Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Punta Gorda Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1141 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 19, 2013

We are new to the area but so far, PGMS has been terrific! The guidance counselors worked with us to ensure my 2 children were in the appropriate classes. Since we are from the north, the boys are ahead of the norm and were placed in advanced classes. The teachers are wonderful about keeping the students challenged and engaged. They are very open with communicating with parents and stay on top of any potential issues. The guidance dept has worked extensively with me to ensure my child's 504 has been updated and carried out, even suggesting new ideas as well. I cannot say enough good things about this school. The only "drawback" if you will, which would be present at any school, us that there are a number of rude, obnoxious kids just looking to start trouble and I think some if the teachers turn a blind eye to it, saying "kids will be kids".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

To be honest, I did not like this school at all. In my opinion it's getting worse every year. The school has a nice campus, but the staff isn't the best. I was put in mostly regular classes even though at my previous school I was in all honors (not the best guidance counselors). It was frustrating because I felt like the teachers only liked the gifted students and could care less about the students that were labeled "regular/mainstream/average".


Posted May 1, 2010

If you want me to be nice I hate the school systems here! My daughter hates them too! The school systems dont provide enough and they are way to strict. I am taking her out and bringing her to Sarasota Schools and I dont reccomend these schools I am sorry there just not good. 1 out of 5
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2010

The principal is GREAT and so is the guidance staff. If I have ever had any problems or questions they have been answered quickly and effectively . The school was destroyed from Hurricane Charley but has come back stronger than ever. It is truely a future- foward school with the technology they have now. I would put my kids there all over again and would recommend it to anyone. I have been on PTO and SAC for the entire time and it is well worth it just to get to know the school, teachers, and staff. They are wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2010

This school has so much bullying going on. The teachers don't seem to do much about it and it's getting worse. A lot of fighting and drugs as well being done in school. I am looking to take my daughter out and drive to North Port.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

this one of the greatest schools my child has been to
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

This middle school has an outstanding, energetic staff from the top-notch principal to the quality teachers. The new school building is state of the art.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

i love this school it has the coolest teathers and it is the best middle school in the world
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2006

The school is horrible. The academics are questionable and discipline is lacking. The staff do not seem to care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2006

i am new to the area and my children have just started at punta gorda. they say they love the teachers and they are all great! but the kids don't make to much effort to get to know any of the newer students! but other than that my kids love it! the academics are far more advanced!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2006

I recently moved to Punta Gorda and my 13 year old is in the eighth grade at Punta Gorda Middle School. I feel that the teachers make no effort to help the children with their academics. It seems that they just teach the lessons and move on and don't care if the students have learned the material or not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2006

My 13 year old has been at punta gorda for all 3 of her middle school years, except for 3 months she spent at murdock middle in port charlotte, fl. And she loves it. She says they offer more that she likes than murdock did, and the teachers are more involved with the students, than the teachers at murdock were. I know that as a parent that the teachers at punta gorda middle seem to make a much larger effort to keep the parents involved, than the staff at murdock middle school did. I would recommend punta gorda middle to anyone who is new to the area and trying to find a good school for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

I am new to the area and my son is new to the school and I feel there was no guidance for him or I.....New students and parents need more information about the school teachers and the things offered by the school!! In addition there is not enough communication between the teachers and parents!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

383 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

383 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

373 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

375 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

317 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

386 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

386 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

384 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

385 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 76%
Hispanic 11%
Black 9%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 47%53%61%
Master's degree 51%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 Education Avenue
Punta Gorda, FL 33950
Website: Click here
Phone: (941) 575-5485

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Good Shepherd Day School
Punta Gorda, FL


Compass Learning Center
Punta Gorda, FL


Florida Prep School
Port Charlotte, FL



Grace Community School
Port Charlotte, FL


Charlotte Harbor School
Punta Gorda, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT