Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rivers Edge Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 699 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2014

What happened? My child hates going to this school. She used to love Rivers Edge. She complains that people just yell all day. Searching for a better option. So sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2014

Good School, just needs to get their act together before they lose kids, and not due to teachers. Always a great school, new principal rules for pickup, understood parent safety and kids walking through a parking lot, however if change was needed it could have been acknowledge in a better way. No advance notice, no warning. First day of school nobody knew, second day of school everyone told by a phone call sent out by the system, a few hours before student release and that day finally a note sent home from school about the changes. Third day even more chaos, have to get to the school an hour early and that's to be 20 minutes away from the pickup line, with a two lane pick up that is chaotic in and of itself. Teachers and kids running in and out of cars. The teachers are stressed as I've seen kids being yelled out, teachers just plain yelling and kids crying. So if they were going for safety of parents and kids. They got the parent safety down, now just the kids are in danger in a two lane pick up area, I'm terrified for my kid at pick up heaven forbid someone misplaces their foot on the gas instead of the brake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2014

Last year, this school was wonderful for my child. I had no idea how things could so quickly degenerate upon the arrival of the new principal, who appears to completely callous toward the parents and students needs. Everything about the child-pick-up process yesterday was appalling! Nobody knew what was going on, or would take responsibility. Parents were patronized by the staff and leadership. Many parents were required to wait in their cars for more than an hour to pick up their own children. Others who were trying to get to their children out of their vehicles were told to go back to their cars and wait for their turn. Due to this traffic, 7-8 buses were unable to get to their respective bus waiting area. In my whole life, I've never seen such incompetence and callousness from school officials. Perhaps somebody should contact news agencies to come and investigate this travesty. Seriously thinking of pulling out my child to put him in a different school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

The name of my son s school is Rivers Edge Elementary. My son is now in the first grade. I have had the most wonderful experience. Between the amazing teachers who work with my son s needs and push him in a positive manor to give him the best education possible, to the entire staffs who participate in the activities the school conducts. At rivers Edge the teachers, parents and staff are all hands on and work together is such a positive and outgoing manor. I m truly thankful that I have the opportunity to have my son at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2014

I went to this school and I must say I absolutely loved it! I have a daughter now and I intend on sending her there as well. Very good school whos focus is on academics. I still remember the school song we sang. We're the school down by the river none others can compare...


Posted August 25, 2013

My child started kindergarten this year. The first week went pretty much possitive so far except couple of things. First and big problem is getting kids to school. Parking is completely disorganized. I have never seen a school that cant manage couple of hundred parents cars every morning and afternoon. We need to sit for 15-20 min in the line that starts back on highway. The second problem I have with their "hands behind your back" and "bubble" (no talking) policy while in hallway. Is this a prison or a school? Are they training them to be a perfect prisoner? Seriously! I understand the discipline but why not allow the to put hand along their sides? I know some kids have problems with coordination and are clumsy... like mine)) I think this is disrespectful, making kids passive and kill any self respect from the beginning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2012

In the 3 yrs we have been back in FL Rivers Edge is our 4th and best school that we have attended. I honestly cannot say enough positive about how the teachers go above and beyond, the overall family feel/school's efforts to bring us all together in numberous family events and last but not least the quarterly awards assemblies, that for a CHANGE, even the NON-straight A students are given oppty to walk on that stage and get on an award-which has made a HUGE impact on the self confidence of my kid! My daughter had a WONDERFUL 3rd grade year and we look forward to an even greater 4th!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2011

I have a child in the kindergarten here and he is doing very well and is happy with it. My only concern is the school is limited with advanced programs. He is very advanced with reading and math. Towards the middle of the school year they placed him in the first grade reading class and it is still too easy for him....They do not have any advanced math for kindergarten so if your child already starts school advanced he/she will be bored. Child pick up is also difficult, not enough parking etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

My daughter just started Kindergarten this year at River's Edge. We are thrilled with the care and concern of the staff there. They are welcoming and accommodating to the children. My daughter is a very strong willed child who does not respond well to many environments. Her teacher has really worked with her to make this a smooth transition for our whole family. I had been considering private school prior to this, but not anymore, my child is already reading after less than 2 months of school! Thank you River's Edge!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Rivers Edge is a great school. The faculty and staff are very caring, and they provide the children an excellent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Rivers Edge is a great school. They have wonderful teachers and the kids have fun learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

My grandson attends Rivers Edge and I have been very impressed with the attention and dedication of the teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2008

I have two children, new to Rivers Edge this year. The entire staff is fantastic. Caring, professional, well organized. I was very doubtful about public school and Rivers Edge has proven me wrong! Top Notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

Rivers Edge Teachers and staff impart a sense of caring in their dealings with the children. My daughter is in 3rd grade, going to fourth. She has some learning disabilities that make academics difficult for her. This is the first school that truly understands and celebrates her acheivements, however small, rather than crush her ego because she doesn't perform as well as the average child. She is patiently guided down the trail of higher learning and is trusting of her sheppards. This is a major accomplishment given her previous encounters with the lesser gifted or caring teachers at other schools. Bravo Rivers Edge. May God continue to guide your work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

Each of my 3 children have experienced superior academic instruction. This fact is even more remarkable when one considers how different each of my children are. That this outstanding school can nurture each child and their unique aptitudes and challenges is tremendous testimony to the skill and commitment of all faculty and staff members, from front office staff to maintenance staff. As a parent I always feel welcome and valued. My involvement is encouraged and supported at all levels. The student body at Rivers Edge is a true representative sample or our diverse population and each member of the Rivers Edge family strives to sure that each student achieves their potential. The curriculum is demanding and rewarding, challenging and engaging and administered in an effective and innovative fashion. Rivers Edge is a beautiful campus filled with awesome people!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

I am very happy with Rivers Edge. They have an excellent John Hopkins reading program. It is a more traditional program using reinforcement of skills such as vocabulary and comprehension. The math wings program they use is also very good. I have a friend who has a child in the '5 star' schools of Martin County and there is no comparison in the education. Both my daughter and her son are in second grade and my daughter is learning skills about a grade ahead. Homework could be viewed as excessive, but is instrumental in reinforcing what is being taught in the classroom. I am not so concerned with the difference in school grade as compared to other districts because we actually have a diverse group of students. It is quite easy for a district of have high grades when there is no economic or cultural diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

When we had to transfer our child who was in all advanced classes, at a 5 Star, 'A' school, in Martin County, we were very concerned! When those concerns turned out to be true, we were not at all surpised! The lack of interest in getting to know a new student, is just outrageous! The lack of communication with parents, is appalling! We have written many letters, and request to speak with the teacher and have not received any responds. The extreme amount of hours of homework assignments, tell us that someone isn't doing their job as a teacher. There are also safety issues, at the student's drop off station and in the parking lot. We will be so glad when May 25, 2007 finally arrivals, for that will be the last day of putting up with River Edge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2006

Sometimes we as parents expect our children's teachers to work minor miracles, as witnessed by previous reviews from last year.When in reality it falls to us to follow through. I have had the opposite experience with River's Edge. My daughter has soared with the excellent teaching staff. (Thank you Mrs. Key, Mrs. Florio, Mrs. Albinson. The staff is amazing, they take the time to get to know you and your child on an individual basis. Many times they have picked up the phone just to touch base with me regarding my daughters education. They offer an accelerated reading program and I in fact moved, due to school district rezoning to keep my daughter in this fine school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

As a first time parent of a school age child, I was apprehensive, but once I walked into Rivers Edge, I was immediately at ease. The staff was friendly and attentive, and there was no chaos anywhere. The students I saw were extremely well-behaved, courteous, and respectful. My son's teacher has always been available whenever I had questions, and really encourages reading. Thanks Rivers Edge!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2006

The first year that my son attended the ese program here it was great. If not for one teacher - mrs. Mazzullo, this would have been a complete waste.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

130 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 57%
Hispanic 22%
Black 15%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 68%65%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5600 Northeast Saint James Drive
Port St. Lucie, FL 34983
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 785-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. James Kids Academy
Port St. Lucie, FL



Liberty Baptist Academy
Fort Pierce, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT