Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

515 students|Charlotte
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Myakka River Elementary School 2

Posted May 08, 2015
- a parent
Horrible experience. We had a new teacher in grade 1 who way over used the 'move the clip' system, was highly critical and made our 6 year old incredibly self conscious and scared to go to school. We had moved in from out of state before the beginning of the school year, it was already a difficult enough move without the added stress...We met several times with the teacher and principal, but no reasonable action was taken. Poor communication, we didn't ever have a good idea of what was being taught at school so we could reinforce the messages at home. They refuse to communicate by email citing some kind of privacy laws, it's as though they just don't want the parents to stay in contact. We moved our daughter to Vineland nearby and things have improved greatly. Vineland has a binder they issue at the beginning of the year that week-by-week lets parents know exactly what's being worked on, the complete opposite of Myakka.

Myakka River Elementary School 5

Posted March 25, 2015
- a parent
My two children have just enrolled at Myakka River elementary. The staff has been amazing to my children and especially the nurse has gone above and beyond helping with my childrens records! So far top notch public choice!


Myakka River Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
MRES is not just a school, it is a family. There motto is, do good things and good things will follow. My motto as a MRES volunteer is 'lend a helping hand and a hand will always be there to hold.' It is the finest school in Charlotte County with a A rating. I bet it is the finest in the state and the entire country! Kindly, Renee` Galloway

Myakka River Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 06, 2009
- a parent
My son went all 6yrs there and my daughter has gone 4yrs they love it! Some of the teachers there go above and beyond there job discriptions to make sure the kids get everything they need to learn and to become successful young adults. Thank you so much to the entire staff at MRES!

Myakka River Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2007
- a parent
I have three kids who attend MRES and they love it! School is safe in a quiet residential area, extracurricular activities are excellent, teacher quality is outstanding and a new principal is young and energetic. Open house was great too which made transition very smooth for my kids.


Myakka River Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 19, 2007
- a parent
We moved to the area after our son had already started Kindergarten. He made the transition smoothly with help from his teacher. Although we had heard negative comments about Florida education before we moved, we have been pleased with this school. The new principal has added a breath of fresh air with an emphasis on communication between parents and teachers, a safe campus, addressing concerns immediately with an open door policy. In reading the previous reviews, you can definitely tell when the new principal came on board. This is an A rated school and deservedly so. Our son is entering the fifth grade, we just attended the open house (which is also new under the new principal) and we're looking forward to a great year. We are happy our son ended up at Myakka and would recommend it to anyone.

Myakka River Elementary School 4

Posted March 15, 2007
- a parent
Myakka is a great school with a great principal. My son has been there for two years and a lot of issues have come up and for the most part the school and its staff have been helpful and ontop of things.

Myakka River Elementary School 3

Posted September 12, 2006
- a parent
I love my sons teacher but some of the schools staff has some issues.


Myakka River Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2006
- a parent
This school is fantastic. They have a very open door policy about anything regarding students. whatever arises they will help you to handle it. They always take the child's best interests to heart and is a true family, no matter if you are parent, teacher, staff or parent you will always feel welcome at Myakka. I have been at this school for 9 years and our experiences have been excellent!

Myakka River Elementary School 4

Posted March 20, 2006
- a parent
The staff at this school is outstanding!

Nearby schools

Myakka River Elementary School
12650 Willmington Boulevard, Port Charlotte, FL  33981
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (941) 624-4338
Last modified Myakka River Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top