Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,561 students|St. Lucie
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Port St. Lucie High School 3

Posted July 02, 2016
- a community member
They need a better program for Basketball, be more positive, better coaches, more rigid for the team, you have a great team, but have to show more for the community to get involved, reach out and talk more about this sport, BASKETBALL! !!

Port St. Lucie High School 1

Posted August 23, 2015
- a parent
<|(READ THIS)|> The teachers do horrible job at supporting and teaching the students. The School as a whole is more focus on a harsh unfair dress code than educating the students. It's not what the students are wearing that's the problem, it's actually very distracting by taking the students out of class sending them to office, taking them away from their learning time. The teachers have to understand that every job does not always require a strict dress code such as photographers, software engineers, writers, fashion designers, publicist. The school thinks that making the dress code more stricter is going to stop the bomb threats they've been getting recently but it's not. Maybe if they were more involved with the children and the parents that are apart of the school community and stop being effortless and lazy, re-evaluate their teachers, make the learning environment fun and intriguing and, get involved with there students more then maybe the school will raise up to excellent expectations, but that's just my opinion. Port St.Lucie Highschool in general is the WORST school in this Port St. Lucie district. It's been rated an F school for quite awhile now. The school itself has poor math scores due to poor math teachers who spend more time focusing on if there students are wearing a "button up collar shirt" or "a turtle neck" in 90 degree Florida weather . The school has been on the news several time and lock downs because of many bomb threats. There's many officers roaming the halls. There's a lot of drug exchange at this. A teacher/coach was also arrested there for fornicating with one of the students that attend the school. The school doesn't really have windows so exactly looks like an old prison. For all those concerned parents looking for a good school for their child this school is not for you. I highly recommend moving out of this district into Martin county that's where the best schools are if you can't move away from this district try your best to enroll your child into Treasure Coast High they're a decent school.


Port St. Lucie High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted August 23, 2015
- a parent
They're very ineffective and they're lazy and boring. Just look at the schools test scores it will explain the teachers ineffective and lack of eagerness to teach which shows through the students

Port St. Lucie High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted August 23, 2015
- a parent
The teachers don't care about education they really don't. They care more about what you have on regardless of what's in your mind.

Port St. Lucie High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 23, 2015
- a parent
You can ask anyone in the port st Lucie about Port St.Lucie high and they will tell you it's a horrible school don't let your kids go there


Port St. Lucie High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 23, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are very unfair and not helpful. They do more of the bullying and the public humiliation then the students. I have no problem with the dress code every school has a dress code. the main problem and concern with st.lucie high is that the dress code is so strict and it gets in the way of the learning. The teaching gets worse each year and the dress code gets more harsh and unreasonable. They think having a harsh dress code is going to solve all there problems but as you can see it hasn't. The only thing is doing is promoting sexism, false lies about the real world and students don't have a right to imdiviuality and expressing yourself. We're still the worse school and it's really pathetic. don't let your kids go to this school.

Port St. Lucie High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 23, 2015
- a parent
<|(READ THIS)|> The teachers do horrible job at supporting and teaching the students. The School as a whole is more focus on a harsh unfair dress code than educating the students. It's not what the students are wearing that's the problem, it's actually very distracting by taking the students out of class sending them to office, taking them away from their learning time. The teachers have to understand that every job does not always require a strict dress code such as photographers, software engineers, writers, fashion designers, publicist. The school thinks that making the dress code more stricter is going to stop the bomb threats they've been getting recently but it's not. Maybe if they were more involved with the children and the parents that are apart of the school community and stop being effortless and lazy, re-evaluate their teachers, make the learning environment fun and intriguing and, get involved with there students more then maybe the school will raise up to excellent expectations, but that's just my opinion. Port St.Lucie Highschool in general is the WORST school in this Port St. Lucie district. It's been rated an F school for quite awhile now. The school itself has poor math scores due to poor math teachers who spend more time focusing on if there students are wearing a "button up collar shirt" or "a turtle neck" in 90 degree Florida weather . The school has been on the news several time and lock downs because of many bomb threats. There's many officers roaming the halls. There's a lot of drug exchange at this. A teacher/coach was also arrested there for fornicating with one of the students that attend the school. The school doesn't really have windows so exactly looks like an old prison. For all those concerned parents looking for a good school for their child this school is not for you. I highly recommend moving out of this district into Martin county that's where the best schools are if you can't move away from this district try your best to enroll your child into Treasure Coast High they're a decent school.

Port St. Lucie High School 1

Posted August 16, 2014
- a student
I am a current student at psl high. I can honestly say that psl was the WORST school I've ever been to. Reasons.... The teachers don't seem to care about the students , the bathrooms are disgusting, the lunches aren't always great , their is no security on campus and our level of protection is extremely low. Have of the students at this school cannot pass the fcat, I don't see teachers giving all the help the can. I am a new student here and I will be a senior 2014-2025 . I came from down south hoping to attend a better school. Psl does not qualify with my intentions at all. I will NOT be graduating from psl instead I will travel back down south to graduate from my previous school.


Port St. Lucie High School 4

Posted August 05, 2014
- a parent
I believe this is a good school. the JROTC program is wonderful. This program has kept my son from becoming involved with the wrong crowd. I am grateful to all the staff who run this.

Port St. Lucie High School 1

Posted March 22, 2012
- a student
I think the school has just escalated into a bunch of people who no longer care. The students don't want to learn and the teachers don't want to teach. Both students and teachers do the minimal effort necessary. There are the select few teachers and student who try, but besides that the school has no hope. We're rated as one of the lowest schools and no body is trying to do anything about it. That's why it won't change and no one will be satisfied.

Nearby schools

Port St. Lucie High School
1201 Jaguar Lane, Port St. Lucie, FL  34952
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. (772) 337-6770
Last modified Port St. Lucie High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top