Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Longleaf Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 644 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

67 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2010

Longleaf accentuates the positive. The outstanding administration and staff work hard to make sure that each child reaches their potential. Positivity is their focus!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Longleaf staff continue to focus on every childs' individual needs. What a wonderful caring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Longleaf Elementary has a wonderful learning environment for all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

My kids enjoy going to school and learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Positive environment. The love for children is evident throughout the day. Faculty and Staff are the cream of the crop.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Wonderful school with caring teachers and amazing volunteer participation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

the teaching staff is great the are really dedicated to there students and do lots of educational fun things for the children my children have got a great education and made great freinds since being in longleaf
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Why wouldn't I ?? The staff (not just the teachers but ALL the staff-from the cafeteria,maintenance,guidance,front office etc) rock. Each and every one of them care about their students and work at making parent involvement a pleasure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

My grandchildren are well educated and I feel they are very safe at Longleaf Elementary. The staff have a real love for what they do and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

We love Long Leaf because you feel like you are part of a family who cares about the education of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The opportunity for our children to learn and grow in different ways at Longleaf are incredible. Over the past 2 weeks we've attended an after hours Art Show and just tonight attended a Space and Science show! Wow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The teachers and staff go the extra mile to make sure that each child gets a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Longleaf's already a 5 Star School!!! Really!! The administration, teachers, staff and parents all put the child and his/her education above all else. I've never seen a school staff give so much of themselves in providing a quality education for their students. No wonder they rate at the top of the district each year in test scores.The school promotes caring, sharing, respectfulness and kindness everyday. It's like being part of a great big family. With a school population of approximately 1000 and 606 approved volunteers, they must be doing something right!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

just an overall great school. every teacher that we have met so far is very friendly, caring and willing to go beyond...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

In these difficult times, I see some of the highest morale in the staff working at this school.


Posted April 24, 2010

Longleaf Elementary is the neighborhood school - the school sponsors and participates in many programs to benefit the school and the community. The neighborhood children rave about the school and are really obtaining a first class education here in Florida! Education and community involvement matters most today!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2010

I'm not sure what the parent is talking about with organized sports. I believe that is what after school sports are for. My child loves PE and has learned many sports at Longleaf including: volleyball, football, soccer, basketball, kickball, and golf. He loves mileage club and all the other cooperative activities. Keep up the good work PE teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2010

Wow! I am very surprised at the Oct. 21 post. I am a PE teacher at Longleaf. We have a very well rounded PE program. We introduce many sports (following along with the sport that is being played at the middle school level) as well as cooperative games. We participate in PPK, Hoop shoot, a yearly track meet, hula hoop and jumprope challenge, mileage club, main street mile, water safety and more. We have a blast!! Come visit any time!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

I am surprised at reading the other reviews. Yes everyone is nice and sweet. But I find the staff disorganized and lacking a clear plan. Perhaps it is lack of communication skills. I also find the school rules arbitrary. We are disappointed that there is no organized sports program to get the kids active at a young age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

We love Longleaf Elementary school because it is such a welcoming atmosphere for parents and students. The principals and teachers care genuinely for the students, whether they have learning disabilities or not, they are all treated the same. Love It!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

119 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 86%
Hispanic 8%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%63%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3253 Town Avenue
Port Richey, FL 34655
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 774-0800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Trinity Elementary School
New Port Richey, FL




Genesis School
New Port Richey, FL



Deer Park Elementary School
New Port Richey, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT