Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ippolito Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 839 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

My daughter started a week ago. The registration process itself was an unorganized cluster. Staff to buisy to do it properly. No tour, no introduction to teacher, and they gave us the wrong room number and wrong directions to the class room. Good thing I went with my daughter her first day or she never would have found the class room I don't think. We moved from out of state and she does not understand the math. She said not once has a teacher shown her how to do the math. She said she asked for help today repeatedly and for hours the teacher responded "just a minute"... a substitute teacher again. She said the kids throw pencils, act out, swear, and the teachers scream at the top of the lungs frequently. She said the kids have all been nice to her, but despite that, she said she is frustrated because she feels "lost"...said the teachers just hand out papers and don't give instruction and she is begging me to get her out of the school. Will definately be putting in for school choice to try to get her into a much better rated school in which she is not a minority, but for now I am planning a visit tomarrow, and who knows, I may end up pulling her out and doing onlline for now
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2013

Avoid this school if you can. I have never seen such a disorganized /ghetto /rude /lacking school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

We have a new principal, new vice principal, lots of returning staff and lots of new staff. There are great new things that will be happening at this school. Please come to us with any concerns and we will do our best to address your needs. We want the best for our students and are working hard to make this a great place for your children. Keep an eye out many great things in store!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 29, 2013

Hello i have been at this school for 5th grade for 2012-2013 and let me tell you it was awesome! They had awesome field trips (but should have more) and awesome teachers - Mine we're Ms.Holland and Ms.Davis , if you have one then you're in luck! I only had some bullys - 2-3 , but 2 of them were teasing , which i did back cause i'm a kid! But 1 didn't like me but didn't threaten me at all. Maybe the NO-BULLY can improve a little more ! I sure will miss my friend (2 are going to giunta and ''1'' is going to mclane)


Posted July 19, 2012

i had recently got my nephews back in nov 2011 i enrolled them into this schoolwhenthey started at ippolio they were below level for their grade.. by the end of theyear they were both on level and passed to the next grade..Their teachers andthe rest of the ippolito staff did a wonderful job with them.. this school is a excellent school..


Posted March 24, 2012

I moved to Brandon from Chicago Illinois and this school is horrible and a disgrace. They have ghetto students that are not civilized and they are psychopaths . My daughter is in kindergarten and she has been there for five days and iam taking her out of that school Monday morning . Please whatever you parents do .. Don't send your child here if she or he has morals and is civilized .. I rather move back to Chicago then let her stay in this ghetto school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2012

This school is awful. Please if you are considering buying a house in this school district stay as far away from Ippolito as possible. Not only has my son suffered academically due to fights , bullying and other distractions taking place daily but we also had an incident recently where they "lost" my child. Yes LOST. He is a car rider and they put him on a bus (and not even the right bus). I never even received an apology or a call back from the vice principal as promised. I detest this school and I can't wait to get my son out of there. The only thing positive I can say is that my son's teacher is great. She obviously has a passion for what she does but due to circumstances at the school even a great teacher can't really make up for how awful this school is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

we lived in riverview in 2009. our daughter went to this school, and she hated it. it was a chore every morning to get her up and ready for school. it was even more diffucult to get her to do her home work every night. she gets along with every one, but this one kid always picked on her. we went to the teacher, no results. went to the principle, no results, so i took matters in my own hands and confronted the kid. no problems since then.she spent 1 year there, and we moved that summer , and shes loves her new school. if you can get your child into a diffrent school, please do so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

my children have attended this school for 3 weeks now and we moved here from out of state. I will say the area i live in in brandon is beautiful and with the amount of money we pay for rent here you would assume that your children would go to a nice safe school, however this is not the case. My son is in the 4th grade and he came from a great school with no violence and with him going to this school his first day there were 3 fist fights in the classroom, kids texting in the middle of class, the teacher yelling at the kids, and he is the only white kid in class. we are far from racist and i want him to be in a diverse school but this quickly became a problem. the 2nd day of class he began to get picked on. i assumed it was just the new kid thing and it would soon pass. it became almost a daily thing and it got to the point where the kids would sorround him and call him names and shove him. he never had troubles at any other school till here. he repeatedly told the teacher and that didnt solve the problem. the third week i unenrolled him. the only good thing about this school is the office staff. if you want your child to be safe do not send them here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

No complaints. Very well organized. My daughter loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

My daughter attends Ippolito and I think they do a decent job. My biggest concern is that for four consecutives years this school has not been able to improve test results. If the school does not improve, I will be faced with considering other near by and more well rated schools than Ippolitto
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

My son goes to Ippolito Elementary since 2/16/2009 and I am very, very happy with the staff/faculty especially they staff/faculty for 2009-2010. My son's teacher is Mr. Patterson (new teacher)... He is very professional !! Kudos to the staff/faculty at Ippolito Elememetary!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

I have personally never had any issues with anything with Ippolito except for the PTA and their fundraiser. Other than that everyone has been great. My daughter has been attending this school for 2 years now and has had 2 very excellent teachers. I am not sure what the previous poster was talking about, but from my experience I have always been informed about everything. I have always attended the parent/teacher conferences. Obviously if you don't attend those, how would you know about what your child is up to unless you specifically ask otherwise?? The only downfall is is that most parents are not involved with the kids, this is why the grading for the school is low. Maybe if they spent more time with their kids and helped them with homework, the grades would be better on the tests to give the results for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2009

Lack of leadership/ lack of participation from administration with preventing problems at the school. Kids are not sent home when they should be etc.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2008

My son transferred to this school from an innercity school and I have to say, that I was far more impressed with the school that he came from! My son has faced bullying, picked up terrible habbits, and become a discipline nightmare since enrolling there. The teachers seem to have no autority over the children which is evident when an honor roll child like mine, with no behavioral issues transfers to a school, then begins behaving badly. It's a problem! My child has begun struggling academically, which I feel is directly related to the climate at this school of poor respect and authority between the teachers, students, and parents. I bought a home here and was told this was the school my child had to attend. I should have fought to have him go elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

My daughter was in Mrs. VanCor's class and the involvement she has with the parents as well as the students is incredible. I couldn't have asked for a better teacher for my daughter's first year in elementary school and my first time working with a teacher as a parent. The school rating may not be great but you cannot put the blame on the teachers, you have to also wonder about the parent's involvement in the child's life. Remember, you can lead a horse to water but that doesn't mean you can make it drink...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

The staff are wonderful, and they worked hard in this school. I loved the Dr. Seuss Days they did, My kids love and excited to go to school on those days. Go... Mrs VanCor for your idea, and the teachers idol, but what about the children too...I think they need to do lot of things like this with the children too such as Talent show, International day for each class represent a country or dance. They also need to have like an appreciation night so parents can be motivated to participate because they see the progress of their child or children around everybody else. They also need to go for field trips to the children who have a good behavior so that way most of them are motivated to be good. This is the only school I have known that don't take children for a field trip....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

Both my children attend this school for 2 years now after moving from Atlanta. The schools in Atlanta are great, I don't think that this school lives up to that, but, part of it has to do with parents. There is little PTA participation here at all. Yet I am satisfied with the school as I can tell clearly the teachers are rated on their student's FCAT scores. Those teachers are under pressure and it shows. Both my kids had to really work hard and did good on the FCAT. In general, I'm happy. Students come from all social and economic classes - guess what folks, that is the same in the real world they will face when adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

i hated this school.teachers didnt even try to help my 3rd grader instead they just failed her without taken regards to my complaining and constantly at the school wanting information.now it has turn into a ghetto school and i would never send my kids there again they go to apollo beach where i have had 3 honor roll students since they started there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

I would say that the appearance of this school is very picturesque with its serene country like setting. I am a concerned parent who has a child that has recently transfered from an out of state school. This school appears to have great staff and be well organized. Unfortunately most of those students who attend this school have a lack of parent involvement and such. The students I feel are all over the map as far as academic growth and limit those who are excelling in the classroom. The teachers are trying their best to meet each childs individual needs, while also teaching the class as a whole in wich holds those back that are progressing much faster. There also has been problems addressed with improper use of language, etc. A new school obviously has it's kinks to work out, and I am sure this one will in the near future...
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
33%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
25%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 49% 23%
Hispanic 28% 29%
White 18% 42%
Asian 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%67%61%
Master's degree 27%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Susan Brill
Fax number
  • (813) 672-5184

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6874 S Falkenburg Rd
Riverview, FL 33578
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 672-5180

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT