Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Barnabas Christian Academy

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Port St. Lucie

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $95,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 14 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2014

It would be na ve of me to say that bullying does not happen at BCA. It happens at all schools and anywhere young people are gathered. Why? Because all of us in our hearts are bent towards doing what is wrong. There is no cure for bullying apart from the work of Jesus Christ in the heart of a young person, first for salvation and secondly for living in a way that is pleasing to God and productive for society. In I John 1:7 the Bible says, If we walk in the light as He(God) is in the light, we have fellowship one with another and the blood of Jesus Christ His Son cleanses us from all sin. That is one of the reasons BCA exists: to train young people to live in the light of Christ and avoid the darkness of the world around us. That being said, the staff and administration of BCA does not tolerate bullying. It is monitored carefully and dealt with appropriately. If you are someone that is looking at the school as an option for your children please know that your children will be cared for, prayed for, and that we will assist you as you strive to train them to walk in the light of Christ.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 1, 2014

This school has very good organization and the teachers are respectful to the students. Encouraging learning environment . Abeka program is used.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2014

Our family is blessed with Barnabas Christian Academy's educational enrichment and embracement by caring teachers, staff and administration who are devoted to student's learning. BCA's strong Christian values and student commitment prepares students for college and community leadership. Thank you to everyone at BCA for providing this excellent educational program for our child!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2014

This is not a good school. They turn a blind eye to bullying and even silently condone it if they personally don't care for the student. They want to pretend that it is a great school and that all of the students get along and care for one another, but that's not the case. Some of the teachers are as bad if not worse than the meanest bullies. All children should be treated fairly and should not dread going to school. They also have one approach to teaching and have no interest in adapting or modifying their approach if a student can't catch on or is falling behind. Nothing is ever their fault but they are more than willing to tell you and anyone else that will listen all of your child's failures and shortcomings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

To the comment about bullying. I have never seen or heard a teacher or a student bullying or being bullied. If that were the case my special need daughter and my son, for that matter, would not be attending. If anyone is worried about teasing or bullying that would be me. My daughter has a physically visible disability. I know exactly what it means to see you child being stared at, laughed at, called names and much more. The reality is that everywhere she goes she is at risk to be bullied by people who are cruel and unloving, scared at looking at something they do not understand. However, it is my job to teach her that she is not defined by people or their comments. She is only defined by God and herself. She will always have to deal with that because I cannot educate the entire world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

A wonderful school that I would recommend to anyone looking for an above standard Christian education. Teacher communication was excellent. If an issue arose during the day I would get an e-mail, call or text that day. It was encouraging to know the teachers were so involved with the students and families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

Not a good school. I don't know which is worse, the bullying by the students or the total and complete denial of the teachers. Perhaps the teachers think that bullying is a right of passage or perhaps if they don't like the student either, they condone the bullying by ignoring it. Either way, they should be the adults and they should protect every student and provide a safe learning environment. They have a high and mighty attitude and you can not reason with them. Once they make up their mind - forget it! They need to practice what they preach! You know, do unto others...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

My school is Barnabas Christian Academy. My family has been involved with Barnabas for many years. I have recommended the school to friends and family. The staff is loving, giving and kind. They are like a city on a hill shining forth God's grace & mercy. They have a strong academic program that is taught by their well-qualified teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

This school is very rigid and archaic in their approach to everything - dress code, discipline, home work, bullying, parent involvement, etc... They have preconceived ideas and are very resistant to accepting any point of view or opinion that contradicts their own ideals. They talk the talk, but don't walk the walk when it comes to treating one another with kindness and respect. The teachers do not lead by example. They could all use some professional development in the areas of behavior management, bullying, positive reinforcement and diversity. It could be a good school if they would open their eyes and deal with issues instead of burying their heads in the sand and pretending no problems exist.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

Looking for a great christian school where the teachers and staff are loving and respecting and where your child will learn and grow up to be a roll model for his or her children and society? Then this is the school for you. My child has been with the school for the past 8 years and i am very thankful for the teachings at Barnabas Christian Academy .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2014

Condescending and patronizing teachers that take zero responsibility for any concerns! They are always 100% right and everyone else is 100% wrong. I would not recommend this school to anyone. Do your research before subjecting your child to that environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2014

This is an excellent private school where the administrator and staff care not only about academics, but the overall advancement of the student. The rules are that of a school that requires more than a public school because parents are paying for the best possible education their children can attain. Anything less would not be acceptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2014

I would not recommend this school. There is no positive behavioral support for students. They utilize a demerit system for discipline and behavior management. Bullying is a problem. With such small student/teacher ratios, the school should have better control of the bullying. I'm one parent with one opinion, but I think my child's experience at BCA has been as bad as bullying in public schools and BCA should be more proactive to address and prevent bullying. There should be zero tolerance for bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2014

My son is attending Barnabas Christian Academy and I am proud of that. My son is now in the eight grade. Since enrolled in BCA my son is no longer that shy person. My son is now able to interact with his peers, and no longer afraid to express himself. Every school has issues with bullying. Yes my son was picked on when he arrived at BCA, but it was not ignored. The administration did not turn a blind eye and my son was not victimized. Situation was address and we no longer have a problem. I would also like to address the fact that they do have security system. Everyone will have problems / issues with any school. No school is prefect and if you find a perfect school I would like to know where they are. I agree you should read reviews to get a baseline, but each parent should visit the school to see for themselves. Always remember there are always three sides to a story. Parent / school / and the truth. Love BCA!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2013

I graduated from this school a year ago. I at first hated it....the rules, the standers, and the whole thing. But as the year went on I learn to enjoy it. The leadership skills I learn there help me now. I am now in the military and put in positions of leadership that without the training I got at BCA I may not be where I am.


Posted December 16, 2012

This is a horrible school! The administration is condescending and militant about collecting tuition money and they care very little about the students. They have NO security for the school and they have at risk teens enrolled at the school which they put in leadership roles to help tend to the younger elementary aged children, when it is extremely obvious that these teens have social, mental and emotional problems and could go off at any moment. I took my elementary aged child out of the school after 4 days after witnessing no adult supervision when children go to the bathrooms that they share with teenagers, when there was no adult supervision at lunch, after I personally stood and held the door open for five minutes in my son's classroom, waiting for his teacher to turn around and notice that her classroom door was open and anybody could have been standing there doing anything and she would have not noticed until it was too late. The academic program is Bob Jones cirrculumn but the teachers are lacking in teaching and social skills. For example, with my son's teacher did not even have the children tell each other their names so they could get to know one another .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2012

A dedicated and resourceful staff that makes time for each child as an individual. A concern for student learning versus an overriding concern for standardized tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

The student who wrote the review on June 25, 2012 made 10 errors in spelling and grammar, if I counted correctly. Perhaps that is a reflection of the learning ability of this 12th grader, rather than of the effectiveness of the teachers and curriculum, but it is worth noting.


Posted June 25, 2012

I'm a BCA student. Im a Senior this year 2012-2013 and i can tell you that some of these comments are true but these parents fail to included that this school has a great academic program and loving and caring teachers.I had the opportunity that most kids in Middle School and High School don't get i got to know the teacher and they're great. Im in trying make BCA a great place.


Posted June 20, 2011

This school has really gone down this past year in the Middle School & High School Dept. A lot of parents pulled their children out this year and are now going to other private schools or public school. If you do plan on going here make sure you understand that this school charges you $10.00 for each detention and the demerits accumulate quickly as they double up. Also, the teachers do not inform the student that they received a demerit so you must be committed to check online to see the infraction. Make sure you note the dates of infraction for your records so that there are no misunderstandings and everyone is held accountable. There is one particular teacher that was moved up from Elementary grade to the High School Dept. that most parents were not pleased with. These concerns were presented to the principal at the beginning of the school year and I also raised concern over this. Although the principal is very nice, she did not correct the problems with this teacher who lost papers and had poor record keeping. I would recommend this school for Elementary children but I would look elsewhere for Middle & High School children if this problem has not been changed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 42%
Hispanic 22% 29%
Black 17% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (772) 344-1443

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1120 Southwest Paar Drive
Port St. Lucie, FL 34953
Phone: (772) 344-1643

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Nau Charter School
Port St. Lucie, FL


Westport Private School
Port St. Lucie, FL



Oak Hammock K-8 School
Port St. Lucie, FL


Holy Seed Christian Academy
Port St. Lucie, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT