Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Providence Christian School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Riverview

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $132,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 6, 2010

My kids are in elementary school at PCS. This is their third year of enrollment. My kids are better educated than their public and homeschooled peers. Having my kids educated in a Christian environment has been such a blessing. I have been able to be very involved as a parent as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

My daughter attends Providence. I love the Christian environment and the biblical foundation the school instills in the students. My daughter has done very well academically, and socially has made friends. The administration has been responsive to concerns, and has addressed concerns. I think this is an outstanding school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

I went to this school for one year and hated it. A lot of the students were mean, and I had $30 stolen from my purse while at PE. The teachers aren't all qualified, but I will say that compared to the public schools in Riverview, it might be the better option, because at least it is a safe environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2007

I have the unique experience of being both a prior graduate of PCS and a parent of a wondeful young lady in high school at PCS. I will tell you from experince that the administration does care and act on concerns. The education is exceptional at PCS. I teach in the public school system and know what is being taught and how from personal experience. PCS outshines most public school educations. There are caring, experienced teachers and administration at PCS. The rules will help you in your future careers-- there are dress codes for most jobs, rules binding how and what you can do. PCS rules prepares you to have a successful career. It has always been a priviledge not a right to attend PCS, so if you want your child to have an excellent education, good friends, good attitude, right spirit then send them to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

I was a student at this school during most of my 8th grade year. I was led to believe that this was going to be a wonderful school, but I can say there was nothing wonderful about my experience there. The administration seemed more concerned with how the students behaved at home than who was being bullied or not. I was the target of bullying by many students. The education was poor: students had bad grades, and the faculty was more worried about what color jacket I wore, what color our socks and shoes were, and how well our shirts were tucked in. From the viewpoint of a student, I feel that many of the students, felt very oppressed due to the crazy dress codes and the overly strict rules about what one could and couldn't do at home. I'm now in public school and like it much better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2007

My two older sons entered PCS in the 9th grade after being homeschooled through 8th. The education they received earned one of them 100% Bright Futures and the other a 100% ROTC Scholarship along with Bright Futures. Each son participated in the sports program being mentored by some of the finest Christian men I have ever known. Over the 7 years that my sons attended PCS, I worked with the teachers, the staff, the administration, and other parents as a volunteer at sporting events, class fundraisers, and other school functions. Everyone at PCS was caring and supportive of the students. Unlike the large public schools in the area, PCS provides a family atmosphere that nurtures Christian faith, Christlike character, and personal spiritual growth. PCS prepares students both academically and spiritually to face life. My daughter begins 9th grade this fall. I am excited about another 4 years at PCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2006

Providence is an excellent school. I struggled with the decision to send them to a public school or private. The teachers are amazing and really care about each and every student. The progress is amazing, (my kids are in elementary school). The academics are more advanced then even the best public schools in our area. They also provide a great Christian atmosphere for young minds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2005

High school math is taught by a Mrs Tuzzolino, who has no degree. Kids are not prepared for the next grade. Most got D's.SAT's fall way behind for math. Don't go there after 8th grade, the school changes considerably. Not an accredited school, they are only an 'associate' of AACS, not a member, big difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

Providence provides a good foundation for the child. However I really think some of the disciplinary rules need to be reviewed. The phonics program is great with the math a little weak. Our overall experience was good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2005

School was great until high school. Admin doesn't really fix problems, just acknowledges them. Stay until high school, then get your kid out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2004

Providence Christian not only provides an excellent education for my children but also places a strong emphasis on good behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 42%
Hispanic 26% 29%
Black 16% 23%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5416 Providence Road
Riverview, FL 33578
Phone: (813) 661-0588

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT