Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Parkway Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 614 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 25, 2014

My son went to this school from K thru 5th grade and is excelling his gifted classes in middle school now as well as his FCAT scores, he was one of the top scoring students in the state grades 3 up until now. I am aware that he is naturally intelligent but I also thank Parkway for helping to develop his academic abilities. My daughter is in the 3rd grade attending Parkway and does not wish to go anywhere else because of the wonderful teachers that have always helped my children perform at their best. Parkway has also been rated an A school for the past 7 years...they are the best
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2012

This school is HORRIBLE!!! The principal is rude ignorant and displays a very ghetto mantailty. She trys to bully the parents and children with her unprofessional attitude. She should be removed effective asap. I give this schoolan F for being faliures to our parents and children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2012

Its the beginning of the school year an I'm frankly disgusted. I got to see the principle actually swearing in front of the children.When I confronted this low life she rolled her eyes at me an walked away. Really???m done!!! I will not tolerate that type of disrepect. I'm pulling my child out!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

It's hard to understand why this school is getting bad reviews by parents. I am elated with this school! From the office staff, to the lunchroom, and certainly the teachers, I see caring professionals that are happily involved with the students. So far I've not seen one person that doesn't seem to truly love the kids. My daughter is in the ESE program. If your child is special needs, then they are in the BEST hands with Ms. Cooper. Bar none, THE BEST. I couldn't be happier with Parkway. There is an atmosphere there permeated with care and devotion. I see smiles on the faces of staff and teachers, smiles directed towards the children; they seem to love their job. Don't let the other reviews concern you, because I have seen firsthand how wonderful this school is and am so happy that my very "special" little girl gets to attend this school. Trust me, I have seen schools that left a lot to be desired, and this school is NOT one of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2010

My daughter attended this school for K, and 1/2 of 1st grade. The administration is horrible, she was beat up on the bus and no one did anything. They refused to have her tested for learning disabilities and just wrote her off as a bad kid even though her K teacher told them she wasnt. After pulling her out to homeschool she was diagnosed with Auditory Processing Disorder. This school should be closed! They baker acted a 6 year old last year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2010

MY SON STARTED SCHOOL THERE LAST YEAR AND IVE MET ONLY NICE POEPLE AND VERY CARING AND What ive seen very hard working im sorry that you people had a bad experience but i think they are wonderful maybe its just you all so ignore thos nasty coments its a great school my boy has come a long way!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

To the parent from up north,it is so true about what you are saying,i have the same experience with them.They are more interested in the kid appearance then their education,their behavior are crazy.I this they made a mistake when they close Port St Lucie Elementry,this is the one that they should have closed.THEY NEED TO GET THOSE IGNORANT PEOPLE OUT WHO CALL THEMSELVES EDUCATORS,NOT GOOD FOR OUR CHILDREN.I took my kids out and this is funny when ever you are new to the neighborhood this is where the school board stuck your kids i don't know why even if they are really smart. I would like to see it close not doing any thing for our kids.Really it does not deserve a star.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

I had moved my child from up north to this school. In my opinion, this is a terrible school. The administration is ignorant and my son's teacher for the year was targeting him throughout the whole year on his so called "bad behavior" when in fact all it was was child behavior. This school has absolutely no support for children. He will not be attending this school next year. After all, we are not raising robots for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

First of all this school needs some changes with its administration. They need to change the hopeless principal they have and some of the administration memers at the front office. Their rudness just make me sick. Some of the teachers are really good and the results they give are good as well. I hope the situation changes. They just need to take out of the trash.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

I just moved to the area and my child was put into this school. I think it is a terrible school. The staff including the asst. principle are all rude and unhelpful. I have 2 other children-one in Savanna Ridge and one in Southern Oaks-both of which seem to be very good school. So if you are looking for a good school I would advise not picking Parkway Elem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

All 3 of my children attend Parkway. IT is a great family involved school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Faculty, staff, parents, students work together as a team. Everyone is energetic, kind,hard working & caring. We Are PARKWAY ELEMENTARY an 'A' school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I think Parkway is the best school because, every teacher there is very dedicated to their students, Also, because our school has worked really hard to finally become an A-rated school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Parkway had a great family atmosphere. All collegues and aprents work together towards a common goal.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 17, 2009

Parkway has been my home since it was built 20 years ago. I have seen many changes in staff,administration and students over the years, but Parkway has evolved to be a caring, supporting family for all of us. We strive hard to reach the stars academically and PBS has turned behavior around. Seeing the students from Kindergarten and watching those who stay as they grow and mature is a wonderful sight to see. Parkway is now an 'A' school and I'm extremely proud to be a part of that.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 4, 2009

Administration is awful, and the teachers attitudes are very poor. Bad communication from teachers and staff and the children are not challenged at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

If I could give this school a lower rating I would. My son attended last year and it was awful. He was bullied and the teacher and administrative faculty where of no help. Needless to say he no longer attends this horrible school and I recommend that any and everyone keep a very close eye on the happenings in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2009

Poor administration. The assistant principal is great, always helpful but the principal is a bully as is her front office staff. I find the teacher to all have the 'overworked and underpaid attitude'. My children will be going to another school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

This school is wonderful. The teachers are very professional and yet caring. They truly have the best interest of their students at heart. The special needs teachers have been super.


Posted September 26, 2007

This school does not help children, it helps them stay at their level. Children need a challenge and Parkway Elem. does not give one!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

95 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 39% 42%
Hispanic 29% 29%
Black 27% 23%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%65%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Ucola Barrett-baxter
Fax number
  • (772) 340-4807

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7000 NW Selvitz Rd
Port St. Lucie, FL 34983
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 340-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

West Gate K-8 School
Port St. Lucie, FL


St. James Kids Academy
Port St. Lucie, FL





Northport K-8 School
Port St. Lucie, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT