Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

James W. Mitchell High School

Public | 9-12 | 1809 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2014

The school is horiabbly over crowded and keep getting more crowded from all the new houses being built. There's as much as 35 students in a class and makes it hard for the student to get 1 on 1 help from the teacher. The school has outdated technology. Also the school was not designed to have a lot of students so traffic and hallways are hard yo get through.


Posted January 14, 2014

Mitchell is an excellent school. Two of my children have graduated from JWMHS and two more are soon to follow. My two oldest daughters are in college and have received honors scholarships from Florida State as well as Bright Futures and a few other miscellaneous scholarships. I believe this is directly due to the excellent education they have received at Mitchell. The Trinity area is a wonderful place to live and the public schools are unrivaled. I have read some bad reviews dating back seven years or more which I find hard to believe. I could not have chosen a better community to raise and educate my children. My children have all flourished in this environment. They love their school and are involved in sports and social activities. I truly believe that Mitchell is the best preparation for a successful college education and beyond. GO MUSTANGS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2013

Great quality educators, parent involvement, curriculum and school layout. Great team spirit~ They want your child to be a success as long as your child strives for it as well. Fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2012

is the perfect school if your child isn't a trouble maker then the school wont end up as a bad school
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 16, 2011

All three of my kids have gone through this high school. The last one will be a senior in 2011-12. The oldest attended UCF and now works as an engineer for a very successful company. The second one is completing his engineering degree at USF. All three have received a superior education to the private school they were in previously. The best investment I could have asked for in my kids was supporting this school and its faculty. GO MUSTANGS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2011

JW Mitchell is now an "A" school. I am the parent of two students at this school. One graduated in 2009 & is now thriving at UF and one is currently a junior at Mitchell. I could not be happier with the education & quality of teachers here. Both my students have been in the honors & AP classes, and if possible, I'd say this is the route to take. Teachers have been caring, attentive and always answer my emails when I have a question. Mr. Michaels started as principal back in 2009 and he's done a great job so far. In addition, the school population is smaller & no longer overpopulated now that Anclote has opened.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

I have a teenager at J.W. Mitchell, and I find it very difficult to reach some of the teachers. Many of the teachers will respond in a timely fashion to an email or a phone call, but it is the teachers that there are problems with that can never be reached. I have even experienced this with the principal, assistant principal and counselors. It is difficult to follow progress of your child when you can not reach the sources. I have tried to contact the school board and was passed from person to person, and event the school board didn't respond to me in a timely fashion. I am very disappointed, since I try to be an involved parent, but find only closed doors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

I'm a parent of a J.W. Mitchell HS student. I moved into this area specifically for her to attend the elementary, middle and high schools. I agree that last year it was over-populated, however, with Anclote opening, that has brought the student count down, and also reduced many problems. Yes, some teachers do go there for just a paycheck, but then again - I don't think teachers are paid enough to begin with. Education is something that parents need to be involved with. Whenever I've had a problem, I have always been able to email, call or meet with a teacher with no problem. Keep in mind.......there's a NEW principal and I TRULY believe he WILL make a difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

I pulled my child out of J.W. Mitchell after 2 years. There appears to be some gang activity and other criminal elements. I had the feeling my son was just going through a big diploma machine rather than getting a quality education. The majority of teachers seemed to be not motivated at all and a couple didn't even know the students names. The school is over-populated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

I'm a former student of J.W. Mitchell High School. I graduated in 2008 and I cannot say enough about this excellent institution. I've read several reviews by parents on this website and do agree that the former principal wasn't fond of speaking to parents however, everyday I would seen him in the halls of the school available to students. The administrative staff is fabulous they we're always able to help me w/ whatever issues I threw @ them. This school is preparing students for a future in our community. They do an excellent job of helping students with their education and preparing them for the workforce. This school has managed to keep a high overall rating. Mitchell is a very neat&clean school with a better group of students attending with its location in Trinity. I'm so glad I attended JWMHS. I will always consider myself a Mustang.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2009

the school rules are strict and the other students break the rules because they are too strict.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2008

The overall lack of communication from the administration is the biggest frustration. The fact that a parent can contact the guidance office for advice about the student and get no response is a huge disappointment. I am hoping to move my child to a better enviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2007

I think the school is really good,the Navy ROTC program is excellent,but I must say the school is over crowded.The cafeteria is too small for the amount of students and now, they dont allow the students to eat their lunches outside.The principal is 'MIA' I have see him only once and it was at my daughters graduation ceremony,doesnt look too friendly.Some teachers are excellent, but there are others that get defensive when asked about a students progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2007

My son graduated from this school. Many of the teachers are great but there are some that hold FL students to NY standards, for example, because that is where they previously taught. A Sr. is not able to change his study habits at that part of the game. For the most part, the teachers are great. They have a 'NO HANDS ON' policy, which means that if you child gets hit, he/she is not allowed to hit back without getting suspended. This is the DUMBEST rule of the school. There is no PTA so parent involement is almost non-existent. The principal and teacher rule and then there is a Disciplinary Committee whose hands are tied because they have to follow the principals ordrers. Overall for the four years my son was there, he had a good high school experience with a few quirks along the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

I have a child currently enrolled in this school and I don not feel comfortable letting my child attend there she is not learning well and it is to over crowded
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 21, 2006

I have a son at Mitchell and a daughter at Seven Springs Middle School. The difference between the schools is like night and day. The principal at Mitchell is a hands off administrator. The teachers at Mitchell seem to care about the education of the kids and are eager to help out in any way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2006

I am a student at this school and it is a very low class school. I do not recomend it to anyone looking for a good school for their children. Same with the middle school. There is not enough room at lunch, even though it is split into three lunches, kids still have to sit on the floor. So many kids skip classes and the rules are really bad guidelines. Ive been to many other schools and this is the worst of them all. The education is very far behind and the sports as well are not good. A few teachers are good, but I still do not recomentd it. No kids are really involved in the school and neither are parents. It isnt safe, people get in fights non stop and people are so rude. Dont send your child to this school, please. Nicole
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2006

The principal's leadership is very poor and he is always 'away from campus at this time' or on vacation. There are many great, wonderful teachers, a few bad ones. The sports programs are a little off, giving most, if not all, the sports money to football, cheerleading, and volleyball. It was an exceptional school until last year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2006

The Navy ROTC Program is the best in the county. There health and clinic services are excellent.The staff is slow in returning phone calls. The principal is not a student friendly person. He is not involved with the students. That what he has his 'people' do. He does not return parent phone calls promptly. He is quick to become defensive when a parent involves district superintendents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2006

Good school. The teachers mostly care about student sucess.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

453 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

403 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

404 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

443 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

302 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
67%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

456 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
73%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

453 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
75%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

357 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 80%
Hispanic 10%
Asian 3%
Black 3%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 83%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 57%63%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JAMES W MICHAELS
Fax number
  • (727) 774-9291

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2323 Little Road
Port Richey, FL 34655
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 774-9200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Solid Rock Virtual School
Tarpon Springs, FL


Solid Rock Community School
Tarpon Springs, FL



Elfers Christian School
New Port Richey, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT