Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Port Charlotte, FL

3 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Murdock Middle School 4

Posted June 08, 2014
- a community member
I have mixed feelings about this school... Because i agree that some of the kids bully but seriously what kids don't i can tell you that everyone at least has said something unkind to someone else. As long as that is clear, than this school is amazing, you can tell that the teachers really do want to see you succeed. all of the staff that i have met are very helpful and kind. As being a student there i will tell you some (usually male) students Fight, this is simply because the wan to prove their popularity because unlike most immature teens everything is about competition. all in all i have mixed reviews in Murdock Middle School.

Murdock Middle School 5

Posted October 29, 2012
- a community member
Murdock Middle School offers Industry Certification for Microsoft Office which is an opportunity for students to have certification in programs that are usually reserved for adults in the workplace. As an IT Academy school, their technology program is outstanding! It definitely gives your kid a BIG headstart in their lives to be technology literate and MMS will provide that training with teachers who are excellent at their craft.


Murdock Middle School 5

Posted July 10, 2012
- a community member
Our school is great. I used to go to a different school and Murdock is better. I don't wanna go to any other one. Some kids cause trouble at all schools but just stay away from them. My teachers help me do my work and learn. They have dances and ROS with Officer More and other good stuff. I got awards there and my mom and my sister came.

Murdock Middle School 4

Posted July 05, 2012
- a parent
Murdock Middle is a very good school. The teachers are caring, provide feedback and the principal is willing to meet with and work with parents to help students succeed. My daughter was in band and the TAG program which provided challenges to her. Students from there have won awards and scholarships. There is a great band, a drama program, leadership classes, and the school is recognized for leading the way in technology. The Seven Habits are also taught and stressed there. Dress code is enforced, too. There is a parent SAC organization, but attendance at meetings is low. I've seen a few parents volunteer to help at the front office, with dances and plays, but they definitely need more parents to get involved. If parents would visit often and get involved, it would make a very good school even better.

Murdock Middle School 1

Posted July 03, 2012
- a community member
There is terribly bully problem and their is no accountability. Kids have created their own gangs to protect themselves... and sadly girls are pregnant...very scary! This has nothing to due with Gov. Scott. The budget cuts are because of our local politicians that have not created an solid infrastructure...we have no economy, no jobs and now too many houses in foreclosure! Schools get funded mostly through property taxes, if home prices are lower, less taxes can be collected...if they are in foreclosure the house value decreases and again, less taxes the county can collect. The more people that move out of the area, less money is collected in sales taxes... It is ignorance that has caused this area to become distressed! It is important for the parents to vote for the commissioners who are pro-business and we must vote in school administrators who want to work with parents and students and begin a 'leadership program" in all the schools. It is already established in MPE and should be done countywide!!


Murdock Middle School 1

Posted March 09, 2012
- a parent
Horrible school! Just a place where kids are warehoused daily. Visit a charter school, and see the difference. The education is free in charter schools too. Every school has funding constraints, but Charlotte County schools cater to the poorly behaved children. My son attended this school eight years ago. My daughter attended this school last year and was pulled out to attend a charter school in Sarasota County. The teachers are so busy catering to kids that do not want to learn, and who are unruly. There are no field trips when my daughter and son attended this school. My daughter made straight A's never had homework, never opened a book, and was bored. Charter school has FCAT too, but the teachers can creatively teach, make it fun, and they kick unruly kids out. Charter school does not look at FCAT scores alone to determine classes, they make sure the kids are challenged. They have field trips too. Strict dress code with uniforms in charter school. Public schools need to learn from charter schools. Visit Murdock Middle, 90% poorly behaved children. When you visit that dump you will see why free education should be privilege, and not a right!

Murdock Middle School 1

Posted March 09, 2012
- a community member
Everyone needs to get their facts straight. The students that review only like the school because it's easy and they have more control over the school than the teachers do. Besides, look at the students comments, including the kid that spelled wonderful like wounderful.I'm a prior student of that dump and it's TERRIBLE. This school isn't teaching you anything but how to become a future gang member. The teachers are lazy and never have control of the classroom. Everyone dresses like their going to be a stripper. All the guys have their pants hanging down low. Like anyone wants to see that! Go to Imagine School of North Port where you actually learn something and have fun doing it. They actually know what their doing and kick disruptive kids out.

Murdock Middle School 5

Posted November 19, 2011
- a community member
The teachers are very caring and they do the best they can under the current budget from Gov. Scott. (Who took most funding) I've seen several teachers buy their own supplies. They are forced to teach FCAT, as are all other schools. Their very jobs depend on the outcome. . The teachers are told they must keep up to standards, but they aren't given tools to do so. The teachers at MMS go out of their way to supplement the lack of funding.


Murdock Middle School 1

Posted May 16, 2011
- a parent
LIVING IN PORT CHARLOTTE ONLY SINCE 11/10 AND WITNESSING THE COMMUNITY AND ESPECIALLY MURDOCK MIDDLE 1ST HAND...I CAN ONLY COMPARE THE EXPERIENCE TO GOING TO A ZOO AND OBSERVING THE GORILLA/BABOON AREA...YOU JUST STAND BY, WATCH AND JUST WONDER..."WOW WHAT IS IT GOING TO DO NEXT?" CHARLOTTE COUNTY SCHOOLS ARE ONLY CONCERNED WITH RAISING AND EDUCATING FUTURE GENERATIONS OF CONVENIENCE STORE CLERKS AND LANDSCAPERS. MOVING AWAY IN SEPTEMBER PROBABLY 80% BECAUSE OF SCHOOLS ALONE.

Murdock Middle School 1

Posted February 07, 2011
- a parent
This school is a joke. I've been dealing with this school for 5 years now and have 2 more years to go. My children have had a "few" great teachers who genuinely care about their students (thank goodness!), but most of the teachers I've encountered have chosen the wrong career. The leadership in this school is the biggest joke of all. Suspensions, expulsions, even arrests, have been common practice and the "solution of choice" for unwanted adolescent behavior. If you are a parent in a position to choose the school your children attend, then choose another. If I had enough money, I would send my children to private school in a heartbeat.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Murdock Middle School
17325 Mariner Way, Port Charlotte, FL  33948
(941) 255-7525
Last modified Murdock Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Murdock Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top