Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Port Charlotte Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 825 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2014

Honestly I think this school is pretty good. The teachers are pretty good (some a little strict but they are still nice) and the Band is awesome, especially the teacher! But there would be two reasons why I rate this a two star. First of is the classmates. There is so many bullying activity going on and so many are very mean and unsupportive. One time a girl bullied this other girl and beated her just because she dislikes her. Students are very disrespectful to teachers and are just plain horrible. A lot of fights too. Stay there for three semesters to know what I mean. The second reason would be the lunch room. It's small and the lines always quickly get long. There isn't enough lunch hours and I'm often left still hungry. Sometimes we only get fifteen minutes to eat. This school could do much better than this, I know it could


Posted November 29, 2011

This school was horrible for my kid. she suffered in this school. she has told me about this school. this is nothing but a fighting school. there is fights almost everyday in this school. the kids are out of control. the staff cant handle them. apparently they have installed cameras in this school but i guess they dont work or the kids just dont care. i mean this is just horrible this school should be shut down for good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

School is awful. We moved here a few months ago and this is the biggest downfall of this community. Fighting is rampant, kids are allowed to be bullied, teachers do not post grades on time. Transportation system is awful, kids getting hurt on buses, drivers not held accountable for letting kids off at wrong stops to attack other children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2010

This school is an amazing school you will find some of the greastest teachers clubs and extracurricular activites there there's also a teacher there that will have a special place in my heart and she is ms. Martone she teaches in a fun and educational way she's funny while making sure things are in order. So if your choosing a middle school to go to if you just recently moved here or just going to middle school come here please
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

I had the best education from that school. Great teachers, especially the music teacher. Good location but as with any school, they can always use more resources. I learned a lot at that school going on field trips and different activities. They were exceptional at getting students prepared for high school life. Wonderful school.


Posted August 3, 2009

My child only spent a few weeks at this school. It was a miserable experience for him. It seemed more like a prison than a school. They were not welcoming to volunteers. Many students seemed out of control. Not a good environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

This past year was miserable for my child! While the teachers and staff did their best, the buildings and classrooms made my daughter feel as though she was in a dungeon... she asked if she could go to a different school next year. Oh well....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2009

I have two children currently attending PCMS. They came from private school and are in the advanced program. My children came into the public system with low level writing and handwriting skills. So much for the thousands of dollars wasted there. I find it difficult to believe that a student wasn't challenged in this program. I don't think the work is rocket science but my kids are constantly bragging about how they are working with Senior High level materials. Yeah, they say it is easy but maybe that is because the teaching is so good. PCMS teachers often have more education than the average PHD. Each of my children has improved significantly on all measures and they love PCMS. By the way, the school continues to offer two levels of advanced classes in all grades. Budget cuts didn't impact a student's opportunity to achieve. Also, this area has school choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

This school is the best school ever!! All the teachers (most of them anyway) are very nice... They care for you and help you whenever needed.. I have 4 teachers that have been helping me before and after school to as much as 4 hours a day!! Most of all the teachers there were once students there. I soon plan on being a teacher at PCMS when I am older.. I recommend this school to everyone.. In some cases students are advanced in some subjects. Due to money cuts there arnt as many advanced classes as we did have in 2007.. We have a great school band that plays in the Christmas Parade every year. We have music class, Journalsim, and many more to enjoy.. Port Charlotte school has been an 'A' school for over 5 years.. I once was a 'F' student and now an 'A' student.. Gabriella
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 6, 2009

In my experience, PCMS was a great school. The teachers are excellent and most are able to challenge their students and work well wit.h them. The extracurricular activities are great and keep students occupied and out of this country.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2008

I too, have a student that is testing 1 grade level in advance and is not being challenged. Charlotte county offers no charter schools presently. Last year she was in advance classes but due to funding cuts this school no longer offers advance classes. I'm not impressed with the cliche or the importance clothing is given at this school. It appears the emphasis is on conforming and substandard education but what can you expect, Florida ranks in the top 50 schools for spending per student and the bottom 2% on quality of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2006

This is my child's 1st year at PCMS and to be honest it has been nothing but a nightmare. Classes are very basic it education and do not challenge children. The school will not give your child a boost up or more advanced work if the work is too easy, they are expected to sit in class, be bored and do work that they have done already for a couple years. Having a very bright child I feel that she is limited and held back at this school. Unfortunately, the only other choice is to home school or private school and there's no affordability in the work Private school. I am hoping for some improvement but I would not recommend this school if your child is more than 1 grade ahead of his class. around here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2004

I think Port Charlotte Middle School is the greatest school even though it is my first year.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

287 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

287 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

251 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

249 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

224 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

267 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

268 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

263 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

247 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 60%
Hispanic 19%
Black 13%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 47%53%61%
Master's degree 51%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23000 Midway Boulevard
Port Charlotte, FL 33952
Phone: (941) 255-7460

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Charlotte Academy
Port Charlotte, FL



Charlotte Harbor School
Punta Gorda, FL


Grace Community School
Port Charlotte, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT