Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Port St. Lucie, FL

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. James Kids Academy 5

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
Teachers and Administration really care about the students. This school thinks creatively and tries to help all their students. They have a high academic and behavioral standard. The heart of this school is centered around Christ and the best for each student. It is a place of joy and peace.

St. James Kids Academy 5

Posted November 20, 2013
- a parent
My child began third grade this year at St. James Christian Academy in PSL. I could not be more pleased with his progress. After having spent the previous 3 years in public school in PSL and struggling to learn FCAT skills, he is finally making very good grades and has confidence in himself I never saw in public school. This school has done wonders for his self esteem. He actually wants to do extra work in order to improve his grades even more. If your child is ADD or has a learning disability, then you should definitely check out St. James. Your child will follow the same curriculum as students without disabilities, but accommodations will be made to help your child succeed.


St. James Kids Academy 1

Posted July 23, 2013
- a parent
I find it interesting to read that another parent experienced her child being written up in one day. My child was written up three times in a week for what should have been normal child-like behavior that needed discipline, but not referals! Interesting enough the administration told me that their system is too structured and they do not meet the needs of students who need to be excelled or challanged. They do not offer anything but what is in their curriculum binder for the whole class -- all the same. Public school are not allowed to do that. They do not differentiate for any students and because their teachers are not certified they do not know how to deal with children and their normal behaviors. They are looking for students who are on scholarships from the state. This is what I call a "pop-up" private school looking to make a quick buck from state money. So sad!

St. James Kids Academy 1

Posted March 06, 2013
- a parent
I had children and friends who sent their children to this school. We all were greatly disappointed. There are no state certified teachers, they made a complete mess of their high school transcripts. After the transcripts were viewed by another school district, the student was taking many classes, that should not have been. Their accreditation is with Accrediting Commission International as known as ICA. (Please do your research about ACI/ICA accreditation). There accreditation AGENCY is not recognized by Florida Department of Education, Department of Higher Education, and the Council of Higher Education. There are Christian Accreditation agency that have vigorous standards and are recognized by the Florida Department of Education. Please make sure that your child is getting an accredited education that is recognized by Florida Department of Education. It is best to locate private high schools that have accreditation that is recognized by the state, or regional or national to ensure that your high school students credits are acceptable to enter into college.

St. James Kids Academy 1

Posted July 25, 2012
- a parent
My child start this school about 3 months ago. I had no problems until one day the school called my work around 3pm to let me know that my 3 year old was no longer welcome to there school. Due to being written up 3 times today. I feel its very unfair. My child had no problems prior to this day. When I picked up my child and ask to speak to the Pastor she was to busy and I would have to make an appt to speak to her . Very sad but would never tell anyone about this school again. Very unhappy


St. James Kids Academy 5

Posted May 27, 2012
- a parent
Both of our children attended Saint James Christian Academy this year and were pleased with what they had to offer. The use an accredited academic platform and have a very caring staff. They are growing in enrollment and are adding positions as needed. From a Christian school standpoint I believe they offer just the right amount of religious teaching and more-so a healthy environment for the children. If your children excelled beyond their level as ours did, they encourage their advancement through the curriculum with parental knowledge & approval. They are looking into purchasing a larger facility, however they make good use of the one they have. If you want a huge public school and all of the nonsense you get in the St Lucie School District then you have many to choose from, but if a safe, caring wholesome, healthy environment with a Christian flair, this school is well worth the investment - and peace of mind as parents.

St. James Kids Academy 5

Posted March 24, 2012
- a parent
This school is excellent. It differs a lot from other schools. The teachers and the principal are very helpful and understanding. They offer a solid Christian education. The curriculum A Beka is a very good curriculum. I am very pleased with this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. James Kids Academy
6501 St James Drive, Port St. Lucie, FL  34983
(772) 878-1129
Last modified St. James Kids Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
St. James Kids Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 7 reviews. Top