Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sessums Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 807 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2014

I love this school. My two older children went here and my youngest one goes here too. We have had nothing but great experiences. My children have all been on the honor roll or principals honor roll as well so the curriculum is challenging but the teachers make learning fun. I also think the staff is amazing with the kids. Those kids are well cared for and truly loved by the staff. I would recommend this school to anybody who asked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2014

This school is average. The school is not welcoming of parents. One parent volunteer for activities and I was told that I could not accompany my young child to breakfast. The curriculum is boring and uninspiring. Tons of worksheets and teaching to tests. We are looking into magnet and charter school options for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2013

Great school, great teachers. They are wonderful with my child that has autism :) Actually went to Winthrope and pulled him out to go to sessums because it was that much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

SESSUMS- I have a 1st grader w/ADHD, and I have struggled trying to manage his difficulties without meds.This yr I put him on it,so his self esteem wouldnt be affected &he could focus.(He was A&B student without meds, but very impulsive and you had to tell him 4 times to do a task because he's gets distracted.) I made his teachers aware on 1st day of school and at great length.Since then, he's been made a spectacle of in front of his class when he's "not paying attention",made to eat lunch alone for a week because "he isn't eating his lunch", and I get called at work because " he wasn't focused for a 4 hour SAT test, and wasn't paying attention to the question being read to the class." WELL, lack of appetite is a side effect from his medication, so if he said he's not hungry, rather than punish him in front of his entire class, why not offer him a substitution like PB&J? She also talked about him w/teacher in the class next door, in a negative manner, in front of my son. I am hurt. My 6 y/o now comes home saying "it's ok mom,I am bad in her class,cuz she has to tell me to do stuff more than once,so I guess she's telling the truth." WHY WOULD A TEACHER LOWER A 6 Y/O SELF ESTEEM??
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2012

I attended this school K-5 and I had no complaints with any of my teachers.They were the foundation to my great grades even here in middle school.There were tons of activities throughout the year and if you had any problems,the guidance counselor or teacher was there for you.Right from kindergarten they teach you to respect one another and the guidance counselor always talks to classes each month with different themes.The school is kept clean and very green unlike my current school.


Posted February 27, 2012

My son is in kindergarden at Sessums and I am starting to become very displeased with his teacher. I admit he sometimes has trouble focusing but his teacher sends him home with 6 or more things that he hadn't completed during the school day. I find that to be unacceptable. She should put a little more focus on him and make sure he is completing his assignments. I agree it is my responsibility to help him with his hw which I do every day but it is her responsibility to teach him and make sure he is keeping up with the class. I don't even receive notes telling me if he is falling behind or not. Only "turn in ASAP" on a sticky note attached to a bunch of assignments. She also forgets to send the assignments on friday and sends them monday expecting them back the next day. Having to do all that work in one night is frustrating to my son as I'm sure it would be for any child in kindergarden. I am hoping that things improve soon and that I am not going to have to spend the whole summer getting him caught up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

I agree...my son too is in the 4th grade. He is having difficulty with math and reading, but ALL this school worries about is FCAT! He is being bullied too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

My son attended Sessums for 3-5th grade. The teachers are wonderful. They are very involved in their students and their studies. The principal was wonderful and seemed to be very involved and supportive of her staff unlike the previous elementary school he attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

It's unfortunate with a site like this because so often people only come to share the things they are displeased with. I have had my children in Sessums since it opened and I have only had pleasant experiences. The teachers work hard and and PTA provides loads of fun activities for the kids. This school was a godsend to my son when my husband and I divorced and his teachers were more than willing to accomodate the split schedules and double the conferences. This school is a rare jewel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

I have 2 children in this school and I am not finding the teacher helpful at all. My oldest is in 4th grade and he is getting bullied and it is not being taken seroisly at this school. I am not sending them next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2009

My daughter went to Collins Elemenry for kindergarten and now attends Sessums for 1st grade. She is a young student and amazingly is do wonderful in Mrs. Flemmings triad. She has learned a great deal and has matured a lot in one year. I am satisfied with her teachers but not happy with the disorginization of the school. Picking her up is an absolute joke! There is no orginization or I.D. check. Not safe! I am satisfied with her class and her teachers but nothing else. This could be an excellent school if they took a few pointers from collins and made pick up a little more organized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2008

'A' rated school with excellent, caring teachers and hard working staff. Great PTA helps to enrich the school experience. Looking forward to another great year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

my daughter went here for kg...we were so please...mrs mounce is the best teacher that you could ask for...I only hope were that lucky again this year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

I am sadly disappointed with my daughter's experience in this school. Coming from an 'A' rated school to Sessums was a real 'let down'. The three teachers she has had duing the past two years were not focused on her learning. Additionally, the school's uniform policy is a joke. The prinicipal has told both my husband and myself that the uniforms are not mandatory. However, in order for a child to be a crossing guard, a student must wear a 'mandatory' uniform. This is both contridictory and ridiculous. I have dropped my daughter off at school numerous times and saw first hand, crossing guards not wearing uniforms. Tis school is discriminating against students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2007

My daughter has been at Sessums for two years and I am dreadding having to tell her she might have to change schools next year. I am spoiled by my experience at sessums and it will be difficult to find another public school that would measure up. She loves going to school, the PTA is very involved, and the teachers that I have had the pleasure of dealing with genuinely care. Ms Ms Mounce, Ms Mohammed, Ms Law, Ms Johnson- thank you. I must say the previous review is the exception rather than the norm. No school is perfect, but Sessums Elem is definitely one of the best out there. Period!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

I have kids in college, high school and middle school and never before in my life have I seen such a poorly managed school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2007

I would love to say thank you on behalf of Mrs. Howsare and myself. We love our students and truly want the best for them. Thanks for your wonderful remarks about us and the school we love! Thanks again, Ms. Simmons
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 29, 2007

My child loved his third grade teachers, Mrs. Howsare and Ms. Simmons. They both worked really hard to prepare him for FCAT. When he came to Sessums he was a grade level behind because he missed most of first grade. I have a special place in my heart for these two teachers. They are a rare find and my husband and I were truly blessed to have them both in our child's life. Thank you Mrs. Howsare and Ms. Simmons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Sessums is an 'A' school and also a 5 Star school of Excellence. I have had my twins there ever since it opened 3 years ago and We all love it. There is not a teacher that I would not want. They are all very good at what they teach. The music, are and p.e. programs are exceptional. There are many extracurricular activities like sock hops, resturant nights, skate nights, PTA sponsered events, Fall festivals and many other activities. The kids get snowcones (warm weather) and popcorn (cool weather) on Fridays. Parent involvement is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2005

Sessums has been a great school overall academically. The teachers have been great about communicating with parents. The fourth grade teachers sent home newsletters to keep the parents updated on what was going on in the classroom. The PTA is very involved and there are many events going on. They've raised a lot of money to get some great things for this newer school, like playground equipment. My concern with the school is security. I've picked up my child a few times without being asked for id. The interior courtyard of the school is accessible from the side parking lot. There is a gate and I have to say it is closed more often than it used to be, but parking in the front is very, very limited and parents need to park in this side lot occasionally so the gate is open during the day sometimes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

135 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 41%
Hispanic 31%
Black 18%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 11%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%67%61%
Master's degree 27%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11525 Ramble Creek Drive
Riverview, FL 33569
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 672-5230

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT