Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rodgers Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 888 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2012

Rodgers is one of the best schools you could ever send your kids to.. so what if there are fights the teachers are great especially the chorus teacher and I would never EVER change anything because everyone is really nice once you get to know them.. just don't hang out with the wrong crowd :) I am a student that is currently going there and I love this school :)


Posted February 4, 2012

this school is amazing so what if there r a lot of fights the teachers r great expecially the chorus teacher i sucked at math but then i went to this school and get straight a's teachers take their time to explain things. if u want ur child to learn go here this is a fantastic school.


Posted January 7, 2012

It's sad to see reviews that are misspelled. Don't you people at least use spell check? It obviously shows that some of you had a bad education and here I am researching schools only to find reviews filled by unintelligent beings. Teachers can't do much for bullying. It's a PARENTS responsibility!!! I'm not for bullying but do believe the best solution against bullying is knowing self-defense. So DO something for YOUR child and teach them self-defense. Stop being so lazy and dependent of others to fix your issues. I'm done here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2011

The staff is so RUDE and my step son is not learning a thing! They recomened that he be in regular classes and he is not where he needs to be, they really don't care either. This place is more like an innercity ghetto flop house where kids go to hang out. If it was up to me I would pull him out today!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2011

The school is really bad starting from staff, teachers and the kids. If you want your child not to learn anything send them there. Thank goodness my child is leaving this year. Do some search before you decide to send your child there. I wish I had done my..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

Mrs, Lopez is a great teacher ! I was able to attend the last parent and teacher night and Mrs. Lopes took her time explaining everything my son needed for Language Arts, Rodgers is overcrowded and his other teachers seemed to not be on point and on task as Mrs. Lopez is. This school needs more Teachers like her.


Posted December 29, 2010

iWent Too Rodgers 6th - 8th Grade . Its A Mixed School Of Good & Bad . But iWouldnt Say Its The Teachers Or Staffs Fault . Its The Parents Fault For Not Teaching There Child Right From Wrong . The Teachers Are Amazing & So Is The Staff . Every Adult There Is Willing Too Help Out Any Student At Any Time . My Grades Were Adverage & Above Adverage At Times . There Principal Sharron Tumicki Is Completely Amazing She Is The Sweetest Lady In The World , Shes There For Every Child At That School . None Of The Staff Would Let A Child Fall & Fail ; My Older Brother Went There & Mrs.Brown The Guidence Consouler & Mrs.Tumicki Helped My Brother Get Into South County So He Can Make Something Outta His Life & Now Hes Graduating This June & Goin To Johnston & Wells For Culinary . Rodgers Is A Great School & iRecomend It . iDearly Miss That School & Thoese Amazing Teachers (:


Posted April 26, 2010

rodgers is a good school.if you want your child to learn
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2009

rodgers is the best school ever!! my child loves it. her grades are consistantly good,and she love all her teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2009

my son attended rodgers middle for just 1 year and it was the worst experiance ever.the teacher do not pay attention to those whom need help i as a parent do not recommed this school to any one this school is out of control its full of bullies and teachers just dont care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2009

I am a Student at Rodgers Middle School and I think Rodgers is an Awesome school with great teachers and princepals and assitant princepals
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 21, 2008

All in all Rodgers has its ups and downs. It has bullies, it's over populated, many teachers are totally inconsiderate, and it's pretty gross. But I also think my teachers were good I learned alot, my guidance counselor was very nice and I'm glad I have her, the lunches aren't bad, and I have made many good friends. So I do think its an okay school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2008

This school is the worst middle school in Riverview. Uncontrolled students. Too many bullies, the staff didn't do anything to stop them. They punished the victims instead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

I am not a big fan of Rodgers Middle school, because the teachers are not involve with parent/ teacher communication as I think they should be. I think the principle is doing her best, however the teachers should carry most of the weight when it comes to this. Hopefully, the 2007-2008 school year will improve with parent/teacher communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

I think this school is horrible...Many of the teachers pay no attention and just give you work they dont even teach!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 18, 2007

i was a student at this school and i thought it was o.k. but some of the teachers just didnt pay attettion to the kids...and some of the teachers didnt explain anything......i had to drop out of math honors because of a teacher.. i was very angry but im in all honors classes now so im good =] so ya this school is ok but like i said..but i only liked some of the teachers. mr.klein was very cool and mr. gandhi, and mrs.pearson was pretty cool, o and uh mrs daly was awesome..most of the time =]
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2006

My children have attended wonderful elementary schools in Riverview, but when it came time for middle school there was no way I would send them to Rodgers. I have NEVER found any parent that had ONE good thing to say about this school. Am sending mine to a magnet school which is great (but inconvenient) and know many other parents here that are doing the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

My child is builled but they are a good school neverless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

Can't wait for my child to be out of this school. There is alot of bullying going on in this school, which does not make for a great teaching or learning environment. While there are some very good teachers at this school, in my experience the bad definetly outweigh the good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2005

Honestly, Rodgers Middle School is one of the worst middle schols i've come in contact with. My child has been going there since 7th grade and since then her grades have slipped greatly. I belive the teachers dont give enough effort in the classrooms beacause of the nummber of students they have to control. They spend half the class period trying to calm the students, and not all of the childrens needs get met. The hallways are packed with students and the behavior is afull. I hear of fights during the school day almost everyday. To tell you the truth, I cant wait until my child moves on to highschool where I hope she can get a better education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

294 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

284 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

346 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

345 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

343 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

274 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
73%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 42%
Hispanic 32% 29%
Black 21% 23%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%67%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 9%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Sharon Tumicki
Fax number
  • (813) 671-5245

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11910 Tucker Rd
Riverview, FL 33569
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 671-5288

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT