Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Myakka River Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 518 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2009

MRES is not just a school, it is a family. There motto is, do good things and good things will follow. My motto as a MRES volunteer is 'lend a helping hand and a hand will always be there to hold.' It is the finest school in Charlotte County with a A rating. I bet it is the finest in the state and the entire country! Kindly, Renee` Galloway
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

My son went all 6yrs there and my daughter has gone 4yrs they love it! Some of the teachers there go above and beyond there job discriptions to make sure the kids get everything they need to learn and to become successful young adults. Thank you so much to the entire staff at MRES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

I have three kids who attend MRES and they love it! School is safe in a quiet residential area, extracurricular activities are excellent, teacher quality is outstanding and a new principal is young and energetic. Open house was great too which made transition very smooth for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2007

We moved to the area after our son had already started Kindergarten. He made the transition smoothly with help from his teacher. Although we had heard negative comments about Florida education before we moved, we have been pleased with this school. The new principal has added a breath of fresh air with an emphasis on communication between parents and teachers, a safe campus, addressing concerns immediately with an open door policy. In reading the previous reviews, you can definitely tell when the new principal came on board. This is an A rated school and deservedly so. Our son is entering the fifth grade, we just attended the open house (which is also new under the new principal) and we're looking forward to a great year. We are happy our son ended up at Myakka and would recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2007

Myakka is a great school with a great principal. My son has been there for two years and a lot of issues have come up and for the most part the school and its staff have been helpful and ontop of things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2006

I love my sons teacher but some of the schools staff has some issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2006

This school is fantastic. They have a very open door policy about anything regarding students. whatever arises they will help you to handle it. They always take the child's best interests to heart and is a true family, no matter if you are parent, teacher, staff or parent you will always feel welcome at Myakka. I have been at this school for 9 years and our experiences have been excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2006

The staff at this school is outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

I have only good to say about this school. My oldest son began school up north and when we came down they said he was behind for a kindergartener. He caught up in a matter of weeks and was on the honor roll up until he 'graduated' Myakka. I have a first grader there now who is doing exceptional. My family up north compares his progress with a nephew who is in third grade and my son is nearly as proficient in all areas as he is. (The school in that state are always ranked high.) I have also been a room mom for most of the years and watch first hand how thing are done and approve whole heartedly. One last thing, specials are offered each day ensuring the kids education is well rounded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2005

My child has only attended this school for a very short time. In that time, I have come to see some things I do not like. Too many students in classrooms, leading to not enough one-on-one time. Too much emphasis put on the No Child Left Behind act & not enough on math or writing. My husband & I have considered several times of transferring our child out. We are giving it until the end of the semester of this year before we make a final decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2003

It's very hit or miss at this school. Some teachers are well above excellent and others leave much to be desired. I advise parents to stay on top of anything they are concerned about lest their child fall through the cracks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2003

I have nothing but good experiences with this school.The staff goes well above and beyond to help and take care of children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

93 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 82%
Hispanic 12%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%53%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. DEBORAH CARNEY
Fax number
  • (941) 697-6326

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12650 Willmington Boulevard
Port Charlotte, FL 33981
Phone: (941) 624-4338

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Jordan Center for Learning
Port Charlotte, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT