Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,234 students|St. Lucie
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Northport K-8 School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
The staff lets kids get bullied in front of their noses and do not do anything about it!

Northport K-8 School 1

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
Horrible School! My daughter cried everyday because she didn't want to go to this school. She was being bullied a lot as most of the kids that go to this school. Staff didn't help them in ANY way to prevent this or even to find out what was really happening. Principal was horrible! He would smile when parents where there but treats kids poorly when no grown up was around!!! The nurse was the worst of them all!!! Once my kid was throwing up in class and she told me in an extremely rude tone that she was making it up, but turned up she was really sick since her teachers confirmed she DID throw up IN the classroom. My kid was terrified to go to the office and talk to her! Worst bully in the whole building that nurse!! Also, front desk lady would treat kids really bad even in front of parents! I once saw her making fun of a 2nd grader because she said she was sick and send her back to her classroom without even listening to her!!!! After the kid left she started talking bad of the little girl and laughing with others that worked in the office!! Next day I took my kid out that school !!!! Please DO NOT let your kids go to this horrible school!!


Northport K-8 School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
very ineffective and plain out rude. Student should be able to ask questions without feeling stupid or dumb or intimidated by there teachers that should be a red flag for kids especially trying to learn

Northport K-8 School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
homework should be given and in a way that student understand the assignment and not just blurt it out loud and expect the student to understand have handouts or instructions because students shouldn't have to play mind games or guessing games with the teacher

Northport K-8 School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
when a teacher calls another student names or call out the students in front of the class and make them feel embarrass there is no respect at all and respect is earn not given and the teachers at northport dont deserve no respect from anyone.


Northport K-8 School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
Student were called names and the teachers show no empathy except to make the student look stupid and dumb. alot of eyes rolling from the staff i guess this is how they treat students and expect them to feel safe really who are they kidding?

Northport K-8 School 1

Posted February 26, 2015
- a parent
Just be warned this school is horrible Dean hick needs to be fired and the principal is worthless he needs fired too.

Northport K-8 School 1

Posted February 11, 2015
- a parent
My son was suspended out of school for 3 days because he refused to go with the Dean. It all started when the teacher gave him a MIR/BIR right after he was attacked by another student. He refused to take the MIR/BIR. The teacher called up the Dean, he still refused until another Dean arrived. He was suspended automatically when the Dean escort my son to the Dean's office. They totally ignore the fact that my son was attacked by another student. When my son told me this I extremely dumbfounded. When I arrived to the school, after he was suspended. I asked why was he was suspended, they said "He was interrupting the classroom." thats THEY WROTE HIM UP the front office told me. They never asked why my son refused to go with them or what happened. The student who attacked my son got away of it, again I was extremely dumbfounded.


Northport K-8 School 1

Posted January 27, 2015
- a community member
i do not recommend this school for your loved one. this is my first year at this school and it is way too strict and the teachers/staff are incredibly rude and worthless. the principle is not what he seems. he is a HYPOCRITE. he seems nice around teachers, parents, etc. but when it comes to student, he'll act rude and get students in trouble for the smallest things. my old school was way different than this school, the teachers were nicer, the students never got arrested, we had more freedom, and the principle actually tried to get kids educated! the principle makes speeches that frighten students, not motivate them. Trust me, this is not all of my complaints. Parents, go to a better school if you really love your child.

Northport K-8 School 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
When my kids first started at this school I thought OMG. The school is dated and can do with some refurbishment but St. Lucie County schoolboard is cheap and unless your kids go to Central do not expect too many frills. After a few months at the school my child who had an IEP began to finally learn. None of the schools has he ever been in has he ever gained so much ground academically. He not only grew educationally but his self confidence bloomed. AS the student before said all you have to do is your homework and pay attention that is true, but I can honestly say that there are more teachers in their ESE program who go above and beyond to help their students. Yes you have to work and yes you have to pay attention but isn't that what you are there for anyway? Parents obviously you have to stay involved with your childs progress and be an advocate for them, but if you stay in touch and involved, success can be achieved. Yes the school is a little rough but it is a public school. The principal and office staff are very attentive and available to assist and help in anyway, you just have to ask. It is all about communication and involvement.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northport K-8 School
250 Northwest Floresta Drive, Port St. Lucie, FL  34983
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. (772) 340-4700
Last modified Northport K-8 School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top