Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chasco Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 717 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

Chasco middle is the best, I have a 34 yr old, 32 yr old and a 13 yr old who attends Chasco Middle, The school is full of HOPE, LOVE and kindness and that includes the teachers, we have been through many schools..I thak god every day my Douglas is there....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

This is an over all good school. I just wish a couple of the teacher's they have were a little more friendlier with the students, and had more time to work one on one with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

I also wanted to say something about what the others are saying about the school being scary and the teachers being scared. I am 12 and even I know there is only 1 teacher to over 20 kids in a class. the teacher doesn't have 80 sets of eyes!! if kids aren't taught manners at home they aren't going to use manners at school. the mom down there is only being told what her daughter is telling her. how does she know her daughter didn't start it? bullying can go both ways. if she is so worried about her child being bullied she can volunteer and start an anti-bullying group at the school. I know a lot of kids would join. there are tons of kids that get picked on by other kids, some even get picked on by their parents and need someone to talk to. so don't be a part of the problem be a part of the solution (that was to the parent) the school should not get a negative score because of ONE incident. we love our school. 9 out of 10 kids love school and go there to learn not to make friends. your kid should try doing that


Posted August 23, 2013

This is a horrible school. I attended Chasco Middle School for two years and they were the worst. The kids are extremely mean and the staff and the teachers don't care. In 1 of my classes one of the students flipped over a table and some chairs and the teacher just walked out and left us alone with the kid. This is the worst school I have ever gone to.


Posted August 23, 2013

Too much bullying and not enough people to care about it. My child was cursed out in her science class and the teacher didn't even care. His statement was, "Well, you can't control all the kids." So much for a no bullying policy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

The administration is afraid of their own students. That says a lot. Thank the Lord they have a police officer that works there. I think the school and the staff are doing the best they can with the students that go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

Chasco Middle School has been great for my Daughter in her transition from elementary to middle school. She is on a 504 plan and her teachers have responded very well to her and work very well with her father and I to make sure she gets all of the extra help that she needs to succeed in school and in the future. Her 6th grade year was amazing and we are looking for the 7th grade year to kick off and start working hard
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2012

Terrible school!!!...very disappointed!!! This school is not about children's education, is about administration's pay check . Bulling, deplorable language, you will be ignored when complaining. This is a corrupted school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2011

Im a student AT Chasco Middle School .(; (thank goodness) haha . well i like going to chasco alot ! I enjoy going to chasco (: . Its fun too . Well , Byee (; , p.s there are some really wonderful teachers (:


Posted November 8, 2009

I am a 7th grader at chasco and i love it. The gifted program is amazing, Mr. Leavy is an amazing Geography teacher and has a lot of experience. Ms. Kushner is a great advanced academics teacher, and ms. Kleckner is a great band/chorus teacher. I love this school, i would reccomend this school. Corporal Dill is awesome and so are the principals and the entire staff.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2009

This school really cares about the success of the kids. Corporal Dill is truly a great resource officer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

I'm glad Chasco has so much support, but as the aunt of a Chasco student, I'm alarmed by its poor standings in Reading & Math in comparison to comparable Florida schools. (These stats are available elsewhere on this website.) I have no doubt that Chasco's staff is wonderful and the students like it there, but when my niece (a Chasco honor student) came for a long visit this summer, I was stunned at how deficient her education has been. And when I asked the same questions of my younger, non-honor roll nephew who is schooled in New Jersey, he knew all the answers. I'm not impressed with the quality of Chasco's education so far. In this global economy, Chasco students are going to be competing for college placements and/or jobs against the students from many better quality schools. From what I've seen so far, their education doesn't measure up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I love this school. My daughter was already an honor roll student when she started here. As a parent every year am waiting for 'it' to begin...You know when your kid gets bored or decides they don't like school anymore... Well let me tell you. Amanda loves all her teachers. She still makes good grades and enjoys going to school. When she gets home after school she is always smiling of giggling about both her friends and her teachers. They promote an environment where my daughter can be herself and learn and interact with the teachers in s safe and healthy environment. The assistant principal Mr. Di Vincent has been amazing. I have never seen a principal be so involved with the students or care so much about there well being. The last 2 years have been great. I will miss this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2008

I am a 7th grader at Chasco. I think the school is great! Sure there are misbehaving kids there, but there is at every school! I mean, come on parents, just because your son/daughter got into it with a classmate, doesn't give you the right to criticize the teachers. Half the time, they have no clue. And that is not a lack of listning, but a lack of communication on the student's part. I am in the Energizers pod, and for a parent that is reading this and wondering which pod is the best, I strongly reccomend them. They are very deddicated, and I am so happy to have gotten them as my teachers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2007

I love this school i went their the first year i was in 8th i played cheerleading, basketball, and soccer. the teachers were so awesome they always helped me when i needed it. this school gets an A+


Posted August 4, 2007

I have neverseen a more dedicate staff and teachers rate this schol 5
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2007

I have never seen a more dedicated staff of teachers administrators as I see at Chasco Middle School. Not only are students challenged to excel, they are done so in a safe and nurturing environment. It is the best school that my child has attended and for anyone to say anything else is absurd. Parents are welcomed and encouraged to be a part of their child's education, and the teachers are genuinely concerned about their students. The academic programs offered span all levels and meet all student learning needs; art, music, and sports are available to all students, as are extracurricular activities. I am very pleased with the quality of my daughter's education at Chasco Middle School, and feel very comfortable and confident in the school's ability to challenge her and meet her needs. She is in no danger, and knows that she is safe and secure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2007

I think this school is a rough school for the most part. I just think they need to give the children consequences more and stop letting everything slide!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2005

Chasco Middle has been a great disappointment. My child has been so bored she often doesn't want to go to school. She has one excellent English teacher whom actually cares about the students. The others I'm afraid just want a paycheck. So much misbehavior goes on right under their noses. I know it is a hard job but it is their chosen career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2005

Well I will start off by saying that when our son was going to chasco he was a great student with awhsome grades.We moved and our son had to go to river ridge.My son now is back in chasco and I must say he loves it the teachers are great and so is the staff they work with the parent when it comes to the child and for that I say chasco is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

221 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

220 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

236 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

234 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

233 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

229 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

231 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
32%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

228 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

245 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 66%
Hispanic 22%
Black 6%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 8%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 56%63%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. DAVID W HUYCK
Fax number
  • (727) 774-1391

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7702 Ridge Road
Port Richey, FL 34668
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 774-1300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Baycare Behavioral Health
New Port Richey, FL


New Covenant Christian School
New Port Richey, FL


Mandala Treatment Center
New Port Richey, FL



Genesis Preparatory School
New Port Richey, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT