Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fox Hollow Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 572 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 12, 2013

this school does have great teachers and great opportunity for the students and always try to keep me informed because they understand that I am a single working mother and have trouble keeping up. I know that there is also a few teacher I feel should just be FIRED but it doesn't always work that way. my only complaint is some of the communication between one another . such as my daughter was sent home with a fever and as we all know a child is not aloud back in for 24 hours after the fever has gone away ok so she ended up being out 3 days and 2 another time because even though the ER gave her crotches she was not aloud to have them at school for a sprained ankle even so ok but when I received a phone call from the social worker wanting me to explain why she was truant it just blew my mind I was little upset but other than that 5 stars . I feel like my children are loved at this school which is the second most important to me next to academic achievement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2012

We are a new family to Fox Hollow and my child is in the fourth grade in their gifted program. My child attended Day Spring Academy which is known for it's high academics. My child got nothing but straight A's all four years and at least two hours of homework every night and double on weekends and the staff and principal were horrible. I can honestly say that at Fox Hollow my chlid is definitly being challenged and the staff and the vice prinical at Fox Hollow are wonderful! They have made the transition so easy and have made us feel so welcomed and my child looks forward to going to school every day. Happy children make for a better furture for our country. I definitly give this school a five star rating. Fox Hollow also has a great Odessy of the Minds team. This school rocks!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2008

Fox Hollow has many wonderful teachers and staff members. No it is not perfect. Although, they do have amazing teachers like Mrs. Shipe, Mr. Lochen, Ms. Jenkins, Ms. Jarvis, Ms. Spears, and Mr. Fry. There are many more teachers that love what they do at this school, these are the teachers that my child has grown to love. They have also earned the respect of my family. I can not comment on the principal because I do not know what she deals with from the school board. Parents need to remember that every thing rolls down hill. She is most likely doing what she is asked to do from the school board. Many people complain to the board and things haven't changed. Maybe it's not Ms. Miller's choice. If the teachers were aloud to rate the parents, would you be on here with five stars?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

Fox hollow is not the worst school ,trust me ,i believe fox hollow is a very good school we the parents sometimes make it a bad school no offence,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

I am not a happy parent who's children attend Fox Hollow. It is not a friendly atmosphere from the administration and some of the teachers DO NOT deserve to be teachers. I am not happy with the introducing of academics instead of teaching them, I have been turned away from getting help for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

i would do anything to pull my kids out of fox hollow. they are unorganized and the principle is not friendly as well as the asst principle, there dismisal is the worse i have ever seen. the worse school i have had to ever deal with.............. very unhappy parent. im speaking for other paents as well
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2008

I volunteer here and the staff and everyone is very friendly. I used to have my daughter at a Montessori school in Holiday so I was worried when she went to a Public school but the teachers and staff are very friendly and kind. There is always some type of activity going on and some type of afterschool get together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

My son has been at this school for 4 years. The pre-k program was phenomenol. He has always had very attentive teachers. This school is gorgeous! Well maintained and nicely situated. There are so many oppurtunites this school offers for parents, I got my GED test paid for in full because of a program at this school. The staff are great:Great teachers and caring faculty. Only one complaint: The principal. That is the only reason there is not a fifth star on my rating. Lisa Miller does not return phonecalls to parents, does not seem truly to care about the students. The schools ratings went down after all the hard work Mrs. Moreno did (who was a fantastic principal!) I just think it is time for a new leader in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2007

My son went to this school last year, and I was very dissatisified with the education that he was recieving. He didn't even get a far shake most of the time...he is special needs, and the teacher or staff didn't even take this into consideration..the communication with the teacher was not good at all, and I would not suggest my child going to this school again in the future or any of my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2007

my daughter, going into fourth grade this year, told me after meet your teacher day that she was actually excited to go to school the first day, what with all the kind, involved, understanding teachers whom love to teach and are good with the discipline situation.thank you very much
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2007

Our son has been at Fox Hollow since Fall of '06 and has had such a hard time. They just seem to be missing that caring, nurturing, going above and beyond atmosphere that kids excel in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2006

My Son went to this school from 2005-2006. My only concern was the front office staff and the principal. They would never return any of my calls concerning my child and the principal would just flat out ignore me and give me run around answers. This school was so much more of a pleasure to work with before the 2005 school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

Fox Hollow lost much of its spirit when the county allowed so many of the instructional and support staff to transfer. The principal who helped turn the school into an A school transferred and that seemed to do the school in. I was not always as involved as I would have liked to have been. The absolute focus should be the children and I don't always feel as though it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

Fox hollow is a great school, my daughter loved it the teachers were great and she could not wait to go..She always had fun and had great grades I hated to move away. It was all about what the kids needed and not just status ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

Over the past year and a half, this school has gone downhill, I have had so much trouble with the school over this time that I finally decided to pull my kids out for the next school year. I have attempted several times to voice my concerns and every time, im either placated, and then nothing comes of it, or im flat out told 'Thats not my concern', by the staff Im talking to. I once considered this school the best of pasco county, and in just over a year, it has dropped down to being one of the worse. One of the saddest issues is that Most of the staff no longer care what goes on anymore, its as if they are just there to collect a paycheck and thats it. Its just no longer a decent place, and its very upsetting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

Expanding greatly, school plays, chorus concerts. Would benefit from more parent involvement.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 15, 2006

My son has been going to this school from K-1 and I am so happy with it. The school is very family geared and my son has learned so much from his teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

This is a truly outstanding school. The gifted program supercedes any academic experience I had ever encountered, very enriching and Mrs. Armstrong is a dynamic teacher. I have been happy with all the staff under the direction of Mrs. Moreno, with her gone it is a new ball game there but I must say, avcademics hav not been compromised for politics. Great job teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2005

Lots and lots available at this school but seems so big sometimes. The Pre-K program is awesome. The staff in Pre-K is incredible.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 19, 2004

Fox Hallow is an excellant school. My daughter has done excellant work since since switching to FH. She loves her teachers. As a parent Fox Hallow has made it a joy to deal with.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

89 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 42%
Hispanic 21% 29%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Black 3% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 68%63%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Lisa Miller
Fax number
  • (727) 774-7691

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8309 Fox Hollow Dr
Port Richey, FL 34668
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 774-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Gulf Coast Christian School
New Port Richey, FL


Dayspring Academy
Port Richey, FL


Schrader Elementary School
New Port Richey, FL


Chasco Elementary School
Port Richey, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT