Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ocean Palms Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 814 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 9, 2012

The teachers and staff at OPE are among the most exceptional educators that I, as a mother of three, have found after being at 3 other highly ranked elementary schools (in CT, GA, and FL). This school actually cares about the kids, as well as their families, and most importantly education. Its not clear what drives the motivation and dynamics at this school, but the consistency of their passion is reflected in my kids willingness and enthusiasm to learn. Whatever my kids take away from their grammar school years, my one hope is that they are instilled with a true love for learning and I am certain that this is the institution where they will find that love!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2012

I am a Ocean Palms "graduate" and out of all the schools that i have attended Ocean Palms is by far the best! The teachers are outstanding and personally care about each of their students, which is a rarity in most schools today. There is a lot of parent involvement (PTO, etc...) and the students are very nice. Overall an awesome place to send your child.


Posted November 22, 2011

Ocean Palms is awesome. My son loves the school and so do I. We are so fortunate to live in such a wonderful county that enables us to enjoy such a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

My son is in Kindergarten at Ocean Palms, and his teacher, Mary DeSanto, is incredible. She does very well with all the children, and takes pride in watching each child progress. The principal too is a very nice and engaged man who makes it a point to know each student's name. All in all, I am quite pleased that my son is a student at Ocean Palms Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

Florida makes it very difficult for schools to excel because the state puts as little as possible into them. Even with the state driven hurdles Ocean Palms faces, it manages to be an excellent school academically and socially. The parents and staff are people who value our children and know that this is our one chance to make them the best they can be. Every year, the PTO makes sure it does whatever it can to update materials for the classrooms. The principal is always visible and lending a hand. Parents volunteer and know they can make a difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

I transferred from PVPV to Ocean Palms after a move. I was not sure about the switch because I was so happy with my child's education and growth at PVPV. I love Ocean Palms. One thing that is evident when you walk in the door and meet the staff is that they care about your child and his or her overall happiness and progress. I cannot say I ever felt this at PVPV. PVPV seemed be more driven by test scores and how many books each child could read in a school year. Don't get me wrong, I expect alot out of my child ( who is in the excelerated program ) but I think some of us forget, they are children. They should be enjoying school and after school as well. I really love Ocean Palms and the fact that they allow our kids to be kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2006

Very nurturing teachers and principal, with incredible resources in music, art and science. Very high level of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2006

Ocean Palms is a wonderful, student-centered school, where the focus truly is on the child. It's a parent friendly school with caring teachers who are available to parents. Mr. Parrish( the principal) knows most of the 800 students by name and can tell you something personal about most of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

Great school. Principle (Mr. Parish) is loved by parents and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2005

Ocean Palms has the 4 essential ingredients for a great school. A great principal, professional and caring teachers, active parents and terrific students. The reason that I rated the extracurricular activities a 3 is due to the children attending physical education only once a week. Unfortunately, it appears that all public schools have reduced their physical education programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2005

wonderful school, wonderful administration, excellent teaching staff, parent involvement...cannot say enough about how great it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2005

The school is great. My daughter loves it! The staff was great at making her feel welcome and I appreciated that they evaluated her personality and put her in a class with students and a teacher who would best suit her personality and way of learning. She jumps out of bed in the morning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

Ocean Palms is a good school, unfortunately, it must be held hostage to the FCATS like all the other schools in this nation. If Ocean Palms could put as much effort into it's students as it does by law to the FCATS it would be able to be an OUTSTANDING and AMAZING facility of learning. I know that my child is loved and cared for while attending this school and fortunately for me, academia is not a challenge for my child, but, for the students that need a little more, Ocean Palms is, as are all other schools, challenged to meet the needs of these students. I say, let us as parents band together speak out about the inadequacy of these ridiculous tests. Schools need funding, not a mere raising of the standards of education. Put some money into education, not just numbers and tests scores!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2005

This school has adeuate teachers, curriculum, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2004

Excellent. Organized, friendly, clean. Good kids and atmosphere. No gifted program on premises.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2004

This has been the absolute best school I have seen. My children love it at OPE and that makes me happy. Every member of the staff has made every possible effort to make my boys welcome and feel right at home. Thier grades are much better and they love to go to school. I didn't think I would ever see a school that is this wonderful. Thank goodness for OPE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

This is a top quality school in every way! The principal and staff makes it a point to know every child and if possible, the parents too. I have always encountered friendly smiles when I go to the school. The staff and the teachers go out of their way to be as helpful and encouraging as possible. My child has been challenged in academics to the point that he went from being way behind the others in his class to an advanced reader. His teachers were patient and nurturing in his academic growth. I can not believe I do not have to pay extra for this type of school. It's a public school with a private school feel!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

138 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 42%
Hispanic 5% 29%
Asian 4% 3%
Black 4% 23%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%58%61%
Master's degree 27%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

355 Landrum Ln
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 547-3760

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Palmer Catholic Academy
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL




Seabreeze Elementary School
Jacksonville Beach, FL


Ave Maria Academy
Jacksonville Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT