Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Allapattah Flats K-8

Public | PK-8 | 936 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 6, 2014

I went to this school for 6 years, and it truly was great. I received Straight A's throughout all 6 years, and was always happy. I believe most of the parents complaining on here are just too self-centered. The reality is that your kid won't always be center of attention, won't always be spoon fed by the teachers and staff. I assure you if you teach your kids to be self-motivated and teach them to want to learn, they will be fine. I miss this school dearly, and I am sure your child will have a great time if they attend this school. Don't let some of the negative reviews fool you. Take it from a student who went there for 6 years, this school is great.


Posted August 19, 2013

My boys have been at this school since it began in 2007. The staff in the front office is amazing and very helpful. We made the mistake of leaving for a charter school the second year, but returned after one semester as it was the worst school I had ever seen. Yes there have been many changes in leadership and this not the schools fault, but it is the fault of St. Lucie County school District whom I would give an "F" in rating ! The teachers are amazing, and I have never had any communication problems with the exception of the previous Principal in 2011, no names mentioned, but several teachers and families left during that year. The only issue I have is that there use to be higher level classes for those students that desire a higher level of academics. Now however, the district believes that by placing all levels together, the higher level kids will help the lower level kids. Unfortunately this looks good on paper, but what really happens is the teachers end up dealing more with behavior issues and kids that do not want to learn, and can't teach the kids that want to achieve more with their education!!! Speak up for your children and what they have earned!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

The front office staff are welcoming for the most part. However, when it comes to the rest of the staff I'm not impressed. The principal,dean and nurse are less than responsive to the needs of the parents or the students. They run the school like a glorified jail. The principal is cold and lacks the ability to relate to the parents. I had the displeasure of finding that out the hard way when they called security on me for bringing my son to the elementary moving up ceremony for our daughter. Our son hurt his rib and didn't attend school there that day so they said he was being truant. They preach family values but made him sit in the office and miss his sisters graduation. Apparently, we werent the only ones harrassd by this outrageous rule. Another parent told my husband they actually removed her son and later called, yelling at her. One dean in particular thinks that by yelling like an animal at our children during lunch,it will make them behave. My son is terrified of her and honestly,I was in shock. The list goes on but I only have so much room. I can't wait until my kids are out of this school or the principal is replaced by someone with real family values!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2013

This is the worse school in saint Lucie county. The ESE Department Sucks! The staff is'nt friendly. They do not have an open dorr policy if parents have a concern or to see what their kid is learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2012

We love this school. My kids are very very happy there, love their teachers, and have been accelerating in their classes. Great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

My 2 children have attended this school for the last 3 years. Every year they get a new principal, The latest whom I have never met or even seen, and I have left her several messages,needing to speak to her about my 2nd graders teacher turn over rate. The Teacher turn over rate is unbelievable. Last year my 2nd Grade Daughter had 3 different Teachers. Communication between Parent/Teacher is nonexistent, untill its to late,then a meeting is called. Per the Elementary Guidance Counsler, assistance is not offered to children struggling in a subject.I was pretty much told we " dont have the funds and your on your own". As for the dress code, if they would worry about teaching the kids as much as they worry about what they are wearing the kids would benefit greatly, and if your going to enforce a dress code maybe they need to practice what they preach. If the kids have to wear it, so should the faculity
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

I have two children in Allapattah Flats. They've been enrolled there for three years. Every year we've had a new principle, the teacher turn-over is unreal, teacher/parent communication is non-existent, the kids hardly ever get to go outside and be active, the school hours changed and ruined my kids enjoyment in school. My children have been on the honor roll every quarter they have been in the school. Not sure the school is challenging enough. Bullying and police presence are the norm. Not too happy we decided to send our children here. I believe the younger siblings will be attending a K-8 closer to home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

With all respect, the worst school my kids had ever been. People from the office are really nice and helpful. There is not feedback with the teachers AT ALL. There is not parent-teacher communication at all. Bullying and you get a hard time to get help about it from teachers. I have not met the principial yet, never have seen her around myself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

i love this school all the teachers are nice i got my grades up and alot of nice peple
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2009

Great School. My daughter is doing excellent. We relocated here and at first she was not doing very well. She just made 'A' honors. Everyone at this school is wonderful. Thank You
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2009

Awesome school! My son loves it and he is doing so well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

My son loves his teacher and I am sooo proud of all the wonderful people that are trully invested in this school. It has been a great experience for my kindergartener.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2008

Everyone at this school seems to like their job and that is the first important step. It reflects on the kids. This is such a beautiful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2008

My son goes to this school. It's a great school! Teachers are wonderful! only concern: need to worry less about dress code (belt design)....Getting a little over the top! Kids need to express who they are a little! Otherwise...awesome school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

My daughter goes to this school. She went from having D's and F's from her previous school to A's and B's. The teachers provide challenging, but interesting lessons for the kids. Not only are the teachers exceptional, but the administrators too.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
29%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
32%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

101 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

160 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
65%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 37% 42%
Black 32% 23%
Hispanic 25% 29%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%65%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Patricia Galloway
Fax number
  • (772) 468-5013

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12051 NW Copper Creek Dr
Port St. Lucie, FL 34987
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 468-5050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Kidzone Preschool Academy
Port St. Lucie, FL


St. Lucie Academy
Port St. Lucie, FL


Manatee Academy K-8
Port St. Lucie, FL


St. Lucie West K-8 School
Port St. Lucie, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT