Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Punta Gorda, FL
Students enrolled: 1,903
 

3 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Charlotte High School 5

Posted March 07, 2015
- a parent
This is an award winning school! Some of the best schools in southwest Florida are HERE!

Charlotte High School 2

Posted February 18, 2014
- a community member
this school is great based on a athletic perspective but academic it is a horrible school, staff is unwilling to compromise at all with a student on any schedule changes unless they find it satisfactory not what the student finds satisfactory, so much for being able to think for yourself as a young adult. I was enrolled in this school and was in the dual enrollment for the technical centers aeronautical program. I dropped out of this school however and joined florida virtual school for my final year due to the assistant principal at this school harassing me during a parent conference meeting. Some of the staff at this school should be thoroughly looked into before being promoted into such placements but that doesn't seem to be that case. However overall, the school itself is a nice scenery but wasn't the scenery for me because of certain individuals and the way they handled things. Students as high school students, have no freedom what so ever, felt like I was being punished every day I attended this school. What would help improve Charlotte high would be staff who understand students better and less elementary school rules for future society leaders.


Charlotte High School 4

Posted February 16, 2014
- a community member
I was a student at Charlotte High from 2007-2011. Charlotte High has a great Advanced Placement program. They are constantly involved in the community. There are many after school programs and many electives. Yes the year that Charlotte High got a D rating but that year was one of the lower performing class. The next year we were an A school. Port Charlotte High was an A the year Charlotte got a D. And then the next year it flip flopped. I can tell you it is not the teachers downfall in many cases, but lack of participation from students. Charlotte High in 2007 up until 2010 was recovering from Hurricane Charley and I can only assume education was effected. The new school is amazing and has state of the art equipment. There is plenty of enough room for a growing population, and new classes were being introduced when I left. All of the teachers are very knowledgeable and helpful, and the administration is an always present force. Fights happen rarely and are quickly taken care of by the school police and deans. My sister was at Charlotte until 2013, and Charlotte High was making many improvements. I can't wait to see how this school continues to rebuild and grow.

Charlotte High School 5

Posted January 07, 2011
- a student
Charlotte High School is now an A school, so think twice before you talk. this is an amazing school. personally, i am a senior at Charlotte, i went to PCHS to take the SAT's, and the teacher i had was horrible, mean in everyway. i knew i wasn't at home there. Charlotte's teachers are very welcoming and amazing. we have such good chemistry between the teachers and students. so now we're an all around great school. great education, great staff, great SPORTS! LETS GO TARPONS! GATA!

Charlotte High School 0
no rating

Posted December 01, 2009
- a parent
Charlotte is a D-school for being Destroyed by Hurricane Charley still being rebuilt after five and a half years.. D for Deplorable conditions like no students in the history of Charlotte County have ever endured: portable facilities, no lockers, getting soaked in rain storms. Detours over a spread out, construction site campus, cause students to lose 60-minutes of teaching each day just getting to class. Yet in 2009, Charlotte High School still leads Charlotte County in the important things: SAT, ACT scores and in Advance Placements (OK athletics too). If a school with a long and proud history, that is the center of a tight-knit, supportive community appeals to you, then come be a Tarpon. Port Charlotte and Lemon Bay also offer fine programs - Please don t judge those schools by individuals who feel the need to go to any site that will have them and trash a neighboring school.


Charlotte High School 5

Posted November 25, 2009
- a student
Everything is great here, from sports to academics.

Charlotte High School 0
no rating

Posted November 20, 2009
- a parent
This is a 'D' school anyway you slice it up. There are lots of excuses and made about the numbers, but the fact of the matter is a D is a D. Port Charlotte is an 'A' school for the past two years. They achieved this for a reason. Charlotte's school culture is much more oriented towards athletics. Don't say that it is balanced, it isn't. Think twice before enrolling your child here.

Charlotte High School 1

Posted November 06, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Charlotte High School 4

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
Both teachers and administrative personnel have been so friendly, helpful, and respectful toward parents and students. We really like this school!!

Charlotte High School 1

Posted August 17, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Charlotte High School
1250 Cooper Street, Punta Gorda, FL  33950
(941) 575-5450
Last modified Charlotte High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Charlotte High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top