Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,928 students|Charlotte
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Charlotte High School 5

Posted March 07, 2015
- a parent
This is an award winning school! Some of the best schools in southwest Florida are HERE!

Charlotte High School 2

Posted February 18, 2014
- a community member
this school is great based on a athletic perspective but academic it is a horrible school, staff is unwilling to compromise at all with a student on any schedule changes unless they find it satisfactory not what the student finds satisfactory, so much for being able to think for yourself as a young adult. I was enrolled in this school and was in the dual enrollment for the technical centers aeronautical program. I dropped out of this school however and joined florida virtual school for my final year due to the assistant principal at this school harassing me during a parent conference meeting. Some of the staff at this school should be thoroughly looked into before being promoted into such placements but that doesn't seem to be that case. However overall, the school itself is a nice scenery but wasn't the scenery for me because of certain individuals and the way they handled things. Students as high school students, have no freedom what so ever, felt like I was being punished every day I attended this school. What would help improve Charlotte high would be staff who understand students better and less elementary school rules for future society leaders.


Charlotte High School 4

Posted February 16, 2014
- a community member
I was a student at Charlotte High from 2007-2011. Charlotte High has a great Advanced Placement program. They are constantly involved in the community. There are many after school programs and many electives. Yes the year that Charlotte High got a D rating but that year was one of the lower performing class. The next year we were an A school. Port Charlotte High was an A the year Charlotte got a D. And then the next year it flip flopped. I can tell you it is not the teachers downfall in many cases, but lack of participation from students. Charlotte High in 2007 up until 2010 was recovering from Hurricane Charley and I can only assume education was effected. The new school is amazing and has state of the art equipment. There is plenty of enough room for a growing population, and new classes were being introduced when I left. All of the teachers are very knowledgeable and helpful, and the administration is an always present force. Fights happen rarely and are quickly taken care of by the school police and deans. My sister was at Charlotte until 2013, and Charlotte High was making many improvements. I can't wait to see how this school continues to rebuild and grow.

Charlotte High School 5

Posted January 07, 2011
- a student
Charlotte High School is now an A school, so think twice before you talk. this is an amazing school. personally, i am a senior at Charlotte, i went to PCHS to take the SAT's, and the teacher i had was horrible, mean in everyway. i knew i wasn't at home there. Charlotte's teachers are very welcoming and amazing. we have such good chemistry between the teachers and students. so now we're an all around great school. great education, great staff, great SPORTS! LETS GO TARPONS! GATA!

Charlotte High School
no rating

Posted December 01, 2009
- a parent
Charlotte is a D-school for being Destroyed by Hurricane Charley still being rebuilt after five and a half years.. D for Deplorable conditions like no students in the history of Charlotte County have ever endured: portable facilities, no lockers, getting soaked in rain storms. Detours over a spread out, construction site campus, cause students to lose 60-minutes of teaching each day just getting to class. Yet in 2009, Charlotte High School still leads Charlotte County in the important things: SAT, ACT scores and in Advance Placements (OK athletics too). If a school with a long and proud history, that is the center of a tight-knit, supportive community appeals to you, then come be a Tarpon. Port Charlotte and Lemon Bay also offer fine programs - Please don t judge those schools by individuals who feel the need to go to any site that will have them and trash a neighboring school.


Charlotte High School 5

Posted November 25, 2009
- a student
Everything is great here, from sports to academics.

Charlotte High School
no rating

Posted November 20, 2009
- a parent
This is a 'D' school anyway you slice it up. There are lots of excuses and made about the numbers, but the fact of the matter is a D is a D. Port Charlotte is an 'A' school for the past two years. They achieved this for a reason. Charlotte's school culture is much more oriented towards athletics. Don't say that it is balanced, it isn't. Think twice before enrolling your child here.

Charlotte High School 4

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
Both teachers and administrative personnel have been so friendly, helpful, and respectful toward parents and students. We really like this school!!


Charlotte High School 4

Posted March 23, 2009
- a student
The school is taking way to long to build and the football field cost way to much money but there was a reason it was built first and as you can see if you go to our school that where the old one was in now occupied with other buildings and another construction site.. It also has many activities after school though a lot is directed to sports arent all schools and they have many honors programs for those who are no tinto sports. Also if you are a good student and want to help improve your education you are able to go to the Edison College campus. Which I think is a great opurtunity that not enough students take advantage of.

Charlotte High School
no rating

Posted February 01, 2009
- a student
Truthfully, i think the school focuses way to much on sports and not much on academics. from what i've seen, we have really bright students at the school, but nothing academically is being overviewed or praised. A students wins a rare scholarship in florida (or thee are scholarship oppurunities) and it takes a 5 sec blip on WCHS, but the football team losing against another school takes 2 minutes to show. i don't know, i just think the school could be a bit better in some areas then others.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Charlotte High School
1250 Cooper Street, Punta Gorda, FL  33950
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (941) 575-5450
Last modified Charlotte High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top