Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Center Academy-Riverview

Private | 4-12 | 100 students

We are best known since 1968 for educating students with LD & ADHD.
 
 

 
 

Living in Riverview

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $132,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

They are best for my child. I love to people who work communicate.Teachers are best Mrs.Cooper exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2012

What an incredible experience my son had at Center Academy in Riverview. He has Aspergers Syndrome and we were so afraid for his survival in a regular junior/senior high school. My husband came across info on this school and we were lucky enough to qualify for the Mackay Scholarship. With that in mind and the student to teacher ratio, we decide to try enrolling him and we're so happy we did. Our son has been there for five years and has really excelled both in academics and in his self-confidence due to the nurturing environment and the ability to proceed at his own pace. He are excited to say he will graduate this month. Thank you Mr. Stone and all your wonderful staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

Since attending Center Academy, my son's self-esteem has improved significantly. He is confident about his school work and I hear him talking about so many things he is learning. And since FCAT isn't his focus, he is able to stay on a topic that he might not fully understand the first time it is presented. Being able to work at his own pace takes some of the pressure off. He is so proud when he conquers something and moves up to the next level! And where do I begin to describe the change in our home life since we are not fighting about homework for hours? The staff at Center Academy is priceless. While still authority figures for my son, they seem like extended family to us. Their kindness, compassion and concern for the students is perfectly balanced with their knowledge and proficiency as educators. As Director of Center Academy, Mr. Stone takes an active role in ensuring that each child believes the best about themselves and makes them work hard to reach their best! He not only teaches moral values, he lives them. His leadership is strong and firm, and the students respect him. His open-door policy to both students and parents helps bridge the gap in learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2011

My son did not do well in the public school - Too many students to get the individual attention he needed, and he did not do well at the charter school-Pepin Elementary-too many distractions from profoundly handicapped children. He he has really come out of his shell and has come up tow and maybe three grade levels. He has only been there for 1 academic year but I can really see an improvement in his communication skills and in his reading skills. IU am very please with the progress that he has made and look forward to even more progress in the future. I am grad I fond Center Academy for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

My grandson went to Center Academy for 3 years. He turned 18 during the summer and could not enter regular high school for his remaining 2 years of school. He went and took the TABE test to go to GED classes and was told he had a 5th grade education! He was supposed to have a 10th grade education according to C.A.! Think about that!!!!!


Posted January 28, 2010

The shool is great but the the staff here is the best ever my dauther has been there for the last few years of her high school and i will be the first to say Thanks to Mr.Stone for all he has done for her. I wish i would have found the school sooner for her they care about your kids like they are their own here. I have nothing but good to say BUT THANKS CENTER ACADEMY ! Brenda Owen
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

For those children that have slight to moderate learning disablities, this school is absolutely wonderful... the teachers treat all of the children equally and with patience.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2007

My son loves this school. He is in the 7th grade and actually enjoys going to school. He has ADD and this school help keep him focused. They keep him from getting distracted by having them sit at desk with partitions on each side of the desk. The school work is individualized for each child. He went from making D's and F's at Burns Middle School to making straight A's and improving his grade level. They don't have homework unless they need extra help on a subject. There is no art or music program and a small sports program. But overall this is the best school for my son and for me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2006

My son attented this school for 3 years and graduated from this school. This is a great school and I would recommend it. Instruction is individualized and that is what was needed for my SLD & ADHD child. No availability of music or little for art but they do have a few team sports and many opportunies for students to serve in the community. I believe that this school was much much better than the public school my son previously attended. He often had little to no homework which helped us to have family time again!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 44%
Black 6% 29%
Hispanic 4% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Hillsborough Community College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Highest Center Academy Parent Satisfaction (2013)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 8:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dave Stone
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAPSEC
  • NIPSA
Fax number
  • (813) 677-1940

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
More from this school
  • Happy. Secure. Inspired. Center Academy students appreciate the individualized attention and support they receive from teachers who understand them. Parents appreciate their children’s opportunities for success. Founded in 1968, Center Academy is accredited by NIPSA and SACS, accepts McKay and Step Up Scholarships, and provides a college prep environment for students with different learning styles. We work with grades 4-12 and offer dual enrollment, summer programs and a small, safe setting.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$7000 - $13000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Hillsborough Community College
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10518 Riverview Dr
Riverview, FL 33578
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 677-7777

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT