Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,493 students|St. Lucie
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
65 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 85 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Oak Hammock K-8 School 1

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
i hate this school since day one my son get there ,he hasn't learn anything since he entered in k-garden and the teachers is seems like they dont know what doing,all they can do is send notes to complaint about your kids ,if you gonna send your kids here you better keep them home you will teach them better,

Oak Hammock K-8 School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 05, 2015
- a parent
The new Dean seems to be a fair and honest one. She has thus far been great. After dealing with the male Dean there though, anything is better.


Oak Hammock K-8 School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted December 05, 2015
- a parent
My child wants nothing more than to get out of this school. Their teaching methods are a joke and they are only preparing the kids for great disappointments.

Oak Hammock K-8 School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted December 05, 2015
- a parent
No problem children are constantly putting their hands on my child. They know because my child is labeled a trouble maker they will not get in trouble.

Oak Hammock K-8 School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted December 05, 2015
- a parent
My child is ostracized by both students and teachers. He feels lost and nobody at the school cares.


Oak Hammock K-8 School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted December 05, 2015
- a parent
Students who are having troubles are given up on very quickly. Teachers like to tease students having trouble.

Oak Hammock K-8 School 1

Posted December 05, 2015
- a parent
How I wish I could rate this school lower than one star. This is Florida and is supposed to be "No Child Left Behind." However, this does not apparently apply if your child has problems. My child has been given up on and the teachers now see fit to tease my child along with the other children. If you are thinking you can try and address this with the Dean, hope you don't have to deal with Dean (initials CH). He is arrogant, rude, and condescending. As a person who failed as first a college football coach, then a high school football coach, and even a high school PE teacher, it baffles me that he is not in charge of elementary age kids' behavior. Then again, the entire school seems to be staffed as such.

Oak Hammock K-8 School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted December 05, 2015
- a parent
The teachers here are a JOKE! They are simply there to collect a paycheck and could care less about the kids. The male Dean there (initials CH) is RUDE and CONDESCENDING and has no business in education. Easy to see why he failed as a football coach before landing at an elementary school.


Oak Hammock K-8 School 5

Posted November 18, 2014
- a community member
I am a former student of this school, & I think it was amazing! I may have been bullied, but that's gonna happen with any school and it seemed like the administration did what they were supposed to do to correct the situation. My favorite teacher was my 7th grade reading and she's now the librarian and current Teacher Of The Year for St. Lucie County. I've graduated HS now but I still go back & volunteer. This is an amazing school.

Oak Hammock K-8 School 1

Posted June 12, 2014
- a community member
I am a student, going into 7th grade that has attended Oak Hammock since kindergarten. I honestly hate this school and I can't wait until I get to high school. The teachers are very mean and unreasonable. We have the lowest FCAT scores in the county, can you believe that? Don't get me started on the dress code, jeans are not allowed at all. They won't even let us wear sweaters or outerwear without zippers/buttons. One time I almost got a referral for wearing a SWEATER. It was a cold day and I didn't have anything else available at the time. Then, they expect us to get A's on quizzes and tests when we hardly get taught anything! Also, the electives are so limited! Last year, before I started middle school, we could pick from band, art, tech, or gym. I picked art & tech for one semester each. The art elective was dropped before school started up again. Seriously, we only had a couple electives to choose from at first and now you want to have even fewer? Basically, Oak Hammock focuses more on what we're wearing more than our education and success. Do yourself a favor and send your kid to anywhere but Oak Hammock.

Nearby schools

Oak Hammock K-8 School
1251 Southwest California Boulevard, Port St. Lucie, FL  34953
(772) 344-4490
Last modified Oak Hammock K-8 School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top