Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
6-8
Public
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Students enrolled: 1,294
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Alice B. Landrum Middle School 1

Posted December 03, 2014
- a parent
Landrum has gotten better over the past two years with replacing the horrible principal they had previously, but still has a long way to go. There are a couple of teachers who have been teaching for 25+ years who are way past retirement. This is reflected in both their attitude and their teaching style. School Officials are always right regardless of circumstances or situation. If your child can go to another middle school, I would highly suggest it, don't subject them to this.

Alice B. Landrum Middle School 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a teacher
Landrum Middle School is an AMAZING community school supported by caring staff and supportive parents. Elective options support a continuum of services in: language (overview in 6th grade, Spanish in 7th and 8th, and Spanish for high school credit and Chinese for high school credit in 8th grade), computer education (including CCC for high school credit in 8th), STEM courses (gaming, coding, TV production), physical education, Engaged Citizenship and Leadership, Art, Music, Drama, and Debate... The academic program is rigorous, preparing students for the full-implementation of the Common Core State Standards in 2014! The teachers and parents are "ALL IN" with commitment to the students and improving existing programs and technological infrastructure. Postive Behavior Support mechanisms ensure a proactive approach to student behavior, guiding students to make positive choices. Middle School is a beautiful period of growth and independence. LMS supports this development through building postive relationships and providing opportunities to get involved. Staff and students stand "United" for one another bc Landrum C.A.R.E.S! (Culture of Accepting and Respecting Every Student)!


Alice B. Landrum Middle School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Good, great, terrific, the words fall short of the experience we have had at Landrum...Caring teachers, plus Connected Principal, equal Quality School experience for kids.

Alice B. Landrum Middle School 5

Posted September 02, 2013
- a parent
My eighth grader has had exemplary teachers at Landrum. We could not ask for higher standards in all areas of her education.

Alice B. Landrum Middle School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a community member
I am a teacher at the high school that receives Landrum students. The kids come prepared for high school academically and socially. I will soon have a son in 6 th grade and they have made a great effort to make sure that he and the other 6 th graders feel welcome.


Alice B. Landrum Middle School 5

Posted August 07, 2013
- a community member
Landrum is an excellent school offering a wide selection of classes to meet the needs of students. Teachers are dedicated and hard working.

Alice B. Landrum Middle School 4

Posted August 04, 2013
- a parent
Landrum is a good school. My daughter is entering her second year at this school. Middle school is a tough transition for children and I feel that Landrum staff and administration does its best to minimize the stress of this transition. Each school goes through the pains of change however I feel each member of this school is intent on making the school a parent teacher supported place of education for each student at every learning level. The support is there. My daughter struggled with math. She was placed in a before school support class which helped her improve tremendously. I agree with the previous review. As a responsible parent, it is your duty to try and resolve your issues one on one with the teacher and administration. Posting negative comments hurts our children, their confidence and pride in their school as well as our community as a whole.

Alice B. Landrum Middle School 5

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
Landrum is an excellent middle school with caring staff and a comprehensive plan for the transition of middle schoolers into high school. The staff cares deeply about the students well being and character is stressed at every level. Many new electives are being offered next year, to ensure there is an interest for all students. I have had children at Landrum going on 8 years now and also substitute teach there. I also serve on Landrum's PTO. Those who have posted negatively should please try to resolve their issues with teachers or administrators before placing negative comments online. This is counter- productive and hurts our entire community. Trisha Heffner


Alice B. Landrum Middle School 1

Posted May 01, 2013
- a parent
Principal is horrible and will not communicate with parents other than to tell you how wrong you are. My child is in the "gifted" program, but that too has gone by the wayside. The new common core standards that are being shoved down to the children are terrible and actually lowering the learning standards. Landrum is not concerned with anything except FCAT scores. Private school is the way to go, and the Principal needs to be fired.

Alice B. Landrum Middle School 1

Posted January 28, 2013
- a parent
I am extremely disappointed in this school. My children are in the academically gifted program, and the teachers are dis-engaged, and have absolutely no interest in helping students if they struggle and parent-teacher communication is all but non-existent. There is no individualized teaching/learning, the creative emphasis is a failure, and the teachers are either overwhelmed or angry or dis-engaged. It is a factory. The new principal is non-existent, and I have no idea what her goals for the school are, other than FCAT objectives. How sad.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alice B. Landrum Middle School
230 Landrum Lane, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL  32082
(904) 547-8410
Last modified Alice B. Landrum Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Alice B. Landrum Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top