Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Barnabas Christian Academy 5

Posted September 26, 2014
- a teacher
It would be na ve of me to say that bullying does not happen at BCA. It happens at all schools and anywhere young people are gathered. Why? Because all of us in our hearts are bent towards doing what is wrong. There is no cure for bullying apart from the work of Jesus Christ in the heart of a young person, first for salvation and secondly for living in a way that is pleasing to God and productive for society. In I John 1:7 the Bible says, If we walk in the light as He(God) is in the light, we have fellowship one with another and the blood of Jesus Christ His Son cleanses us from all sin. That is one of the reasons BCA exists: to train young people to live in the light of Christ and avoid the darkness of the world around us. That being said, the staff and administration of BCA does not tolerate bullying. It is monitored carefully and dealt with appropriately. If you are someone that is looking at the school as an option for your children please know that your children will be cared for, prayed for, and that we will assist you as you strive to train them to walk in the light of Christ.

Barnabas Christian Academy 5

Posted September 01, 2014
- a parent
This school has very good organization and the teachers are respectful to the students. Encouraging learning environment . Abeka program is used.


Barnabas Christian Academy 5

Posted May 13, 2014
- a student
Our family is blessed with Barnabas Christian Academy's educational enrichment and embracement by caring teachers, staff and administration who are devoted to student's learning. BCA's strong Christian values and student commitment prepares students for college and community leadership. Thank you to everyone at BCA for providing this excellent educational program for our child!

Barnabas Christian Academy 1

Posted May 11, 2014
- a parent
This is not a good school. They turn a blind eye to bullying and even silently condone it if they personally don't care for the student. They want to pretend that it is a great school and that all of the students get along and care for one another, but that's not the case. Some of the teachers are as bad if not worse than the meanest bullies. All children should be treated fairly and should not dread going to school. They also have one approach to teaching and have no interest in adapting or modifying their approach if a student can't catch on or is falling behind. Nothing is ever their fault but they are more than willing to tell you and anyone else that will listen all of your child's failures and shortcomings.

Barnabas Christian Academy 5

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
To the comment about bullying. I have never seen or heard a teacher or a student bullying or being bullied. If that were the case my special need daughter and my son, for that matter, would not be attending. If anyone is worried about teasing or bullying that would be me. My daughter has a physically visible disability. I know exactly what it means to see you child being stared at, laughed at, called names and much more. The reality is that everywhere she goes she is at risk to be bullied by people who are cruel and unloving, scared at looking at something they do not understand. However, it is my job to teach her that she is not defined by people or their comments. She is only defined by God and herself. She will always have to deal with that because I cannot educate the entire world.


Barnabas Christian Academy 5

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
A wonderful school that I would recommend to anyone looking for an above standard Christian education. Teacher communication was excellent. If an issue arose during the day I would get an e-mail, call or text that day. It was encouraging to know the teachers were so involved with the students and families.

Barnabas Christian Academy 1

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
Not a good school. I don't know which is worse, the bullying by the students or the total and complete denial of the teachers. Perhaps the teachers think that bullying is a right of passage or perhaps if they don't like the student either, they condone the bullying by ignoring it. Either way, they should be the adults and they should protect every student and provide a safe learning environment. They have a high and mighty attitude and you can not reason with them. Once they make up their mind - forget it! They need to practice what they preach! You know, do unto others...

Barnabas Christian Academy 5

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
My school is Barnabas Christian Academy. My family has been involved with Barnabas for many years. I have recommended the school to friends and family. The staff is loving, giving and kind. They are like a city on a hill shining forth God's grace & mercy. They have a strong academic program that is taught by their well-qualified teachers.


Barnabas Christian Academy 1

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
This school is very rigid and archaic in their approach to everything - dress code, discipline, home work, bullying, parent involvement, etc... They have preconceived ideas and are very resistant to accepting any point of view or opinion that contradicts their own ideals. They talk the talk, but don't walk the walk when it comes to treating one another with kindness and respect. The teachers do not lead by example. They could all use some professional development in the areas of behavior management, bullying, positive reinforcement and diversity. It could be a good school if they would open their eyes and deal with issues instead of burying their heads in the sand and pretending no problems exist.

Barnabas Christian Academy 5

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
Looking for a great christian school where the teachers and staff are loving and respecting and where your child will learn and grow up to be a roll model for his or her children and society? Then this is the school for you. My child has been with the school for the past 8 years and i am very thankful for the teachings at Barnabas Christian Academy .

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Barnabas Christian Academy
1120 Southwest Paar Drive, Port St. Lucie, FL  34953
(772) 344-1643
Last modified Barnabas Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Barnabas Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top