Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fau/Slcsd Palm Pointe Educational Research School @ Tradition

Charter | PK-8 | 1400 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

67 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2009

This school received an 'A' grade in it's first year of opening last year! I'm sure it is on the same track this year! I am very proud to have my children attend this school. The teachers and staff are WONDERFUL! They care about their students as well as the student's family and do a great job of making each child feel important and motivate them to do their best! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

I love working here the enviorment and people are amazing. I could not have asked for a better place to work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

I love all the teachers and staff. The teaching process is amazing. My daughter was in kindergarten last year and entered the school 13 weeks late, as I home schooled her until she was accepted here. She was so behind and I was very concerned but the dedication and patience that her teacher demonstrated was amazing. She is now in first grade reading and excelling wonderfully. I Honestly believe it was her teachers dedication that helped her succeed. Principal Snyder is amazing with all of the kids as well. She is very involved and just truly caring towards all of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

I love all the programs the kids are involved in and their way of teaching
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

I love the new research they are trying with the kids. It adds for a fun and new way of learning. My son is in kindergarten and wants to school everyday. He absolutely loves it. I wouldn't want him anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

I love this school,teachers,staff,principal,all together make a good team
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

This is my son's first year in grade school. He started kindergarten and I could not be more please with this school as and entire entity. His teacher is amazing. The principal is incredible. There is such a sense of family and teamwork there that it is almost palpable. I love that the students wear uniforms so that more is focused on education instead of fashion. Teachers work very closely with parent's to ensure that each child is getting the best education possible. It is an amzing place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

The staff always seems to go above and beyond the normal. I'm sure it's because they are teaching ROCKETS and trying there best to help them reach the Stars
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

The teachers are very well equipped to work with all types of students. Great administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

Th school have interesting ways of learning, the teachers are highly educated & the activities for kids are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

this is my son's first year at this school, and I can tell you just by his happy smiling face every school day tells me a lot, my son is Autistic and that is huge..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

This is my daughter's first time in a public school . Changing from private to public and going into middle school is alot of change. FAU in tradition has been a great experince for our family. Thanks Palm Pointe keep up the good work..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

My kids are excited everyday to go to school! They love working on the computers and being part of a brand new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

Fau Tradition School offers a safe learning environment wih advanced technology. The teachers are really concerned for the academic advancement of the children as well their welfare. School encourages parents envolvement. Saff is responsive and informed. This is great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

I love Palm Pointe. This is our first year here and my son loves it. The teachers are excellent and my son is learning so much. Everyone there is so helpful. We are very happy there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

It is a great school for kids to learn, teachers are dedicated and professional. They dedicate to education and finding better way to teach to help our children learn. We love our school its # 1
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

The fact that my children are excited and enthusiastic every school day says everything about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

One of the best schools in Port St Lucie. If your one of the lucky one that gets your kid/kids excepted into this school, don't think twice go for it! I wish this school was a K-12.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

The teachers are very involved with the students and the administration is very responsive to the parents. I am very pleased with the curriculum and how much the students are learning. They help the parents by hosting parenting seminars, curriculum night, math night, etc. Guidance counselors help the students determine how they learn best and help them develop good study habits. I volunteer at the school, and the students I am in contact with are very enthusiastic and motivated. Thank you Ms. Snyder and your dedicated staff.


Posted October 15, 2009

I love the teacher involvement multiple lines of communication frequently used (email, telephone, written). I love the energy and excitement of all staff and enjoy my childrens' enthusiasm toward learning and being a Palm Pointe Rocket
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

174 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

174 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

176 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

176 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

161 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

161 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

161 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

155 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

166 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
92%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 43%
Hispanic 31%
Black 20%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 51%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Female 49%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%52%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. DEBORAH SNYDER
Fax number
  • (772) 345-3244

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10680 Southwest Academic Way
Port St. Lucie, FL 34987
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 345-3245

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Holy Seed Christian Academy
Port St. Lucie, FL


Manatee Academy K-8
Port St. Lucie, FL


Oak Hammock K-8 School
Port St. Lucie, FL


St. Lucie West K-8 School
Port St. Lucie, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT