Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Silver Sands Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1133 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 7, 2014

My son attended grades 6-8 and just finished. He has special needs but attended regular classes. We were very apprehensive about middle school since there are so many horror stories about bullying. However, my son had a wonderful experience there and had no problems with bullying. The other kids are generally very supportive and accepting of him, which is the exact opposite of what your hear about middle schoolers. At the eighth grade celebration night my wife and I were very touched when he got some of the loudest applause of any of the kids. There are some teachers who are difficult to deal with and are unresponsive to emails, etc.. However there are many others who really go out of their way to help your child get the best education possible. My wife and I and our son have many nice memories of Silver Sands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2014

This school is in need of a new leader. My child was attacked in gym locker room because the teacher was on the computer instead of supervising the students. Then he was searched by the police. My child has a disability and the principal implied I was lying. They do not follow threw with any promises. In fact the principal humiliated my child and screamed for him to SHUT UP because he wanted to call his mother! They also refused my child a phone call to me. After this happened. Totally disgusting! Silver Sands needs a make over! I wish we could vote for a principal. Mrs Roland would be voted out she's been ruining the lives of children for many years!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

My school is very dedicated to providing an excellent education for all students. We have a special needs child who has been accepted for who he is and is treated with dignity and respect. The goal at Silver Sands is to ensure every student receives a quality education to better prepare them for what lies ahead. Thank you, Silver Sands' teachers and administrators
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2012

Reviews should be allowed that reflect concerns and not screened out because they do not meet your definitiion of a great school. I suggest that Bullying be a major focus on this campus with enhance school oversight.


Posted October 26, 2010

I love this School. I'm an 8th grader now, but switched school this year. I miss it dearly, the teachers were so supportive and very nice.


Posted February 26, 2010

It is not a bad school, just needs some fun activities
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2010

Great school. Great teachers. Only bad thing is they need a renovation. Old lockers. But, very great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2008

I remember going to to Silver Sands for the first day of sixth grade and i was terrified but the teachers there are awesome. Now since i'm in high school i really miss and still have friends that are at silver sands and are coming to high school next year and it is one of the best schools ever i made some really good friends there and some i will have forever. The teachers are magnificent they are the best of the best i really appreciate everything they are doing and hope it is still the best middle school around for years to come (which it will always be)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2008

With only 16 days left of school (07/08) we moved from Hendersonville, NC to Port Orange. We have a handicapped daughter and were scared to death of how our experience to a new school would be especially so late in the school year when teachers, administrators and staff were ready for summer. I was sick to my stomach as any mom would be. From day one of entering the office of Silver Sands Middle School we were met with the most loving and caring staff ever. There were a few glitches as where to put our daughter, B.R. but those got worked out and we felt sooo welcome. You hear horror stories about moving and relocating, but I hope anyone who has to move is welcomed like we were with love and kindness from all at SSMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2008

I am a sixth grader at ssms and so far its been great, except for some common locker situations! I really like the teachers here, especially Ms. Milton! =]
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 9, 2008

I went to Silver Sands 3 years ago, and still can't get over it. It has been best school I've attended. Everything about it, the teachers, students, enviroment...absolutely amazing! I miss it so much! My 2 best friends go there and I so wish I was there with them! :[ Mr. May, Mr. Alligood, Mr. Ross, Mrs. Wedge, Mrs. C. WIlliams are the most awesomest teachers of all time. Mr. May was my reading teacher in 7th grade, and actually made me want to pick up a book. I love Silver Sands and totally wish I was bacckkkkk!! Go Warriors! <3
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 26, 2008

I have been going silver sands middle since 6th Grade. I like this school alot but i have had 1 teacher that i could not understand, but you can find that at any school. My principal was very kind at switching me out of the class i had a problem with. This school also has an amazing Agriculture department!!! The Techer Mr. Norman is the best. They also have animals in AG sutch as pigs, goats, cows, rabbits, chickens, sheep, and ducks!! It's a real hands on experience!!!! i would recomend Silver sands to anyone!!!!!! -------- Go warriors!!!!!! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 7, 2007

This is an excellent school.... My children really love it there. The teachers are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

ssms is a wonderful school!i am a sixth grader and all of the teachers are great.especially ms.pape the drama teacher. -go warriors
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2006

I am a student at SSMS and the school is outstanding. All the students are willing and generous. I have never seen a student be mean to another. This school is just terrific.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2005

Lake Silver is a wonderful school for a family looking for strong academics and great parent involvement in a family friendly environment. I have had two children go all the way through Lake Silver and currently have my third child starting second grade in the fall. Our family has enjoyed the many advantages of having a loving, caring and talented teaching team coupled with a great new principal who is a strong leader. Lake Silver is on the way up! The best thing about Lake Silver is the opportunity it provides our family to learn about diversity while getting a high quality education at the same time. Our children have learned to care about different types of people based on their strong character and not on the color of their skin, or the amount of money in their bank account or whether their bodies work perfectly. Come check it out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

I have had 2 children complete 3 years at this middle school and both have excelled in all areas and the school is a well balanced school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2005

This is a wonderful school with great extracurricular activities. I have been impressed with everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2003

We have had nothing but a positive experience here. I would recommend SSMS to any incoming 6th grader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

An A school all the way!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

356 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

355 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

378 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

377 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

346 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

343 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

345 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

332 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

381 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
80%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 74%
Black 10%
Hispanic 8%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 55%56%61%
Master's degree 43%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 68%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ROSE ROLAND
Fax number
  • (386) 322-7574

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1300 Herbert Street
Port Orange, FL 32129
Website: Click here
Phone: (386) 322-7550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Mt Calvary Academy
Port Orange, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT