Parental involvement is good, but the enthusiasm is less than for PV High or the elementary schools. Landrum is the weak link of the PV schools and not improving, but still only temporary. The elementary schools, PVPV and Rawlings are excellent, and PV high is very good and improving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

My daughter attends Landrum, and is constantly stressed with the amount of homework. Many of the teachers have unreasonably high expectations. My daughter is doing about 4 hours of homework a night. She seems to have a test or a quiz every day. Some of the teachers are absent a lot, and take forever to grade papers and tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2012

School is not different than another MS around, just located in PV and has less multicultural group of students.School officials are concentrated on rules,limits and scores instead of be worry about educational process and academic success for every child. Teachers sites mostly not up to date and can not be counted as a help for parents who want to be involved. Parent Assist could be a useful tool if it could be updated frequently. Very limited help or support for the struggling kids and no help for the parents who ask for it.I do understand that some kids are not an ideal students, but schools were never established only to serve and educate ideal children. We need to make sure that no child is left behind just because he or she requires a different approach in teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

School is great if your child is academically gifted however it is really easy for your child to fall off the radar if they struggle in anyway. Limited help or support for the child. Poor parent/teacher connection (teachers only reach out if your child is failing entire grade, bad quarter isnt enough for them to pick up the phone). The fallback is Parent Assist which is a useful tool but there are too many excuses about why there are discrepencancies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

Its a very good school with hard working teachers. Not the nicest kids. The system over all is not all that good but i wouldn't say it was terrible either.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 7, 2008

I believe that the kids in LMS are nice(most of them) and very smart, but I think the Dress Code is very strict!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2008

I think it's overall a good school, relative to other schools in the area. I was raised in Ohio, and I do believe that in general the school systems up north are preferable. I am blown away by how mean middle-school kids can be to each other, and I do wish more could be done with the attitudes of these kids. They are capable of so much more when they stay positive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2007

I personally go to the school, I think that the dress code policies are way to strict!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2007

I personaly go to landrum and I like it overall. but some of the students I think need to be more disiplined for some of the things they say or do.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 25, 2007

I go to this school and it is really great. I just don't like some of the dresss code policies.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2006

My daughter was in the PACE (gifted program) at LMS and she was well prepared for High school. I do wish LMS was more nurturing and that teachers( esp. general ed) teachers were more accessible to parents and more willing to work with struggling students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

422 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

434 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

343 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

411 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

229 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

440 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

439 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

440 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

383 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 87%
Hispanic 5%
Asian 4%
Black 2%
Two or more races 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 50%58%61%
Master's degree 50%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MRS. EMILY HARRISON
Fax number
  • (904) 547-8415

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

230 Landrum Lane
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 547-8410

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Palmer Catholic Academy
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL



Ave Maria Academy
Jacksonville Beach, FL



The Foundation Academy
Jacksonville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT