Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Port St. Lucie, FL
Students enrolled: 1,635
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Port St. Lucie High School 1

Posted August 23, 2015
- a parent
<|(READ THIS)|> The teachers do horrible job at supporting and teaching the students. The School as a whole is more focus on a harsh unfair dress code than educating the students. It's not what the students are wearing that's the problem, it's actually very distracting by taking the students out of class sending them to office, taking them away from their learning time. The teachers have to understand that every job does not always require a strict dress code such as photographers, software engineers, writers, fashion designers, publicist. The school thinks that making the dress code more stricter is going to stop the bomb threats they've been getting recently but it's not. Maybe if they were more involved with the children and the parents that are apart of the school community and stop being effortless and lazy, re-evaluate their teachers, make the learning environment fun and intriguing and, get involved with there students more then maybe the school will raise up to excellent expectations, but that's just my opinion. Port St.Lucie Highschool in general is the WORST school in this Port St. Lucie district. It's been rated an F school for quite awhile now. The school itself has poor math scores due to poor math teachers who spend more time focusing on if there students are wearing a "button up collar shirt" or "a turtle neck" in 90 degree Florida weather . The school has been on the news several time and lock downs because of many bomb threats. There's many officers roaming the halls. There's a lot of drug exchange at this. A teacher/coach was also arrested there for fornicating with one of the students that attend the school. The school doesn't really have windows so exactly looks like an old prison. For all those concerned parents looking for a good school for their child this school is not for you. I highly recommend moving out of this district into Martin county that's where the best schools are if you can't move away from this district try your best to enroll your child into Treasure Coast High they're a decent school.

Port St. Lucie High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted August 23, 2015
- a parent
They're very ineffective and they're lazy and boring. Just look at the schools test scores it will explain the teachers ineffective and lack of eagerness to teach which shows through the students


Port St. Lucie High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted August 23, 2015
- a parent
The teachers don't care about education they really don't. They care more about what you have on regardless of what's in your mind.

Port St. Lucie High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 23, 2015
- a parent
You can ask anyone in the port st Lucie about Port St.Lucie high and they will tell you it's a horrible school don't let your kids go there

Port St. Lucie High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 23, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are very unfair and not helpful. They do more of the bullying and the public humiliation then the students. I have no problem with the dress code every school has a dress code. the main problem and concern with st.lucie high is that the dress code is so strict and it gets in the way of the learning. The teaching gets worse each year and the dress code gets more harsh and unreasonable. They think having a harsh dress code is going to solve all there problems but as you can see it hasn't. The only thing is doing is promoting sexism, false lies about the real world and students don't have a right to imdiviuality and expressing yourself. We're still the worse school and it's really pathetic. don't let your kids go to this school.


Port St. Lucie High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 23, 2015
- a parent
<|(READ THIS)|> The teachers do horrible job at supporting and teaching the students. The School as a whole is more focus on a harsh unfair dress code than educating the students. It's not what the students are wearing that's the problem, it's actually very distracting by taking the students out of class sending them to office, taking them away from their learning time. The teachers have to understand that every job does not always require a strict dress code such as photographers, software engineers, writers, fashion designers, publicist. The school thinks that making the dress code more stricter is going to stop the bomb threats they've been getting recently but it's not. Maybe if they were more involved with the children and the parents that are apart of the school community and stop being effortless and lazy, re-evaluate their teachers, make the learning environment fun and intriguing and, get involved with there students more then maybe the school will raise up to excellent expectations, but that's just my opinion. Port St.Lucie Highschool in general is the WORST school in this Port St. Lucie district. It's been rated an F school for quite awhile now. The school itself has poor math scores due to poor math teachers who spend more time focusing on if there students are wearing a "button up collar shirt" or "a turtle neck" in 90 degree Florida weather . The school has been on the news several time and lock downs because of many bomb threats. There's many officers roaming the halls. There's a lot of drug exchange at this. A teacher/coach was also arrested there for fornicating with one of the students that attend the school. The school doesn't really have windows so exactly looks like an old prison. For all those concerned parents looking for a good school for their child this school is not for you. I highly recommend moving out of this district into Martin county that's where the best schools are if you can't move away from this district try your best to enroll your child into Treasure Coast High they're a decent school.

Port St. Lucie High School 1

Posted August 16, 2014
- a student
I am a current student at psl high. I can honestly say that psl was the WORST school I've ever been to. Reasons.... The teachers don't seem to care about the students , the bathrooms are disgusting, the lunches aren't always great , their is no security on campus and our level of protection is extremely low. Have of the students at this school cannot pass the fcat, I don't see teachers giving all the help the can. I am a new student here and I will be a senior 2014-2025 . I came from down south hoping to attend a better school. Psl does not qualify with my intentions at all. I will NOT be graduating from psl instead I will travel back down south to graduate from my previous school.

Port St. Lucie High School 4

Posted August 05, 2014
- a parent
I believe this is a good school. the JROTC program is wonderful. This program has kept my son from becoming involved with the wrong crowd. I am grateful to all the staff who run this.


Port St. Lucie High School 1

Posted March 22, 2012
- a student
I think the school has just escalated into a bunch of people who no longer care. The students don't want to learn and the teachers don't want to teach. Both students and teachers do the minimal effort necessary. There are the select few teachers and student who try, but besides that the school has no hope. We're rated as one of the lowest schools and no body is trying to do anything about it. That's why it won't change and no one will be satisfied.

Port St. Lucie High School 1

Posted March 15, 2012
- a parent
It's pathetic they call me at work cause my sons not wearing a belt. I mean really. Dean said it's the dress code, I said Ive seen kids dress in mix match outfits logos girls shorts boys underwear showing and he said it's like getting a speeding ticket if u get caught then u do. Well mr. Dean walk around ur school open ur eyes

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Port St. Lucie High School
1201 Jaguar Lane, Port St. Lucie, FL  34952
(772) 337-6770
Last modified Port St. Lucie High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Port St. Lucie High School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. Top