Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,288 students|Hillsborough
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
65 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 80 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Winthrop Charter School 1

Posted July 28, 2016
- a parent
They sent an offer to attend via email! I call and I was informed the computer sent out false offers! Very disappointing ! This should not happen! Maybe an example of their lack of organization and leadership!

Winthrop Charter School 5

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
My son has just completed his 8th grade year. He had attended since fourth grade. I am happy to say that he will be going on to high school fully prepared and has been accepted into a prestigious high school program. His teachers have always been easy to communicate with and helpful when in need.


Winthrop Charter School 1

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
This school is a complete and utter nightmare to any teenager/preteen. Almost all of the "good" reviews of this school are posted by elementary school parents, not middle school parents. The elementary school is very good, and deserves the reviews given, but the middle school is horrible. As an 8th grade student who came in during 5th grade receiving ALL A's, i was very happy in elementary school. As I entered 6th grade, I noticed a decline in my work ethic. By 7th grade, there were 7 civics substitutes who they seem to have found on craigslist, 3 E.L.A subs, and they were all careless and inconsiderate. Now in my 8th grade year, depression, stress, and anxiety have taken over my life. the teachers are horrible, and most staff is EXTREMELY rude. I would NOT, under any circumstances, recommend this school. I'd rather go to McLane or Guinta than this school.

Winthrop Charter School 1

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
Very unprofessional staff work at this school. I advise all parents considering this school to stay far away from it. If you have a child entering kindergarten and you want to be apart of the experience, CHOOSE ANOTHER SCHOOL. You will only be invited into the school the first day then the rest of the school year you have to leave them at the door of the cafeteria. You WILL NOT be allowed back in the school at ALL! Kids scream in the mornings and look distress in the afternoon. Choose I another school for your children. Save yourself and family a stressful school year.

Winthrop Charter School 1

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
Very unprofessional office staff. I was told my daughter (who was hospitalized) would have her spot saved, she was accepted and I registered. When she was released from the hospital I spoke to the assistant principle who assured me she had a spot. Hours later I was called and told they were full. I had already notified my daughter and others she would be attending. I would not suggest this school for children with disabilities and/or medical conditions. .


Winthrop Charter School 5

Posted May 11, 2015
- a parent
My Daughter started during winter and the staff and teachers made the transition for my daughter very nice. The teachers communicate well via phone or email. The staff is always friendly and knowledgeable and I love that the parents have to be involved when it comes to the students. I applied for my son and he will be attending next year and I am so happy for us to be a parent of the Winthrop family!!

Winthrop Charter School 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
Amazing school for my 1st grader. She is thriving and is given every opportunity needed to continue to thrive. I would recommend to anyone!

Winthrop Charter School 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
My child has been at Winthrop since she was in Kindergarten. I was so worried for her to leave and go off to school, but meeting her teacher made me feel at ease. She took the time to meet with my child and make her feel ready for her first day. I highly recommend Winthrop as my second child will be there soon.


Winthrop Charter School 5

Posted April 30, 2015
- a parent
Great school! My kids attended this school from day one and I never had any issues. The teachers, principal, staffs, and administration are all amazing. I would definitely recommend WCS.

Winthrop Charter School 5

Posted April 14, 2015
- a parent
My child's name is Carly .Winthrop charter school is a great school and I highly recommend this school to anyone who are looking for a great school.

Nearby schools

Winthrop Charter School
6204 Scholars Hill Lane, Riverview, FL  33578
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 80 reviews. (813) 235-4811
Last modified Winthrop Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top