Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Community Christian School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Port Charlotte

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $51,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2014

I am a long time teacher at CCS. We have recently been through a lot of changes and all I can say is, Praise God! The new principal has really brought the standard of education to a much higher level and I am really proud to be a part of this faculty.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 4, 2013

We have a new Principal this year and we have never been better. This school has always had great spirit, and my children have always felt loved and cared for at CCS. The new Principal has created an excitement that is contagious. We are so happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2013

My daughter attended from Kindergarten until Sophomore in High School. The Elementary portion was terrific, My daughter loved school until one day the new science teacher showed up. He was especially hard on my daughter. He allowed the special students to literally get away with anything. They bragged about it!! The English teacher literally screamed and yelled at my daughter. One afternoon the kids were told to put their chairs up on the table as they left. It was very noisy and my daughter didn't hear her. Also, several other kids walked out without stacking the chairs. This teacher marched after my daughter and loudly corrected her in the parking lot! My daughter was in tears. I cannot say the high school was especially helpful to her on tests, as we moved her to public. She learned more in her few years in public high school than she ever learned at CCS high school and she kept her Christian faith. I would have moved her out of CCS far sooner had I known. They applaud the abusive discipline as Christian and do not care they are crushing someone's love of learning. I do not recommend this school after Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2011

My first daughter attended CCS from 2nd to 5th grade starting in 2000, and now my second daughter is attended her second year at CCS for the 2010/2011 school year. I feel very blessed to have my children attending such an excellent Chrisitian School. I feel it is the best Christian school in Charlotte County. The teachers are excellent and willing to help with all circumstances and office admin is just as willing to help. I have never had any problems. The only thing I would like to see is a different version of the Bible used, but this is minor in the quality of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

Hi! I go to ccs and I love it. And if you miss homework you do not get detention. This school has been a blessing to me!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2009

There isn't a better school in the county! My daughter will be a senior this year. She has been at CCS since 7th grade and loves it. The school is open to Pre-K through 12th grade. CCS offers honors courses, dual enrollment and a wide variety of sports starting in junior high. CCS has Homecoming dances as well as Prom. Graduates go on to major universities such as UCF, FSU, UF, FL Southern, etc. Students graduate with eligibility for Florida Brights as well as other major scholorships. In addition to all of that, the classes are biblically integrated allowing students to be spiritually and academically sound. Enrollment is increasing by the day. That should speak for itself!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

Getting out of here was the best thing that happened to me, miss a homework, detention, 4 detentions, in school suspension. and then repeats for every 4 detentions. The high school curriculum isnt as good as public schools in my opinion. Definitely more happy at Charlotte High.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2007

My daughter has attended the school for 3 years now. I have been pleased with the teachers and staff. In the jr. high and high school level. My son has been here for acouple of years now, not pleased with the 5th and 6th grade teachers as much. Still the foundation they are getting while being here out way public school by along shot.Great kids with strong faith and good morals attend this school. I highly recommed the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

Hey! Im a student here at CCS! Its awesome! Even if your catholic, its so friendly here! I love it! CCS is the best thing that ever happened to me!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 42%
Hispanic 7% 29%
Black 4% 23%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • FCIS
Fax number
  • (941) 625-1735

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20035 Quesada Avenue
Port Charlotte, FL 33952
Phone: (941) 625-8977

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Liberty Elementary School
Port Charlotte, FL


Charlotte Virtual Franchise
Port Charlotte, FL




Charlotte Technical Center
Port Charlotte, FL


Genesis Christian School
Port Charlotte, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT