Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Floresta Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 621 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

Floresta Elementry School, Great school, excellent teachers and staff. My son is in 1st grade and loves school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

I love the staff at this school... Everyone is extremely helpful and understanding! My daughter seems to enjoy herself and is learning a lot!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2012

AWESOME school... I was new to the area and heard great things about Floresta. I had a neighbor who had her kids in Mariposa and visited there one day during lunch. It was total chaos and the kids were all screaming and running around. No control! Floresta is strict with their kids but my twins absolutely LOVE it here! I highly recommend this school and the teachers! They truly care and are very involved with each individual child. What progress my kids made this year, we are amazed and tell everyone that has the choice to send your kids here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2011

GREAT SCHOOL, I love my child's teacher and the staff, they really do a great job! However I feel that as a Dad I'm not treated as nicely as the Mothers are, I've seen Mothers do the exact same thing as me and no questions were asked of them, but if I do it, I get the third degree. There are few men on staff and few men picking up there children, so when I go to pick him up I'm treated like I'm out of place and it is not appreciated. The new principle (which served there before almost 14 years) seems to be doing a great job! Again, I REALLY like the school and it is the only public school in this district that I would allow my child to go to. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2011

My kid been there for almost 6 years its a average school to me,to my kid its a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2009

My Children attended Floresta for 3 years. I wish that they had been at Floresta from K-5th. Great teachers, and staff. They really want to see your children's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2009

The administration and teachers are very involved in all aspects of learning and developmental growth. I was considering private school for my son and I have now decided to wait until middle school to start private school. I am very happy with the quality of education at Floresta.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

We are a school that is on the rise. Our students are engaged from day 1 to the last day of school. We live the philosophy every child, everyday and we make a difference in a child's life.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 27, 2008

NRT scores and FCAT writing scores were good. This is a nice small town school that engages students at all levels. Teachers and administration work well together and students are very hard working.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 14, 2008

This is my sons first year at Floresta. He had a rough start, but now he really seems to enjoy it. The teachers and adminisration are very caring and the PTO seems very active. The change in principals certainly does not seem to have affected the quality of learning taking place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2007

As former princpal of Floresta, I am excited about all that I see and hear about the quality of the education provided by the teachers at Floresta. Mrs Wright has really done an exceptional job of hiring and leading. Kudos to the entire staff for the wonderful work they are doing and to the parents who have always given so generously to this school. Floresta will always have a special place in my heart as a school that really cares.


Posted November 28, 2007

Floresta is a school on the rise. Administration has remained strong through turnovers. Curriculm is strong and supported by resource, ESE, and guidance teachers. Positive Behavior Support behavior plan has decreased all incidents of disruptive elements to the learning environment. Students are engaged learners, curious and eager. Drama, chorus, after school enrichment programs and reading incentive programs all contribute to student success.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 22, 2007

Good teachers, bad district. Parents are very much involved with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2007

My son attended Floresta since Kindergarten. Now he's in 5th. Great school. We wish it would go to 8th grade. My son loves the school and he has really done well and learned. Very good safty measures. Parent envolvement good. Teachers really good and very interesreted in your child learning. Also very dedicated to students and school. Very Cooperative with us parents in resolving any issues when needed. Mrs.Junita Wright as a Principal and as a Person, wonderful. To bad she and her staff can not be cloned. We need more Principals, Vice Principals and Teachers like the ones at Floresta at all the other schools around the world. I feel very comfortable that my son is attending Floresta. Thanks you floresta for all your effort and what you have given and done with my son. Keep Up The Good Job. Thanks, Mrs. M. Ochoa
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

My daughter loves this school. All of the teachers and staff are great. We have had nothing but great experiences at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

I have had nothing but trouble with this school. In four years... two awful teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

This year my son went through 4 teachers and 3 subs before winter break. This disruption has negatively affected the children in his class as well as my son. They were behind and not being taught anything. The new teacher they finally got was not properly trained in Floresta's way of doing things and caused even more disruption of changing things or not listening to the kids, they have a routine. I never had problems in this school until this year. I feel this year my son has not been learning and excelling as he did last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2005

Floresta has been a great school. My son has thrived. Had some problems with a couple of teachers but in general the experience has been good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

Floresta is a good school. Most teachers at Floresta are very good. The Office staff is a great help, and a special thanks goes out to the school nurse. Overall the school is good and the teachers do care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2005

Despite Floresta's A rating for 2004, I feel the school has slipped. My son's teacher rarely sends home graded papers and while he's always excelled at reading, his teacher never reviewed where he was at last year and as a result, we've had to make sure he was improving at home, because the school wasn't challenging him. Also, they send home a Sunshine math page to be completed that we help him with at home. It's geared to a higher grade level. Very few of the math problems are being taught in his 2nd grade class. Homework should be reinforcement of what is taught in school. There are zero opportunities for extracurricular activities unless your child is in the higher grades. Overall, I'm disappointed and am looking to possibly putting him into private school if it doesn't improve next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

103 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 42%
Hispanic 30% 29%
Black 15% 23%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 80%65%61%
Master's degree 20%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1501 SE Floresta Dr
Port St. Lucie, FL 34983
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 340-4755

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Morningside Academy
Port St. Lucie, FL


Bayshore Elementary School
Port St. Lucie, FL




Northport K-8 School
Port St. Lucie, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT