Advertisement
Advertisement

Barnabas Christian Academy

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Port St. Lucie

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $95,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2014

My son is attending Barnabas Christian Academy and I am proud of that. My son is now in the eight grade. Since enrolled in BCA my son is no longer that shy person. My son is now able to interact with his peers, and no longer afraid to express himself. Every school has issues with bullying. Yes my son was picked on when he arrived at BCA, but it was not ignored. The administration did not turn a blind eye and my son was not victimized. Situation was address and we no longer have a problem. I would also like to address the fact that they do have security system. Everyone will have problems / issues with any school. No school is prefect and if you find a perfect school I would like to know where they are. I agree you should read reviews to get a baseline, but each parent should visit the school to see for themselves. Always remember there are always three sides to a story. Parent / school / and the truth. Love BCA!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

Bullying is a pervasive problem and the Administration is in denial! Bullies are not held accountable for their bad behavior and victims are made to feel that it is their fault. Teacher's tell victims to 'ignore' it or to 'stop being a tattle tale". For a "Christian" school the teachers and administration turn a blind eye to children being tormented and targeted on a daily basis and when confronted they simply victimize the victim by pointing out all of the things the victim does wrong or does to bring it on themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2013

I graduated from this school a year ago. I at first hated it....the rules, the standers, and the whole thing. But as the year went on I learn to enjoy it. The leadership skills I learn there help me now. I am now in the military and put in positions of leadership that without the training I got at BCA I may not be where I am.


Posted December 16, 2012

This is a horrible school! The administration is condescending and militant about collecting tuition money and they care very little about the students. They have NO security for the school and they have at risk teens enrolled at the school which they put in leadership roles to help tend to the younger elementary aged children, when it is extremely obvious that these teens have social, mental and emotional problems and could go off at any moment. I took my elementary aged child out of the school after 4 days after witnessing no adult supervision when children go to the bathrooms that they share with teenagers, when there was no adult supervision at lunch, after I personally stood and held the door open for five minutes in my son's classroom, waiting for his teacher to turn around and notice that her classroom door was open and anybody could have been standing there doing anything and she would have not noticed until it was too late. The academic program is Bob Jones cirrculumn but the teachers are lacking in teaching and social skills. For example, with my son's teacher did not even have the children tell each other their names so they could get to know one another .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2012

A dedicated and resourceful staff that makes time for each child as an individual. A concern for student learning versus an overriding concern for standardized tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

The student who wrote the review on June 25, 2012 made 10 errors in spelling and grammar, if I counted correctly. Perhaps that is a reflection of the learning ability of this 12th grader, rather than of the effectiveness of the teachers and curriculum, but it is worth noting.


Posted June 25, 2012

I'm a BCA student. Im a Senior this year 2012-2013 and i can tell you that some of these comments are true but these parents fail to included that this school has a great academic program and loving and caring teachers.I had the opportunity that most kids in Middle School and High School don't get i got to know the teacher and they're great. Im in trying make BCA a great place.


Posted June 20, 2011

This school has really gone down this past year in the Middle School & High School Dept. A lot of parents pulled their children out this year and are now going to other private schools or public school. If you do plan on going here make sure you understand that this school charges you $10.00 for each detention and the demerits accumulate quickly as they double up. Also, the teachers do not inform the student that they received a demerit so you must be committed to check online to see the infraction. Make sure you note the dates of infraction for your records so that there are no misunderstandings and everyone is held accountable. There is one particular teacher that was moved up from Elementary grade to the High School Dept. that most parents were not pleased with. These concerns were presented to the principal at the beginning of the school year and I also raised concern over this. Although the principal is very nice, she did not correct the problems with this teacher who lost papers and had poor record keeping. I would recommend this school for Elementary children but I would look elsewhere for Middle & High School children if this problem has not been changed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

This is our 2nd year at BCA and our boys LOVE the school! It is a very small school with wonderful caring teachers. My 7th grader who has never enjoyed school before told me that he now enjoys going to school! Music to a parent's ears! Thank you BCA!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

Again, the new sports program has made the school even better. In addition to the fine arts taught, the academics are top. My child selected to go to this school, and we as parents are proud and pleased of this choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

New extracurricular programs like football and volleyball make BCA even better this year (2008)! Teachers and administration really care about student success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2008

The school upholds Christian values. Wonderful arts program. They counsel students and parents. Individualized instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

Not worth the trouble the adminstration will give you if they don't agree with anything you do at your own house.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

The school has wonderful fine arts programs that all students participate in. The classes are small and there is lots of individual attention from teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 44%
Hispanic 22% 24%
Black 18% 29%
Two or more races 8% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (772) 344-1443

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1120 SW Paar Dr
Port St. Lucie, FL 34953
Phone: (772) 344-1643

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Imagine Schools - Nau Campus
Port St. Lucie, FL



Oak Hammock K-8 School
Port St. Lucie, FL


Holy Seed Christian Academy
Port St. Lucie, FL



Bayshore Elementary School
Port St. Lucie, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT