Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northport K-8 School

Public | K-8 | 1196 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

I have been a volunteer at Northport K-8 for almost 5 years now. I can think of a better school to spend my free time at, when it comes to assisting the students and staff in their busy day. You are made to feel wanted and needed.


Posted August 3, 2013

So I go to this school currently and all you have to do to be successful in this school is to do your work and pay attention. Teachers are not the best, but that really depends on the team you're on. (Starfish team is the best in my opinion.) If you haven't heard of the situation of an accused teacher sending several 8th graders to beat up a 7th grader, I highly suggest searching it before you enroll your own child. Just be a good kid that listens and try's their best and you'll be fine. You have to also be a little tough because the students are much worse than the teachers. I would not personally enroll my future children in this school.


Posted April 22, 2013

Good luck getting people at this school to call you back.... Never leave a message, you will not get a return call....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2013

I had read the bad reviews of this school but I figured it was just a bunch of angry people so I took a chance on the low rent in PSL and enrolled my kids here. We could not get out fast enough. While my 6th grader got along fine I had a special needs 8th grader and he was tormented at this school! Thug kids would bully him until the point he would act out and then he would be the one in trouble. The staff would never take into account his disability. Luckily I was able to move south to a 9 rated High School south of PSL and everything has been fine for 2 years now. These ratings this sight puts out will make all the difference for your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

My daughter has attended this school for 2 years now. She has done awesome at this school. She has gotten the best grades that she has ever gotten. The teachers help her anytime she needs help. She has been on the honor roll every nine weeks. The principal is so very helpful and nice. I give this school a 10. I really think that the strict dress code is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

I MYSELF ATTENDED THIS SCHOOL AND I HAD THE WORST EXPERIENCE AT THIS SCHOOL. I USED TO DO THE READING PROGRAM (READ180) WITH DR.STEIN. THAT PROGRAM MADE ME FEEL AS THOUGH IM NOT CAPABLE OF DOING WORK AT MY AGE LEVEL! COMPLETELY INSULTING! IM GLAD I DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL ANYMORE! BURRRRRRRRRRRRRRRNNNNNNNNNNN! :D


Posted October 3, 2012

I have had only good experiences with this school and reccomend it! My son transfered from private to public in fouth grade and has not only been challenged academically but has done well in the process. The teachers and principal do care and know him by name. Our family have enjoyed the activities and programs put on by the teachers and school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2011

This school is aweful. My son attended for 7th grade. He was put on the Northstars so called college prep team. He has been a straight a student til this school. Some of the teachers seemed like they were not on this planet. He didnt learn much at all. papers weren't graded. The principal was almost impossible to get ahold of. We moved for this year to start a new school and I can't even get his records. I am told they do not have access to them. This school was the worst school I have ever seen and I am glad he will not be attending this place ever again and that my daughter will not be going there either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

Like any school there are great teachers and then those who show up. My child was on the Clownfish team for two years and these teachers helped and educated my child. The Clownfish teacher showed a genuine interest and want all the childern to be successful. Thank you Ms. Dehart, Mrs. Mann, Mrs. Smith and Mr. Burdge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

The Special Education Department in this school lacks knowledge in every aspect that its insulting. They do not know how to do evaluations on time and I will say they do not have any empathy for any of the special needs students. Those parents who have children with special needs please beware and RUN RUN RUN AS FAR AWAY AS POSSIBLE! <--- Can not emphasize that enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2011

This school is a terrible school, it has teachers who curse at students. They also call the students stupid and pathetic. They do not teach the students very well as well. This is the worst school that my children have ever been to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

Northport was the best school I've ever been too. The teachers are so helpful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 6, 2008

I started my childern here when the K-8 started. I just knew it would get better. I held in there. I ask for help on every level . There are teachers thier that really want to see the childern advance. There are others who are just therer for a job or so it seems. My childern suffered more than words could say in thier time there. I have moved them to another school this coming year of 08-09. I pray this will be a positive expereience for all. This is my last attempt before just homeschooling them. One positive note is the parents I meet there have been wonderful friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

My son just graduated 8th grade at Northport and the relief felt by my child and our family is enormous! That school is lacking a professional standard. Phone calls are not returned by guidance, tem leaders or principles. They lack consitency. One star of teaching here or there should not be the exception, it should be the rule. There is a negative, punitive, and immature affect in many of the teachers. There is little praise and much critizism. They need to re-evaluate what there mission is. Childrens' young egos can suffer much, as they are still in their formative years, in an environment that is oppresive, uncaring, and unfair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2008

This is the first yearmy daughter attended this school. She is in 6th grade. I think that most of the teachers need a psych evaluation. The principal hides in his office and wouldn't even come out to discuss a complaint I had. The so called Teachers are negative and never give any positive rienforcement. I can not wait to get my child out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2007

I've been attending northport k-8 for 2 years now and i think its a fairly good school. They are very strict with there discipline, but they have every reason to be.. I mean if they have rules why not inforce them? But the teachers are either too hard on the students or too easy.. I only have two teachers that actually know how to teach.. The rest of them are only there to collect there paycheck & arent worried about the students at all. As for the students behavior.. Well it is not uncommon to see a fight once in a while.. But I have enjoyed the last two years that I have been at this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2007

Northport is now a k-8 and the Administration, teachers and staff have done an outstanding job with the transition. I am a very active parent at the school and have 3 children there (K, 3rd, 7th)so I have a balance view of the school. Top quality admin. and teachers from k to 8. Very active dedicated PTO and lots of volunteers. Strict school but focuses on positive reinforcement not punishment. K-5 are seperate from 6-8th with their own cafeteria, playgrounds etc. Administration is always open to constructive feedback and respond with action, not afraid of change and growth. My 7th grader was there for 6th grade and came from private school. Any concerns we had the school has responded to. I think it is the best school in the county. Parents who are unhappy are usually the ones who don't value education and don't get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2006

This school is very good.I go there I would know.lol Great teachers(some) very strict, doesn't tolerate any bad behavior.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2006

This school is horrible and so is the administration, I wouldn't put my child in this school ever again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2006

The school does not seem to have programs in place for students that need help and that are struggling with the whole middle school transformation.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
34%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

158 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

207 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

207 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

204 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

206 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

205 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

197 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

104 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

206 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
68%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 43%
Black 25%
Hispanic 25%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%65%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

250 Northwest Floresta Drive
Port St. Lucie, FL 34983
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 340-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St. James Kids Academy
Port St. Lucie, FL


West Gate K-8 School
Port St. Lucie, FL


Parkway Elementary School
Port St. Lucie, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT