Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Gate K-8 School

Public | K-8 | 1222 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

117 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 16, 2009

Academically, Westgate has exceeded our expectations. Your teaching staff as well as support staff have made the whole school experience enjoyable for both of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Wesatgate k-8 is a great school with a careing staff that goes above and beyond the call of duty. Mr. Cramer has set very high proffesional standards for his staff; these standards set a positive image to all the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

When people in general complain about the younger generation I tell them you should meet the students I teah at West Gate. It is a pleasure to teach students who are hard working, decicated to becoming life long learners and have great school pride. They are caring and show great cmpassion when helpng each otr and our special students. Our students at West Gate K-8 represent what is right with the world and we are truly blessed to have the opportunity to spend time teaching them. Elaine Harmon
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

What a place! The kids are great. My colleagues are wonderful. The community is super. The administration is top notch. I couldn't imagine teaching anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Fantastic teachers - great staff - great location! Also great communication between teacher and parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

This is the best group of students and staff in our entire county! We are the most family oriented and have terrific parent involvement!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 14, 2009

The staff work hard to get the very best out of thier students. Every person have played an important role on keeping my child's spirit up and keeping her grades at its best. Words can never say enough about how grateful I am for Westgate K-8
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

All three of my children did attend West Gate K-8, two of them still do and my daughter gratuated from their last year. We have been a part of West Gate K-8 since they opened their doors, the teachers are wonderful, the principal is the best I have ever had the pleasure to deal with. All of the staff at West Gate K-8 shows just how much they truly care about each and every student. I recommend this school to anyone that asks me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Its a great school 2 of my grandchildern attend West Gate K-8 and they really do look forward to going to school...its a well rounded school..they both do well in their studies...good school all around.


Posted October 14, 2009

The best is to say that I see my son smiling every morning on his way to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

It has the most amazing teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Love the Teachers!! They are loving, caring & patient with their students!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

This school is a vast improvement in the Port St Lucie school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

I love west gate because of the great teachers/staff, I want the best for my children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

We are an A rated school. We have a very dedicated staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

This is the best school for my children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Clean, organized and beautiful School, love the teachers!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

My boy love spanish class and art, great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

They made me so comfortable sending my little boy to kindergarten! I was a lunatic mom worried, but they made it very easy for me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Great teachers! Great staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

165 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

165 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

123 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

188 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
90%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 44%
Hispanic 27%
Black 22%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 155%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 24%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 77%65%61%
Master's degree 23%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1050 Northwest Cashmere Boulevard
Port St. Lucie, FL 34986
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 807-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Parkway Elementary School
Port St. Lucie, FL



St. James Kids Academy
Port St. Lucie, FL




St. Lucie Academy
Port St. Lucie, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT