Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
500 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Winthrop Charter School 5

Posted March 28, 2015
- a parent
Winthrop is a awesome school! Ever since my daughter was accepted in to this school she has been excelling. My daughter is always on honor role and I would like to say thanks to all of the teachers and staff for participating in my child life. I'm a active parent so therefore me and the teachers works hand and hand as it should be. Although my daughter suffers from asthma she has no problem being administering her self a treatment under supervision of staff. All the staff in the main office is a really huge help with my child however I have to give extra kudos to Ms. Harbaugh for being so extra attentive towards my child. She's great with all the children and parents. Ms. Harbaugh is amazing and very understanding at all times no matter the traffic that comes through the front office she's giving her all and maintaining that perfect smile as always. She is so wonderful I hope she doesn't depart ways n time soon my daughter has another to go until she goes to middle school then she can leave and go over to the middle school :) I rate this school 5 stars because thats all I can rate because if I had more they will have more :)

Winthrop Charter School 1

Posted August 04, 2014
- a parent
My son completed 7th gr and daughter completed 3rd. What a disappointment 7th gr was this year with regards to the number of teacher changes. He must have had at least 4 different teachers for Lang Arts and probably the same for Math. What a disaster! Very seriously considering switching to public.


Winthrop Charter School 1

Posted July 25, 2014
- a parent
my daughter attended the Middle school here, The Principal is Never at any event, concert, awards, talent shows. The parent communication is poor they send emails out to inform you of a event that is the same day!. they have assigned seats for Lunch, No locker rooms to change in/out for PE. No Gym they do all the sports on the field, with no cover for shade. The math teacher is a joke! he went so fast more students failed then actually passed his class. I wish I would have had another option for my child.. I am concerned that she will be behind in High school.

Winthrop Charter School 5

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
This has been an excellent school for my daughter. She attended 7th grade last year and now 8th grade this year. There are plenty of activities (which she cares about) and plenty of individual attention from the teachers (which I care about).

Winthrop Charter School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
This is our second year at winthrop, I currently have a first grader and a eight grader, I have nothing bad to said about the school only pros for example great communication with teachers and staff, it's always a sport program or tutoring (if that is case) available for the kids, I like the fact that they will always challenge the kids academically. The school is growing and I am happy to be part of it, this is the result of parents getting involved with the school and voluntaring. Any issue that I had in the pass is been address promptly and professionally.


Winthrop Charter School 1

Posted March 05, 2014
- a parent
My son was attending this school since it opened. I thought was great the first 2 years. This year has been a HUGE Disappointment . The teachers at this school seem to have zero or very little experience. The curriculum in Reading is very advanced so when you have teacher's with little experience it does not make a good combination. There are a couple of good ones if you get lucky. The level of disrespect I had from 2 teachers this year is just UNEXPECTABLE . There are many teachers that have left this school with reasons" unknown" Lack of Communication with teachers emailing back, way too many TESTS in 2nd grade , a lot teachers leaving or little experience, your lucky if the kids get to play outside once a week, and they have zero socialization . Public is soooo much better!!!

Winthrop Charter School 4

Posted September 08, 2013
- a parent
Winthrop is beginning its 3rd year and received a "B" as their school grade after being open its second year! After being open the first year they were a "C" school. This means that many of those students made academic gains. My children have been there since the beginning. My second grader's reading scores are above average and my 8th grader received a Level 3 on the math and reading FCAT. They have a growing athletic program (cheerleading, flag football, basketball, soccer, volleyball, and golf) as well as interesting afterschool clubs like the Broadway club, robotics, etc. There is a great deal of parent involvement, and academic leadership in the school. It's a great alternative to what's out there for elementary and middle school in the Riverview, Gibsonton, Apollo Beach areas.

Winthrop Charter School 5

Posted March 26, 2013
- a parent
My son attends Winthrop Charter School and my dauther will attend in 2 years. The teachers are excellent and the Principal is awesome!!! The activities they offer for all grades are exactly what the students need to become leaders later in life. My kids will be there until the end of middle school and we hope they build a high school so they can stay there until they go to college.


Winthrop Charter School 5

Posted August 09, 2012
- a parent
Yes... this school was given a "C" for last year. It was the very 1st year of being open!!! That means that ALL the kids from the entire county who were not well taught came to this school and now the repair work has to begin. I would have liked the grade to be higher... but I know it will be next year. This school is amazing. The staff is so helpful and the teachers are going far and above what is expected of them. I know for a fact that my daughters K5 class last year what a hot mess when the teacher got them. Some of the kids could not spell or even pick out their own name. By the end of the year.... all of the kid were up to and had moved beyond K5 reading levels. Amazing! Kuddos to this school and keep up the fantastic work!!

Winthrop Charter School 2

Posted July 30, 2012
- a parent
"A great school has excellent teachers, strong principal/school leadership and challenging academic programs" to quote this website. I can find none of these here. Some of the teachers I have encountered are sub-par with short tempers, and the principal is a "myth" because I haven't seen him one time during the entire time my 2 kids attended. The earned school grade of C makes me wonder what is really going on here?!? This is supposed to be a "charter" school where education is top priority, yet I'm beginning to believe that there is something else happening since in the first year of existence we can't even get an A. Both my kids passed with flying colors, but not because of anything they have gotten in Florida.

Nearby schools

Winthrop Charter School
204 Scholars Hill Lane, Riverview, FL  33578
(813) 235-4811
Last modified Winthrop Charter School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top