Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oak Hammock K-8 School

Public | PK-8 | 1483 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 24, 2009

Bad bad school, focused more on what the students wear than on what theyre learnig, rude,disrespectful,mean staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

i was in 7th grade when this school opened and was sent there. i liked this school as one of my favorite that i've gone to. Although i was only able to be there for 2 years, i enjoyed it. Most of my teachers were great, especially the band teacher. The dress code was a little strict, but as an alumni, i'd recommend this school. Go Ospreys!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2009

All academic opportunities are exellelent here, you get only the best with this school. The arts are also a big part of the cirriculm, and the children get music and art twice a week as an 'elective' class. The teachers are all qualified, and I've yet to see a 'bad' teacher at oak hammock. Parents have many opportunities to be involved in their children's education, and the phycility and staff are also very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

I believe this school has improved enormously in the last 3 years, my kids started this school year, and I have no complaints. However, negative media toward this school has put this great school in a bad position. Some people are just out for personal gain. The SRO's are wonderful to work with and so are the ESE teachers. I am grateful we have such a wonderful school locally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

I would say that the school is great but you better pull your child out of there by the time they get into middle school. They need the full experience and the whole pod thing is not the best idea.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2008

My daughter is going into 3rd grade, she has been at this school since it first opened. She has flourished so much in these few years. I have never had any issue with the school, the teachers so far have been wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

Have never had a problem. Teachers are very helpful and understanding with kids. They take there time and you can see they enjoy teaching and it shows threw the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2008

Oak Hammock is going down the hill. Lets start with the people in the office, they don't help, they are only worry about keeping their job. the principal doesn't even know what is going on , she is clueless. Please change the administration soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2008

My children have attend this school since it opened and all I can say is that this school is so focused on what the children wear its disgusting! I'd rather have my child attend a school that's focused on education. I think the only reason they have their SAC meetings in the afternoon is so whomever is on the committee can have their way with what they want in the school. Personally this meeting should be moved to a better time for those parents who work that way not only do the teachers get their opinion, but so do the parents. The school is so into parent involvement, but why? The administration and teachers are never consistant always wishy-washy. I've encoutered the staff talking to children in my opinion, rude and direspectful manner, no wonder these kids have no respect for some teachers, when you've got teachers rolling their eyes .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

My child has attended Oak Hammock since the year it opened. It has been disappointing thus far for several reasons. First, this is his last year there before high school and I see absolutely nothing in the way of preparation for high school - including no homework. He is going to be in for a rude awakening once he hits high school. 2nd, every instance I have encountered with the office staff has been quite negative. I find these people unpleasant and unfriendly. My child gets very good grades on his report card, yet performs below average on his FCAT. How can this be? I am afraid for him when he gets to high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2008

I went to this school last year and personally thought it was overly strict, and instead of treating the 6-8th graders like 6-8th graders, they treated them as the emelemtary kids, and gave them no freedom. This results in not being prepared for highschool. Its a good school if your 5th grade and under, but if you have a middle school child, i suggest you look into other middle schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2008

My child went to this school in the matter of two years. He was treated badly, by both his teachers and his pupils. I was very disappointed in the way the administration treated the situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2007

I personally love this school ,my child goes to this school ,and has learned many things there and has had lots of fun and many friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2007

the teachers and administration have favoritism towards certain parents and children. they treat some better than others. they dont apply rules on everyone. most teachers are horrible. many dont teach.


Posted November 24, 2007

this is a hit or miss school. my son has been at oak hammock for 3 years. I tink it all depends on the teacher you get. He had a horrible teacher last year, and this year he has an amazing one! The 2 major problms I have, is 1= my son being exposed to teenagers and thier cursing and bullying. And 2=the lack of cirriculum for children that are more advanced than thier grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

My children were in first and eighth grade, both had an overall positive experience at this school. Administration is sometimes difficult to deal with. They have an exceptional band program and director. They need to work on communicating with parents (ex. dates to remember, award ceremonies, special activities in class).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

My daughter just finished Kindergarten and she had a fabulous teacher. My son just completed 4th grade and had a great teacher as well. Teacher to parent communication has been great all year. The Technology is great. and the calss sizes in both grades were small. My kids love going to Oak Hammock. I just wish there were more Extra curricular activities and the school should do more to let the parents know about the activities
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2007

The school is gorgeous and very high tech but soo overcrowded. my 6th grader has 37 students in her class and 4th grader has 26. The administration is very unorganized, under staffed. Some of the teachers are outstanding but other just don't seen to care. Extracurricular activities are slim and notices are always late about activities, have even gotten notices after the activity date. band program is very good. Parent involvement is usually just the ones who like to complain but never help out. Biggest issue is teacher student ratio and administrative staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

My daughter is in her first year at Oak Hammock, the school is a very nice school. My only problem is that my daughter currently has 35 students in her class. The school has only been open for 2 years and they have already run out of room. St Lucie West is growing very fast and I know that Manatee is going to be converting to a K-8 school and hopefully that will help illimiate the over crowding. I also think that her teachers are very frustrated with the amount of students that they are trying to teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2006

This is a good school for students. However, they should have more advanced programs. Some students have already taken some classes from somewhere else and wouldn't like to take the whole class for another year. As an example, I have already taken Algebra 1 Honors in another school, but has to take it again because they don't provide a geometry class. It frustrates me bit that I can be learning something instead of the same things over again. Overall, it's a good school and worth taking a look at.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

237 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

237 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

238 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

237 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

240 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

242 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

241 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

238 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

142 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

210 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
70%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 38%
Hispanic 34%
Black 22%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 130%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 26%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 56%65%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1251 Southwest California Boulevard
Port St. Lucie, FL 34953
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 344-4490

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Seed Christian Academy
Port St. Lucie, FL


St. Lucie West K-8 School
Port St. Lucie, FL



Bayshore Elementary School
Port St. Lucie, FL


Manatee Academy K-8
Port St. Lucie, FL


Kidzone Preschool Academy
Port St. Lucie, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT