Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public
Port St. Lucie, FL

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Lucie West K-8 School 5

Posted May 03, 2014
- a teacher
2013-2014 brought SLW K-8 the best principal in the county! Students, parents, teachers and staff are smiling once again.

St. Lucie West K-8 School 5

Posted March 15, 2014
- a parent
St. Lucie West K-8 is awesome! It is the best that I have seen of all of the Elementary schools in the county. My daughter transferred from a charter school that had major issues with indiscipline and a teacher from hell. Soon after transferring to St Lucie West K-8, her new teacher recognized her academic abilities and sent her to an advance reading class.....She is also student of the month and is happy to have a teacher who actually cares about children....No more beatings and kicks from other kids.....and a chance to focus on learning in an environment conducive to learning.


St. Lucie West K-8 School 5

Posted October 05, 2010
- a community member
i think wast gate k-8 is the best school in the area. ive never seen a better school. the principal is terrific. ha goes into the classrooms and interacts with the kids. and the teacher! they like to keep the students happy. they teach and give assignments but they have fun too!

St. Lucie West K-8 School 2

Posted October 01, 2010
- a parent
The staff needs some training on how to be more professional. I would understand someone had a bad day but EVERYONE the same day and not just one day multiple times. Also what is the point on checking ID if they don't even look at the picture

St. Lucie West K-8 School 2

Posted August 26, 2010
- a parent
So disappointed. Gives the outward appearance of greatness, not a lot of substance, especially for elementary kids. No clubs or interesting resource classes. The administration is unfriendly to parents and my kids never even saw the principal/vp all year long. Beware if your child is special needs- find somewhere else to go!


St. Lucie West K-8 School 4

Posted June 03, 2010
- a parent
My children are new to the school and I can't say that it's a bad school nor can I say that it's great. They have some excellent teachers and staff but some of the policies need some work. For example the dress code is enforced depending on staff's feeling and not across the board. Get a grip. Giving lunch detentions for not wearing a belt? While other things are permitted. Also some of the office staff don't know the meaning of being professional. Try setting the example. I guess you can't have a perfect school.

St. Lucie West K-8 School 5

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
This school is the best. The teachers are great. And I love that my child will get to be here for middle school and we dont have to worry about finding another great school. I have no complaints.

St. Lucie West K-8 School 5

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
This school is awesome! The teachers and administrative staff are all kind and caring. My child loves SLW and is thriving, which is all any parent could ask for!


St. Lucie West K-8 School 5

Posted June 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

St. Lucie West K-8 School 4

Posted May 28, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Lucie West K-8 School
1501 SW Cashmere Blvd, Port St. Lucie, FL  34986
(772) 785-6630
Last modified St. Lucie West K-8 School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
St. Lucie West K-8 School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top